Performance Tweaks

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by Von Dach, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Can't run winsat with von dach tweaks, is it disabled or something ?
     
  2. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    - 'Task Scheduler - Tweaked.cmd':
    schtasks /change /tn "\Microsoft\Windows\Maintenance\WinSAT" /disable
    you can try to revert by
    schtasks /change /tn "\Microsoft\Windows\Maintenance\WinSAT" /enable

    - 'Performance Counters - Tweaked.cmd':
    you can try to revert by 'Performance Counters - Default.cmd'

    - 'Data Collector Sets WMI Autologger - Tweaked for L3-L4.reg':
    you can try to revert by 'Data Collector Sets WMI Autologger - Default.reg'
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
  4. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    PowerShell commands to disable all 'Microsoft-Windows-*' event logs since Vista :

    Code:
    foreach($el in (Get-WinEvent -ListLog 'Microsoft-Windows-*')) 
    { $el.IsEnabled = $false; $el.SaveChanges() }
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Here is PowerShell script for unhiding most interesting (but not all) CPU power settings:
    http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?m3cgvw73c03fn47

    After script execution go to the 'Control Panel > Power Options > Change Plan Settings > Change Advanced Power Settings' and in dialog window you locate 'Processor power settings' tree root node - there live all unhidden settings.
     
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
  7. visual1ce

    visual1ce New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire / HD4890 / 1GB
    MMCSS priorities

    Thanks for this great resource.

    MSDN has a writeup about MMCSS here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms684247(v=vs.85).aspx

    It's quite concise but it does say the following about Priority:

    REG_DWORD The task priority. The range of values is 1 (low) to 8 (high).
    For tasks with a Scheduling Category of High, this value is always treated as 2.

    I'm not sure if this is quite right though: why would a task with a schedule category of high be treated as two if two is a relatively low task priority.

    According to this, if we want games to have the highest priority we should set this value to eight, not one...

    But other entries in like Pro Audio also have a priority of one: why would Pro Audio have the lowest priority? That page must be in error.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
  8. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Look at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms685100(v=vs.85).aspx
    'Scheduling Category' of MM task sets the 'Process priority class' of process and 'Priority' of MM task sets 'Thread priority level' which is relative inside its class. Pro Audio task has high priority class and 2 priority level at that priority class.
     
  9. visual1ce

    visual1ce New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire / HD4890 / 1GB
    Thanks for explaining this.

    So to clarify, scheduling category of high = HIGH_PRIORITY_CLASS and priority THREAD_PRIORITY_IDLE . Wouldn't the value THREAD_PRIORITY_HIGHEST = 15 be better here to give games the highest priority?
     
  10. visual1ce

    visual1ce New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire / HD4890 / 1GB
    Mtu

    What about MTU? I've read that 1454 is the optimal MTU and 576 is good for games.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    It seems I confused you by the link to 'Scheduling Priorities', sorry.

    I.e. at High scheduling category threads has priorities no less then 23. And with "Priority = always treated as 2" we have thread priorities no less then 24.

    BUT, process with such high thread priorities can cause troubles for OS functioning.
    BUT you can experiment with this yourself by setting 'Scheduling Category = High' for the 'Games' task. And BTW this way you can research another thing - which games on your PC use that MMCSS help and which don`t.


    Edit: For me 'Affinity' setting is more interesting. If you have multi-core CPU you can force all games (which use MMCSS help) to run on specified logical CPU(s). Which can help sometimes with single-threaded games due to avoiding the CPU switching.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  12. visual1ce

    visual1ce New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire / HD4890 / 1GB
    Thanks, that makes sense. What about MTU (see earlier post)?
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Don`t know. Networks are beyond my knowledge. All I did were:
    - switched off Flow control and Interrupt moderation in driver`s settings;
    - switched off network throttling - http://social.technet.microsoft.com.../thread/4f275ed8-fa95-49b2-ac0f-0902b82a5013/
    - played with TCP parameters - http://www.speedguide.net/articles/windows-7-vista-2008-tweaks-2574

    The problem is - how to test all network tweaks? How estimate changes...
     
  14. Surfing Gamer

    Surfing Gamer Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 560
    Thanks for this.

    OP says to disable C1E in BIOS. No problem, but my BIOS also allows me to enable or disable C6. Best setting for that is...?
     
  15. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    ... depends on version of your OS and OS`s processor power settings. Modern processors (like yours) demonstrate really quick C-states transitions. Mine for example:

    StateType: C1 (Power: 1000 mWatts)
    Latency: 1 us
    ---
    StateType: C2 (Power: 500 mWatts)
    Latency: 80 us
    ---
    StateType: C3 (Power: 200 mWatts)
    Latency: 109 us

    Microseconds... And power consumptions differ considerably.

    Best way is testing. Run benchmarks and games with C6 (it is state type C3 I guess) and without.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013

  16. Surfing Gamer

    Surfing Gamer Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 560
    Thanks for the info. :)
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
  18. Surfing Gamer

    Surfing Gamer Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 560
    Vista Home Basic 64-bit, but thanks anyway.

    Based on your previous post I supposed that there is no chance that performance can be better with C6 enabled (though I understand it is also not necessarily any worse). As my PC is generally either playing a game or shut down (never really sat around idling) I've disabled C6. The idle temp is about 12 degrees centigrade higher than it was with both C1E and C6 enabled, but the load temp is unchanged.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,453
    Likes Received:
    7,607
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Have you switched off SpeedStep? No sence for it in idleless scenario.
     
  20. Surfing Gamer

    Surfing Gamer Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 560
    Yeah speedstep was already off. Turbo Boost (dependent on SpeedStep) only seems to be good for cooking my CPU, so no real loss there. Peak CPU performance is lower with it off but so are temps and that's a good thing because my CPU runs (a bit too) hot.
     

Share This Page