Palit jetstream GTX 770 not detected

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by kupupkupu, Oct 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    Hi All.

    May be you can help me to shed some light on my mysterious problem.
    Since a while my computer does not recognize my GTX 770 anymore on a regular basis during boot. After several restarts it is recognized as a GTX 660 both in the Device Manager and Nvidia control panel, but then runs stable, and it seems without any lack of performance. In the NVidia it also displays the correct graphics clock rate, etc. only it writes GTX 660 instead of GTX 770.

    When did that occur?
    Not 100% sure. Either when I installed a razor Nostromo or during some update by the Nvidia Experience software. Of course I am not sure if this is related in any way.

    What did I do so far.
    1.
    Uninstalled the razor Nostromo.
    Uninstalled the display driver. Used driver Fusion (safe mode)
    Installed the driver 320.49 again. this time only the driver and PhysX
    did not help
    2.
    Same procedure..unistall. driver fusion (safe mode)
    Installed the driver 327.23. Only the driver and PhysX
    did not help
    3.
    updated graphics card bios
    did not help
    4.
    Reinstalled win 8
    Installed driver 327.23. Only the driver and PhysX
    did not help

    Also may be note worthy.
    In case the Nvidia card is not recognized but a generic VGA I see the whole boot sequenze coming up. Otherwise the screen stays black and I arrive at the Win 8 login screen directly.

    System spec.
    CPU: i7-2600K
    Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68P-DS3 v.1.0 (bios version not sure)
    HD: Samsung SSD 830 128 Gb
    Sound: Realtek onboard
    OS: Win8 Pro, 64-bit

    Anybody any idea? How could I get my computer starting up properly again and recognizing my GTX 770? I mean it used to work perfectly fine.
     
  2. chuchicoupe

    chuchicoupe Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
    might be a gtx 660...
     
  3. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    did you purchase it from ebay or something?
     
  4. BillieGDJoe

    BillieGDJoe Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
    The BIOS flashed in the card is correct? Are you sure it´s a 770 (physically)?
     

  5. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    Here is GPU-Z screenshot for my Palit GeForce GTX 660 2GB GDDR5, standard (non-OC version) with MSI Afterburner turned off:
    [​IMG]

    Run GPU-Z and compare specs and clocks.

    Your card must be this:
    http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=2141

    ...my card is:
    http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=2019


    Edit
    You probably used BIOS + BIOS updater from Palit link below 327.23 drivers, try to flash one of five BIOS's from this link here ...but use only last five with JetS.tream under the name.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2013
  6. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    100% Sure. It is a GTX 770. It was shown as such before in the device manager and nvidia control panel.
     
  7. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    100% sure I bought a GTX 770. It was shown as such before my computer started not to recognize my card anymore. I updated the bios after that not before.

    cuda cores 1536
    graphics clock: 1150MHz
    Memeory rate 7010 Mhz
    memory interface 256-bit
    memeory bandwidth: 4096 MB
    Video Bios version 80.04.C3.0013
     
  8. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
  9. BillieGDJoe

    BillieGDJoe Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
    Only way to be sure is physically checking the board, this information can be manipulated by BIOS.
     
  10. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    Palit GeForce GTX 770 JETSTRE@M (2048MB GDDR5) has a much longer PCB compared to Palit GeForce GTX 660 (2048MB GDDR5), no way that anyone can fake that and mount that 3-fan JetStre@m cooler on Palit GTX 660 PCB with ease.

    Also Palit GTX 660 has only one additional 6-pin power supply connector, Palit GTX 770 JetStre@m has 1x 6-pin & 1x 8-pin.

    Even my granny can't be fooled to mix up those two.
     

  11. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    Photo or it didn't happen.
     
  12. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    Maybe one lost Palit GTX 660 soul is haunting your graphic card. Time for egsorcizm... ;) Just joking...

    I've seen so much weird things about PC hardware in my career but never something like that, that can't happen without some manual edit of graphic card BIOS or without manual editing of NVidia drivers cfg files.

    Like 3dPlayer mentioned before show us some proof for that, I'm geting suspicious...
     
  13. Rapyer

    Rapyer Member Guru

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080ti
    and we never heard from op again.
     
  14. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    Ok guys. Let's please not debate if I have a GTX770 or not...one more time It was recognized as GTX770 before and was running stable since may or so. Now I have the hickup during start recognizing it most of the time as generic VGA. Once it is running it is shown as GTX 660.
    Any idea how I can solve this?
     
  15. BillieGDJoe

    BillieGDJoe Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
    If you have 100% sure it´s a 770 (physically), then my money is on VGA BIOS problem ...
     

  16. chuchicoupe

    chuchicoupe Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
  17. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    I say RMA that card to save your nerves, if that card is acting weird after flashing to latest BIOS probably the BIOS chip is faulty. Do a revert to latest BIOS from Palit.biz and send that card to RMA.
     
  18. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    Hm...k I will try to get it installed into another computer.
    Bios of GTX 770 is updated
    Bios of the motherboard is updated. After that win8 run into a problem and I had to restore the whole thing.
    Still the same....
     
  19. kupupkupu

    kupupkupu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    palit/jet****** GTX 770/2
    After bios update and win8 reinstall it was starting up now without problems but still the GTX 660 was shown.

    -Changed power settings to High performance
    -Installed Unigine Heaven benchmark to test performance.
    -Got message that MSVCP100.dll is missing. So I installed the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64).
    -Run the benchmark despite the GTX 660 naming, the result was comparable to other GTX 770 setups which I found online.

    In the meanwhile windows asked for a system update to be installed and oh wonder the computer started up and recognized my card again as GTX 770. Strangely at the moment that happened my intel 3000 onboard graphics adapter dissapeard from the device manager....

    UNINSTALLING THE INTEL 3000 ONBOARD GRAPHICS IS THE SOLUTION
     
  20. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    Not this again...
    Anyways, why windows always has issues when the BIOS has Intel CPU graphic enable...

    PS:It is not onboard, it is onCPU. ;)
     

Share This Page