PC upgrade help!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mf2385, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    My current rig is kind of old:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 3.0ghz
    4GB PC6400 DDR2
    Radeon 5770 MSI Hawk 1GB GDDR5
    17' LCD Monitor (Don't need big display, why the video card does me justice)
    750W Power Supply
    Gigabyte G31M-ES2L Motherboard (DDR2 Only, socket 775)

    I am thinking since I will be playing DC Universe Online on my PC and it actually works fine now, I still want to upgrade for more futureproofness if thats a word haha. But it's been about 2 years since any big upgrade.

    I was thinking about a CPU/MB/Memory upgrade, my budget is around 325-375$

    $400 at the absolute most but I''ve seen pretty good deals on Newegg for about 350$

    What about something like this upgrade to:

    (ASUS M4A78LT-M AM3 AMD 760G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131672

    (CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145279

    (AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727

    or

    (AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103851


    The Thuban or the Deneb 3.4ghz is really my only concern, my computer is used for gaming and for simple tasks like downloading things, winrar extractions, and other simple applications but mostly gaming and my monitor isn't big really at all 17'' and my video card is pretty new.

    Thanks for the input everyone in advance and Happy Holidays!
    Matt
     
  2. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    Most games are still clock sensitive and not really multithreaded, so the quad core should do.

    Do you really need 8 GB? None of the things you listed need 8 GB of RAM currently. Maybe 3 years down the road but not now.

    Better spend that on a better motherboard or towards a graphics card.

    deltatux
     
  3. Mohammad.Taheri

    Mohammad.Taheri Master Guru

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1070TI Nuke
    4gb ram enough
    x6 1055t with a cooler to oc
     
  4. Dustpuppy

    Dustpuppy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    integrated - fffffffuuuuu
    AMD is supposedly moving to 8 cores in a couple months and will be improving clock per clock efficiency by like 10-12% if I remember rightly.

    fwiw If money is tight I'd just hold off unless you're doing video encoding or something cpu intensive.
     

  5. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW

    +1 to that. get a better mobo or graphics card. 4gb or even 6gb of ram will suffice.
     
  6. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    So far, all I've seen are people testing the Bobcat chips, I haven't seen a Bulldozer performance preview yet. AMD is quite quiet about the true performance of Bulldozer.

    Bulldozer is set for launch in April and if the OP can wait that long, then sure, I rather suggest Bulldozer over the Phenom II series.

    deltatux
     
  7. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    So from what you guys are telling me a quad core AMD processor like the Deneb 3.4ghz Quad Core one I put back on the first post should be really good for games? I def need to upgrade to DDR3 and 4GB of ddr3 then instead of 8 or maybe 6 gb. but atleast 4GB, more is better though obviously if I can afford it. Can anyone suggest on Newegg or something a nice setup for gaming with like a quad core and ddr 3 memory. My video card is nice the 5770 is real good for my lower resolution monitor don't need anything too crazy cause of my low res anyway.

    Thanks
     
  8. Dustpuppy

    Dustpuppy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    integrated - fffffffuuuuu
    I read somewhere that their 16 core server chip would feature a 50% boost over the current 12 core mangy cores. A 1/3 increase in cores for 50% performance means that 17% has to come from clock speeds or per clock efficiency. Since I doubt that they'll raise the clocks much on the server version (currently at 2.2ghz), I figured around 10% from per clock efficiency. I would expect the per clock efficiency to be slightly higher on the 8 core chip due to lower overhead from fewer cores.

    Anyway that's where my guesswork is from.
     
  9. Liranan

    Liranan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 6870 1000/1200
    DDR3 is cheaper than DDR2 now and you don't need to get the most expensive brands. I have A-Data but even Kingston do some nice, cheap sticks. Timings won't be the best but then it's all about priority.

    Mushkin 1333 9-9-9-24
    A-Data 1600 9-9-9-24

    Just two examples, Crucial do cheap 1600MHz RAM, as do some others. Just remember that if you get a BE CPU you won't need to OC the RAM, just the multiplier. The one good thing about faster memory is the ability to drop the timings, but whether you will be able to notice an increase in fps or performance is a good question.
     
  10. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    So I am ready to buy the parts I need to upgrade motherboard/cpu/processor. Can someone give me from Newegg or some other site some good solutions to my agenda? Thank you!

    Let me put somethin up see what u guys think:

    ASUS M4A78LT-M AM3 AMD 760G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
    (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131672)

    Kingston 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory
    (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134852)

    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor
    (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727)

    Priced at 307$ with shipping from Newegg. What do you guys think??
     

  11. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    Ya, AMD said that but we don't know with what type of workload. Remember, they quoted server chips which works with very different workloads than consumer chips. You can't quite use the server chips as a benchmark for the consumer chip. Yes, you can derive the performance from it but cannot use it for an absolute benchmark.

    AMD doesn't support triple memory, if you want 6 GB of RAM, get 1 2 x 2 GB set and 1 2 x 1 GB set.

    Also, if I were you, I'd stay away from Kingston ValueRAM if you plan to do any types of tweaking in the future. Those things are horrible for tweaking (incl. overclocking).

    deltatux
     
  12. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    Ok I'll get 8gb then I guess, and stay away from Kingston
     
  13. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    I guess 4GB DDR3 1600 Memory is enough for gaming or do I need 8??
     
  14. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    Im thinking the Thuban 3.0ghz 6-core processor with 4gb ddr3 1600 ram and ASUS M4A78LT-M AM3 AMD 760G HDMI Ready motherboard.
     
  15. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280

  16. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Well KVR wasn't meant to be overclocked in the first place, (note the "V" is short for value).
    It depends on what chips happen to be in a specific batch of ram, sometimes you get lucky and find a real good batch at low cost.


    I once bought some ddr400 that had Hynix D9/D43 chips....rated at 500mhz :)

    And 4GB is plenty for gaming..
     
  17. PinguX

    PinguX Master Guru

    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 280
  18. mf2385

    mf2385 Banned

    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 690
    Now then it seams my last question is since 4GB ddr3 is what I should get for now and will get for now is the CPU for gaming, I will be playing DC Universe Online and maybe Everquest 2 on my PC. I am thinking either the Thuban 3.0ghz Six-Core or maybe the Amd quad core 3.4ghz Deneb Processor?

    What do u guys suggest in that department to go along with the motherboard delt picked out

    ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 ($89.99)
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131651

    I like that motherboard I'll go with that now which CPU with that?
     
  19. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,051
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    Quad core is still your best bet. Everquest 2 is too old for proper multithreading, and hopefully DC Universe Online will support at least 4 cores (that's stretching it since I haven't found an Unreal Engine 3 game that works all 4 cores properly yet).

    Most games still can't even scale 4 cores properly, so I doubt you'll find better performance out of a hexacore unless you do video work like transcoding or other heavily multithreaded applications.

    deltatux
     
  20. Dustpuppy

    Dustpuppy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    integrated - fffffffuuuuu
    Well Everquest Next is in the works, it should be using CryEngine 3 assuming it makes it to release. Of course by that time OP will probably be on another system. CryEngine 2 does scale with 4 cores, dunno about 6 so I assume CE3 will be scaling a bit better.


    "Ya, AMD said that but we don't know with what type of workload. Remember, they quoted server chips which works with very different workloads than consumer chips. You can't quite use the server chips as a benchmark for the consumer chip. Yes, you can derive the performance from it but cannot use it for an absolute benchmark."

    Well yeah, that's why I called it a guess.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010

Share This Page