Owners of Freesync Monitors can enlarge Hz range with simple hack

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Sep 25, 2015.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    40,041
    Likes Received:
    8,708
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,373
    Likes Received:
    3,111
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    I may go for AOC G2460PF since it should be FSync 30~160Hz, I wonder if I can get it to 180/200Hz :)
    - it is only 1080p, but that allows for higher refresh rate

    I saw some notebook screens successfully OCed to 180Hz without frame dropping.
     
  3. AzzKickr

    AzzKickr Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Vega64
    1. This is more than just "a tad" technical :)
    2. Who comes up with this stuff ? Jezus ...
     
  4. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,373
    Likes Received:
    3,111
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Not rly. It is simple idea and author faced few obstacles with already known solution, so he did kindly include them.

    I have modified writeable parts of FW in my monitor to actually get proper color of that otherwise good screen. One of reason I try to evade BenQ, as 'they had one job'...
     

  5. pbvider

    pbvider Master Guru

    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX
    "simple hack"...just follow 25 pics for instruction.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
  6. kosh_neranek

    kosh_neranek Master Guru

    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1070@2101 Boost
    Nice one hilbert!!!
     
  7. Brisse

    Brisse Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Nitro R9 Fury
    Okay, cool hack, but there must be a reason behind the limits that manufacturers puts into each model, right? I'm perfectly happy with the 35-90hz my MG279Q provides so I'll stick to that :)
     
  8. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,591
    Likes Received:
    2,092
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    This isn't that complicated... it's just in-depth.
     
  9. BoMbY

    BoMbY Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X
    A little older, but still good. My BenQ XL2730Z seems to work with 32-144 Hz, only Monitor Range Limits are on Descriptor Block 3.

    Edit: Original Source is the 3DCenter forum as far as I know.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
  10. ReconNinja

    ReconNinja New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390 8GB
    I tried following this guide for my LG 29UM67 and I got an error on the final install process. It says "One of the installers for this device cannot perform the installation at this time." I then got an INF file used by another 29UM67 user whom had success, but I got the same error using that file as well. Is anyone else getting this?
     

  11. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,373
    Likes Received:
    3,111
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Windows version, account privileges, signature enforcement, ...
     
  12. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    424
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Good guy Hilbert.Thanks! :)
     
  13. Sync0r

    Sync0r New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 290X TriFire
    Has anyone managed to download the first tool? Phoenix EDID Designer? All I get is malware from TuCows.
     
  14. CalculuS

    CalculuS Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,042
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GTX 1660Ti
    That doesn't look simple at all.

    Are there any negative effects to this or can you just literally dump it at 1hz and it'll work?
     
  15. Oh, very simple indeed. Thanks for the info Hilbert!
     

  16. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,843
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    No, you definitely can't dump it at 1Hz and expect it to work properly. Every LCD panel has a lower limit at which it can refresh before pixels start decaying (in terms of luminance) and you get artifacts. The manufacturers are apparently setting the minimum limit at a safe margin, just like any other manufacturer sets their product to run at a certain clock speed while it still has headroom.

    This is just like overclocking, but done in the opposite manner.
     
  17. wasabimangohz

    wasabimangohz New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    r9 290 / 4gb
    Has anyone managed to expand the freesync range on the Wasabi Mango UHD420? If so, how did it go? What was the maximum range that worked for you?
     
  18. Anvi

    Anvi Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 390 8GB
    Many thanks! I changed MG279Q Freesync range to 60-144Hz.

    Might be able to drop min Hz a little bit, but I tried 56-144Hz before this and it didn't work.
     
  19. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,478
    Likes Received:
    962
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Whaddya mean.
    In expectation of my new FreeSync monitor, I already did a dry test.

    And it was a breeze :banana:
     
  20. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,478
    Likes Received:
    962
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    HP32 Envy: 48-70Hz FreeSync range

    Just as I thought - the hack was a breeze. I've successfully lowered minimum to 38Hz.

    OTOH... getting Crimson to acknowledge my HP32's FreeSync capability was a nightmare!!!
    Wasted couple of hours sweating like a pig while franticly trying to see something else in Crimson CP, other than "AMD FreeSync: Not suported". :bang: :bang:
    Selected DP1.2, monitor's Gaming profile, OSD says FreeSync ON, but does not work ... Crimson install/reinstall, uninstall, DELETE... nada.

    Finally I reseted EDID to factory defaults, DELETED my monitor driver from within Device Manager. And the next reboot Crimson greeted me with FreeSync toast (Win10 notification).


    Tested Freesync in:

    Witcher 3: Works.
    Overwatch: OKish... Contrary to what AMDMatt says - it does not like Vsync ON with FS = huge latency. Actually the only game that I even tried Vsync ON with FS ON.
    BF4: Great - the only game so far for me that works with AMD frame limiting - FRTC!
    GTAV: Very good
    Fallout 4: FS works, kinda... it often flies over 70Hz and then - tearing. Frame limiting does not work. Had to edit .ini files to remove Vsync.


    Minimum Hz is not a problem for me, but the upper limit is problematic (70Hz).
    I have not not increased it yet. Because 70,75 or 80Hz... bfd when some games fly in hundreds.

    Frame Rate Target Control + FreeSync is a must!

    Dear AMD
    How about making FreeSync works with FRTC? In more than one game.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016

Share This Page