Photos of Flagship GeForce RTX 3090 Ampere Surface

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Aug 22, 2020.

  1. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,843
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Very strange question.
    A cooler removes the heat from the core, larger coolers can sink more heat. Case air is replenished.
    Look at the final power use figures to determine the heat load.
    Dont forget, heat is concentrated in a smaller area on a smaller process, this is a lot harder to remove.

    Having said that, I dont believe the cooler is going to be as large as those images suggest.
     
    Aura89 likes this.
  2. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,075
    Likes Received:
    5,039
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    1070 was 375$ or 285£ when it was released so you see where this is going. 4070 would be pretty much a 800$ in few years.
     
  3. Caesar

    Caesar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    511
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
  4. Andrew LB

    Andrew LB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    198
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080@2,025
    2080ti did have an MSRP of $999 but most cards cost considerably more due to high demand and the additional costs with fancy cooling and custom boards. You still could get one for $999 if you managed to find an EVGA 2080Ti black card. while almost always out of stock online, my local microcenter had them almost every time i went there.
     

  5. Andrew LB

    Andrew LB Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    198
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080@2,025
    While there was a 7900 GTX single GPU card back then, all of the dual GPU cards were indicated by calling them GX2, not GTX. Also, dual GPU cards back then were not on the same PCB, but two PCBs sandwiched together. IIRC you'd have to go back to voodoo cards before you'd find multiple gpu chips on a single PCB.

    I had to refresh my memory on these cards since its been so many years and came across this.... i nearly fell out of my chair.

     
    Fediuld likes this.
  6. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,810
    Likes Received:
    3,366
    GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    And it used molex power connectors. I hated those things, they were ready to burn at higher currents. Those wires are nothing to write home about too.
     
  7. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,323
    Likes Received:
    2,449
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Depends on competition, But they will not be more than $100 off AMDs closest equivalent (excluding top tier). When AMD came out with 5600xt, NV even reduced the 2060 to slightly lower, thus forcing AMD into a last minute bios adjustment to be closer in performance.

    Furthermore, as nodes shrink below 7nm, cost of chip design will be much higher. Both AMD and NV will caught in this and will be reflected in their product pricing.
     
  8. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,225
    Likes Received:
    1,430
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    12-Pin seems to be as big as an 8-pin.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,177
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    GPU:
    -
    Well, good thing the 3090 isnt a 3080 ti, and is more comparable to the titan rtx, which is $2500
     
  10. Fediuld

    Fediuld Master Guru

    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    294
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT AE
    Not AMD issue but motherboard manufacturers. All remember the screaming when AMD said PCIe 4.0 on X570 only, with Gigabyte/MSI/ASUS saying "we will support it regardless" here is the bios.

    So how's AMD fault when said there shouldn't be 4.0 support outside X570 and the motherboard manufacturers doing their own thing? And all issues gone when people forced pcie 3.0 or patched to bios (after end of October) which removed the 4.0 support and fixed the issues.

    Would we see the same sht with Z490 boards when Intel says "Z590 for 4.0 only" and motherboard manufacturers go and activate 4.0 on Z490? What then. AMD would be responsible also? How about Nvidia if they come out with 4.0 card and had issues with the Z390 motherboards? Would be it be Nvidia, Intel or motherboard manufacturers issue?

    Why also the 5700XT Evoke is the card that reported most of the issues which were gone when people went to the drivers and changed the Voltage Swing and PreEmphasis? (on the Display section). But only this card.

    I had no issues with the 5700XT AE (X570) but my brother did with this B450. Until listened to me and forced 3.0 on bios. Gigabyte should be condemned tbh here.
     

  11. Fediuld

    Fediuld Master Guru

    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    294
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT AE
    No these are new because of the RTX3000 series, and Nvidia won't supply them :)

    So not only you buy an expensive card, you need a special cable to power it AND make sure you plug 2 separate 8 pins cables from the PSU and not from a daisy chain one.
     
  12. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    735
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    I find that hard to believe, that Nvidia won't supply them. Surely they will come with the video card. It makes no sense otherwise. The outcry would be very loud.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  13. Truder

    Truder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,489
    Likes Received:
    440
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    Is it just me that thinks the founder editions for the 20x0 series look like VHS tapes?
     
    Caesar likes this.
  14. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,444
    Likes Received:
    2,955
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Source that they aren't supplying it.
     
  15. Fediuld

    Fediuld Master Guru

    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    294
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT AE
    Huh, seems you do not understand the technical part of the 12pin connector.....

    Nvidia has seen themselves as the new Apple. Enjoy. :D


    https://wccftech.com/nvidia-geforce...gaming-graphics-cards-12-pin-power-connector/
     
    Maddness likes this.

  16. jbscotchman

    jbscotchman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,874
    Likes Received:
    4,719
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Ti Ventus
  17. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,843
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Another stupid rumour that cant possibly have legs.
    If I cant plug it in, wtf am I supposed to do with it?
    lol.
     
    theoneofgod and Maddness like this.
  18. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    GPU:
    2080S /2080ti
    I chose an itx build this time around with a 650w platinum, i could have gotten bigger but just not interested.
    A 3070 will do CP2077 and Control with RT maxxed at 1440p no problem, damn it!:D:oops:
     
  19. Maddness

    Maddness Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    735
    GPU:
    3080 Aorus Xtreme
    I agree, I'm highly skeptical even though there is a link saying no adapter. This would really be a dumb move not to include it with the cards.
     
    Mufflore likes this.
  20. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,177
    Likes Received:
    1,283
    GPU:
    -
    Nvidia not providing the cable, not sure about that.

    However, needing a specific cable for the specific PSU you have?

    That i can't see reason to.

    If you are combining two 6 pins to make the 12 pin, no matter which PSU it is, those 6 pin pci-express connectors are going to have the same pin layout. So what would be preventing the cable from working? Thickness in the wires? Maybe? But then how would a psu that can't deal with a straight passthrough work at all?

    The GPU is going to require what it requires no matter the PSU...and if that can be converted from two standard PCI-express connectors, then it'll be the same no matter the PSU....the limiting factors would be if its a multi-rail PSU, which rails the two are on, if different, how many amps those rails can provide, etc...nothing to do with a specific converter cable.

    IF, for some astronomically unknown reason it is tied to the PSU, which again, can't see reason to, bur IF it is, this connector is dead in the water before it began
     
    Solfaur, pharma and Maddness like this.

Share This Page