Phenom II now "supported" on M2N-SLI Deluxe

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by ST19AG_WGreymon, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Users of the Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe motherboard can now drop Phenom II CPUs in them. Although not officially supported on the Asus website, Phenom II CPUs work in the motherboard without any additional modification other than a BIOS update. Users should use at least BIOS version 1604. BIOS revision 1701 is out and is listed in the Support Download page of the Asus Website.

    There is a new Official 1801 Beta BIOS and the UnOfficial 1802 BIOS listed later down the thread. Only stable and tested BIOSes are placed in this post. Any others posted have NOT been tested yet.

    It is recommended that after you flash the BIOS that you clear the CMOS, failing to clear the CMOS may end with a BSOD upon Windows startup or a black startup screen. Instructions:
    --------------------------------------
    Method 1:
    Unplug the power plug from the wall to the power supply.
    Press the power button as well as flick the PSU's rocker switch a couple times to discharge the capacitors.
    Leave motherboard battery in.
    Move jumper as described in the manual and leave it there for 1-2 minutes.
    Replace jumper back to original position.
    Plug in power cord.
    Start machine.

    Method 2:
    Unplug the power plug from the wall to the power supply.
    Press the power button as well as flick the PSU's rocker switch a couple times to discharge the capacitors.
    Remove battery.
    Wait 15 seconds.
    Replace battery.
    Plug in power cord.
    Start machine.
    ---------------------------------------

    Reported problems with beta 1604/1701 BIOS:


    • SATA Port 1 does not work.
    • CPU Virtualization enabled by default. Disabling it causes Windows not to boot.

    -----------------------------------

    New Beta BIOS is out: 1804 Beta

    Link 1: ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/socketAM2/M2N-SLI Deluxe/

    Fixes:
    • Long boot times with 5700 series AMD/ATI GPUs

    Unofficial 1802AM3 BIOS

    Special thanks to: AceTK, TheWiz, and www.bios-mods.com

    Link 1: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1525839/Bios/1802AM3.BIN
    Link 2: http://bios-mods.com/BIOS/1802AM3.BIN

    Features:

    • Proper detection of newer AM2+/AM3 CPUs.
    • Fix for Radeon 5XXX series POST issues.

    Issues:
    • Removal of splashscreen.
    • Removal of EPA logo.

    Asus Official 5001 Beta BIOS

    Link: ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/mb/socketAM2/M2N-SLI Deluxe/

    Features:

    • Phenom II CPU Support
    • Coldboot fixes.

    Users may need to set multipliers and voltages manually.
    -----------------------------------------------
    AMD Phenom II 940BE has been tested by me and works flawlessly.

    The board will run 1066 memory once the Phenom II is inserted in either ganged/unganged modes.

    Tested Processors(please inform me if there are any to add):

    Athlon X2 7750 BE
    Athlon II X2 240
    Athlon II X4 630
    Phenom II x3 720
    Phenom II X3 740BE
    Phenom II x3 810
    Phenom II x4 920
    Phenom II x4 940BE
    Phenom II X4 945
    Phenom II x4 955
    Phenom II x4 955BE
    Phenom II X4 965 125w

    It is suggested to manually set your voltage and multiplier as well as disable Cool n' Quiet. Failure to do so may result in less than stellar performance.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010
  2. Scorch666

    Scorch666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,804
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Good find.


    Didnt know about the discharge tip.< Cheers for that.:)
    And i thought it only took a few seconds to clear the CMOS, at least thats what works for me anyway.
     
  3. Major Melchett

    Major Melchett Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X @ 1100/1500
    Yeah it's cool isn't it, i noticed that my mobo (based on the same 570 chipset) was able to use the 940 a week or so back as it's now supported in the latest bios update on the gigabyte site, i just went there to see if the 9850 was supported and noticed it.
     
  4. mandms

    mandms New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800GT SLI
    Great news. I hope Asus comes out with an official BIOS release for the M2N-SLI Deluxe, but I have my doubts.

