1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P6T SE supports Xeons?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by Vipu2, Feb 23, 2015.

  1. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    So im planning to get some Xeon 56XX like 5650, 5660, 5670 or 5675 whatever I find cheap.

    But im not sure if my P6t SE mobo supports it.
    And if it doesnt will it if I flash my p6t SE to NOT SE?
    Like that flashing enables using SLI but does it also make it support Xeon if it already doesnt?
     
  2. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,349
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    some guy here has done it - http://www.overclock.net/t/1461359/...cussion-and-xeon-l5639-benchmarks-inside/1740

    He had an issue with only 4GB ram showing but i doubt that has anything to do with the Xeon.
    *EDIT* He got it working here - http://www.overclock.net/t/1461359/...on-l5639-benchmarks-inside/1760#post_22940942

    Make sure you clear the CMOS though before you install and probably best to take the last BIOS released.

    My mobo doesnt officially support it but i had no hassles other than it wouldnt overclock at all until i set the vram to 1.65v( which i thought was kind of strange but a 30 minute job to find out that was it and 1 minute job to set it ).

    If you can and its cheap enough go for the 5660 or 5670 as its places less stress on the system for higher overclocks( i would have taken that route but i wasnt sure if it would even work in my mobo ).
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2015
  3. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    So just to be clear, did he crossflash his SE to something else or is it just latest SE bios he have there?
    Would be so much work to find out that I need to flash this to something else when I put Xeon there and see it doesnt work and put i7 920 back and get flash there etc.

    edit: well saw some 5670 for 125€ shipping and everything included so got that since it is possible to get it to this MOBO with or without crossflashing.
    Cheapest 5650 I saw was always close to 110€ with shipping etc so that was pretty cheap 5670 imo.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2015
  4. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,349
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    i dont know, its not clear what he did, i would imagine its just flash to the latest bios for your mobo, which is pretty much what i did.

    I also had the same daunting task if it didnt work but my cooler has a mounting bracket so i didnt have to remove it completely, just the top part( if it hadnt worked ). Having said that it took me 2 evenings to get everything plugged in again and setup correctly due to the amount of crap ive connected to my PC.

    Either way its well worth it.

    *EDIT* nice one on the 5670, make sure its not some engineering sample though.
     

  5. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Ok and now im worried then :D
    What is engineering sample?
    How do I know is it or not?

    edit: here is link straight to that item I got: http://www.ebay.com/itm/181674401684 if that info is there somewhere, cant find myself tho anything about that.

    edit2: is it this SLBV7?
    this site http://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SL/SLBV7.html says something "In addition to the SLBV7 S-Spec, this processor was also manufactured with two pre-production S-Spec numbers: Q3UW & Q4EP"
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2015
  6. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,349
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    That one looks good, engineering samples have es on the chip. SLBV7 is good
     
  7. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    Nice to see a fellow x5650 user.
     
  8. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,349
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    haha cheers, looks like there are a few of us around now, fantastic upgrade.

    Nice OC, im not going to try anything higher than 4.4Ghz until i install a H100i i bought ages ago, temps are a tad hot at the moment if i run prime95 for half an hour and im too lazy to find the min vcore for now :banana::banana::banana:
     
  9. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Guess I ask this here:

    Got my xeon 5670 now and first tried with all default settings from bios but it wasnt stable so put straight to 4ghz+ and its bit more stabler already.

    Now im just wondering what kind temps I should have with this.
    Atm im trying 4,2ghz with 1,3vcore and max temps in prime at 88-89C.
    To me that sounds bit too high, did I put too much paste or something maybe?
    It was about 2 grains of uncooked rice.
    That got me thinking too, when you say to put "1 grain of rice" does it mean uncooked or cooked? :D Its kinda big difference.

    Difference in max temps between cores is just 6C so at least its evenly spread I guess but not sure if I put too much or is 1,3vcore really that much?

    With i7 920 I had 1,24 vcore and I think max prime temps were around 70-75 maybe, dont remember but I think it wasnt over 80C.

    edit: testing with 4ghz @ 1,28vcore and now prime temps are at 82C max.
    So that 0,02 more really gives 8C more??
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015
  10. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    Thanks mate. I currently have it @ 4.6 1.44 vcore with 4.8 boost. Testing it out. Good old curiousity. Im also testing out the min vcore for 4.6 and 4.4.

    Im using a H100 with 2 sp 120 performance fans.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015

  11. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB

    First which theremal paste are you using?
    Second what cooler are you using?
    Third, 5670 is easier to overclock then my 5650 as it has a higher mulitplier.
    Im currently 210x22 and 210x23 for boost.
    1.44vcore and hit around 76c in OCCT with Hyperthreading on.
    Im using a H100 and Antec Diamond 6.
     
  12. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Arctic Cooling MX-4
    HR-02 Macho rev.a

    Define R5 case with default fans so 1 front, 1 behind

    Also should I fiddle with something else than bclk, multiplier and vcore?
    Can I get anywhere with just changing those?
    I did with my old i7 and it was fine and I have no idea what to do with those other things.

    Also max multi for me is 22 I guess because of my mobo or something.
    If I put it more then it throttles down when in use.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2015
  13. lmimmfn

    lmimmfn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,349
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AorusXtreme 1080Ti
    How come it throttles? does it get too hot? you should be using the highest multiplier you can and the lowest bclk you can to get the overclock you want. If i remember correctly the highest multiplier will only be used if a single core is at 100% while the usage on the others is low.

    See if its throttling when you try a lower overclock @ 3.5 or so as it shouldnt be doing that unless the temps are too high.

    Nice, that gives me an incentive to get my ass in gear and install the H100 :)
     
  14. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    2x RX 480 Nitro 4GB
    You have to turn on speedboost to get over 22 multi.
    I have to have it on to get more then 20 on my 5650.
    With speedboost on I get 22. You should get 23/24.

    I have everything on auto but blck, vcore and memory.

    I had a x5630 @ 4.0 with a hyper evo 212 and it never went above 60c with HT on in my msi x58 board. That board didnt overclock as well. Wasnt stable above 196 blck.
     
  15. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti

  16. Catroqui

    Catroqui Master Guru

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLi GTX 980 OC/GTX 970 OC
    It can be called "Turbo boost", "Turbo" or something like that.
    It`s the setting that allows the sytem to utlilize Intel dynamic clock, enable it and you'll get higher multiplier allowed.
     
  17. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Ok so now I know how to turn Turbo on.
    I can have stable 4,2ghz with 1,337 vcore but when I tried to put Turbo on and if I do any stressing then instant blue screen or crash.
    Do I need to up my vcore up a lot it to work or something else?
     
  18. Catroqui

    Catroqui Master Guru

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLi GTX 980 OC/GTX 970 OC
    Would be better to set the multiplier to the maximum allowed by the MOBO, and play with Bclk; my P6T doesen't go further than 192MHz. After that it's a matter of voltage adjustment.
     
  19. Vipu2

    Vipu2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    1070ti
    Now after few days of fiddling I think I found what this cpu can do with 1,35volt:

    Without turbo 4,2ghz 24/7.
    With turbo 4ghz more than 2 threads, 4,4ghz 1-2 threads.

    So I guess I use with turbo for that tiny bit more ghz.
     
  20. dshramek

    dshramek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    Did your temps even out at all? I just installed a x5670 on my EVGA Classy3. With an OC to 4ghz, my temps idle at cpu 46C, cores 58C, under load, cpu 58C, cores 78C.
    Stock temps are cpu 24C, cores 38C.
     

Share This Page