PC randomly freezes and requires hard restart on windows start up screen?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by DraZor, Feb 23, 2013.

  1. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 690
    Hey guys,

    Randomly at times after turning my PC on, it'll get to the windows startup screen with the flying-in colors etc and will then just simply freeze and requires a hard restart (hold in power button).

    Really annoying as it seems to do it at random.

    Any ideas?


    Thanks.
     
  2. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,344
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    1080ti @2GHz air
    Reset the cmos, see if it improves.
     
  3. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 690
    Thanks for the input.

    I installed the latest BIOS, with no issues as of yet - I'll report back if I run into the lock-up again.

    FTR I'm using latest firmware for SSD.
     
  4. volkov956

    volkov956 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,092
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI
    does it happen in safe mode?
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Anything overcloaked?
     
  6. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Look at Event logs, any errors?
     
  7. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 690
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Reset your clocks back to stock speeds and see if that helps. If it fixes the problem then your overclock is unstable.
     
  9. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    That's a code 41 which shows up in Event Log any time the PC is forced to restart, like when pressing the reset button for example...

    Automatic Restart only works when there is a BSOD.....
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013

  11. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    The log files DraZor posted shows code 41 does it not?
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    It doesn't mean anything except that the PC was forced to restart.

    It's there because he pressed the reset switch for 4 secs and forced a power down....it's just a generic message. :)
     
  13. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Yes, that's correct. I also stated " Follow this MS Guide and turn off " Automatically restart ". This will result in further information that can be collected for further troubleshooting. "
     
  14. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013
  15. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Event 41 is listed in Event Log because the OP pressed the power button. He said this in his first post....

     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2013

  16. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,373
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
    Yep, Pill Monster, I missed that. I took it as the PC is randomly rebooting.

    Some of the items listed in method 3 would still apply to Windows not getting past the boot screen.

    If there is no other errors in the event log, it's going to be trial and error to what might be causing the issue.

    First item, as stated by Pill Monster, would be to remove any over clock that is present.
     
  17. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,344
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    1080ti @2GHz air
    That should have been taken care of with the CMOS reset.
    Hopefully he didnt re-apply it straight after, that would have completely defeated the point lol !
     
  18. DraZor

    DraZor Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 690
    Thanks for all the input guys :).

    Have yet to experience another crash so all has been just fine so far (since I opened the thread I think :3eyes:)
     

Share This Page