    I should probably start a separate thread (or look harder), but any idea how performance using this board and Phenom II will compare to a board using the 750 chipset and faster DDR2 RAM?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2009

  5. gandalf21502

    gandalf21502 Master Guru

    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    What about the 2101 BIOS, it seems to be the last one released???
     
  6. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    2101? Where? Hey you live in Maryland. :)

    I installed the 1701 BIOS today and everything is fine, was able to reach my overclock no problem except that my harddrvie isn't detected when put in SATA port 1. Moved it to 2 and everything is fine. Now all I have to do is get a Phenom II.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  7. gandalf21502

    gandalf21502 Master Guru

    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    I saw this thread and went to Asus american site, yes I live in Maryland, and found the 2101 in the BIOS d/l section for our board. They still don't list the Phenom II's on 'supported cpu's' but has anyone tried the new bios?
     
  8. mandms

    mandms New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 8800GT SLI
    We're talking about two different boards here. This post is regarding the M2N-SLI Deluxe, whereas your board is the M2N32-SLI Deluxe. They're two different boards.

     
  9. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    You ever go to the LAN party in Greenbelt at the volunteer fire department? They hold one there every month or two.

    *goes off to check Asus website*

    EDIT: Where did you find that? I can't find it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  10. gandalf21502

    gandalf21502 Master Guru

    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    I know Greenbelt very well, but I live in the Western Md mountains, so quite the little trip for me, but thanks for the invite!

    Sorry, but I do have a different board, I have the M2N32-SLI Deluxe, they do have a 2101 BIOS for my board, not sure about yours. Though typically the two go hand in hand for the most part!
     

  11. gandalf21502

    gandalf21502 Master Guru

    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    Off topic I suppose because of the motherboard, but has anyone tried the Phenom II on the M2N32-SLI Deluxe/wi-fi? 2101 BIOS? If may be a worthy upgrade if so for my board. Does not list them under supported cpu's, but that doesn't mean it won't work..:)
     
  12. GalantVR41062

    GalantVR41062 Master Guru

    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 64 CF
    And my mobo just died on me, the computer shut off while looking online. So now I get to buy a new mobo, and the phenom II 940 be, darn.

    ~John
     
  13. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    What happened?
     
  14. GalantVR41062

    GalantVR41062 Master Guru

    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 64 CF
    I do not know yet, something with the vr is my guess. After it shut off I tried to restart it and nothing happened. I pressed the power button a few times and everything started but it did not post and after ~20seconds it would shut down again. I will buy a new Mobo and try it with my current processor and if that does not work I will buy a phenom II. I swapped everything but the mobo and it would not post.

    ~John
     
  15. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Updated thread info.
     

  16. Ant3G

    Ant3G New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Gigabyte 3870
    I flashed bios, attached a phenom and all works fine. 4 cores are there... system stable...
    Question is why can't I see true name in system in Vista? "AMD processor model unknown 3,0 GHz"
    Thats because bios is still beta? - Unecesery question, its normal that windows sees cpu as unknown till official release.

    Anyway, all works great, thanks!
    Was helpful topic.
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2009
  17. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Try updating the CPU drivers, I think if you use Windows Update it'll show up. How are the BIOS settings? I would assume "Processor Virtualization" enabled itself by default.

    Also if anyone has any insight as to whether the new PII X3s would work, that would be good.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2009
  18. gandalf21502

    gandalf21502 Master Guru

    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 260GTX 216, 700/2300
    Anyone tried some o/c with the Phenom II's on the board?
     
  19. Sunagendra

    Sunagendra New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 8600 GTS 512 MB DDR3
    thanx......... really for the post........
    i downloaded the bios update............... once again thanx!!!

    and sorry for posting this...........

    how to update the bios???
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2009
  20. ST19AG_WGreymon

    ST19AG_WGreymon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,703
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    eVGA 970 SC ACX 2.0
    Just place the BIOS on aUSB Flash Drive and then go into the BIOS and run the Flash Utility in the BIOS.
     

Share This Page