OverdriveNTool - tool for AMD GPUs

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by tede, Aug 6, 2017.

  1. davido6

    davido6 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,431
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Rx5700xt
    Thanks I found out how to un gray them but yes your right they don't seem to take effect great work tho :)
     
  2. Shonk

    Shonk Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    I didnt say it doesnt work i said it doesnt work properly there's a difference
    I have pointed out the problem if you choose to break your voltage table specific to you chip bin
    so be it but i told u

    If you apply settings it works fine
    if you ever hit that reset button your voltage table is broken until you remove the adapter in windows and let it reinstall
     
  3. The_Amazing_X

    The_Amazing_X Master Guru

    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    188
    GPU:
    Red Devil V64
    No just tried it and it works fine.

    PP table still there after reset
     
  4. Wizard of Vega

    Wizard of Vega New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    @tede & everyone else ;)

    Hey, I just installed Windows 10 64 v2004 and also AMD Adrenalin 20.5.1. It seems like OverdriveNtool has a problem with the new registry of the driver or the Windows version. As I installed both after another I am not sure what exactly causes the problem, but I think anyhow an update for OverdriveNtool is now needed. Now it says that no driver is installed. And it doesn't makes a difference if you have no powertables installed, or merged your registry backup of the settings of your GPU. I write this, because I know that this can also happen if you save settings that are out of range. But I use the same settings as for months before.

    And yes, sadly beside that OverdriveNtool doesn't works, also the registry entry under [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0000]
    "PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable" doesn't changes the behaviour of the card. I double checked it with FPS monitor, HWMonitor and GPU-z. My undervolting is ignored.


    Can someone confirm on v2004 and Adrenalin 20.5.1 the same? And what about ideas for a solution?


    Edit: According to Wattman the PP_PhmSoftPowerPlayTable seems at last to change a bit. Target clocks are overtaken for core and memory. But not the voltages and the fan curve.

    Edit: Found someone else, what partitally proofs that OverdriveNtool doesn't works anymore https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/amd-radeon-adrenalin-edition-20-5-1-driver-download,6.html
     
    Last edited: May 28, 2020

  5. tede

    tede Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    AMD RX 470
    Hello, problem in 20.5.1 is because AMD has chagned one file name from 'atikmdag.sys' into 'amdkmdag.sys'
    Here is 0.2.9 beta1 which should fix this
    source code
     
  6. Wizard of Vega

    Wizard of Vega New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 56
  7. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,377
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    Nice, works great again!
     
  8. NCarter84

    NCarter84 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX590 8GB
    Started having some issues with my 5700xt.

    If I manually type in my new clocks and volts, hit apply only the mv and memory sticks. Core stays stock.

    If I load a profile and apply it, it's fine. But, when fine tuning, nothing happens.

    Thoughts?

    Odnt 2.8 beta 11
    Win10 19xx
    Drivers 19.11.3
     
  9. Poisson

    Poisson Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    RX 590 Nitro+
    Thanks for the fix. Do the fix is to add the new file name at Unit1.cpp file at line 527?, or are additional changes needed?.
    Could you help me to update my ONT version to your ONT newer version?.
     
  10. Meccs

    Meccs Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 480 GAMING X 8G
    Ok, this has been asked before I am sure but I honestly couldn't find anything.
    I applied my settings with OverdriveNTool for a while now but I don't really want to use it anymore. The problem is, whenever I make changes in Wattman and click apply, it changes back to the settings I applied via OverdriveNTool. I can load a Wattman profile, that seems to work but as soon as I make manual changes in Wattman they reset back immediately to the ones before I hit "apply changes".

    I tried DDU in safe mode and all but it's still happening. I can no longer use Wattman to apply any changes. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2020

  11. testsieger73

    testsieger73 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
  12. Rootax

    Rootax Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Vega FE 1.6ghz /WC
    Seems even the 0.2.9 beta 1 doesn't work with DX12-WSL-Radeon-Software-Adrenalin-20.20.01.05-June17 (adl error not supported).


    EDIT : my bad it's working, hadn't switched to gaming mode.
     
  13. snaky115

    snaky115 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 Fury
    Politely requesting to get a version to control my R9 Fury fans, like the old v0.2.6 which does not work now.
     
  14. DaveScream

    DaveScream New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD RX580 8gb
    -consoleonly -getcurrent dosent show Offset and LLC parameters, so from CLI there is no way to parse and know if GPU has compatible VRM.
     
  15. DaveScream

    DaveScream New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD RX580 8gb
    If run with -consoleonly and some profile in .ini is corrupted, the GUI message about this appears

    -consoleonly switch is on, but got this messagebox:
    ---------------------------
    OverdriveNTool
    ---------------------------
    For security reason I2C offset must be between -48 (-300mV) and 48 (+300mV)
    ---------------------------
    ОК
    ---------------------------
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2020

  16. Jellis

    Jellis Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    AMD Rx 5700 xt 8gb
    0.2.9 doesn't seem to work with the new 20.7.1 driver, settings either go back to stock or i get a driver crash when i try to apply one of my profiles. not sure if this is the cause but the reg key for softpowerplaytable did change, its now PP_PhmSoftWTTable
     
    Rambo likes this.
  17. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,786
    Likes Received:
    2,716
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    try 0.2.8 ;)
     
  18. Jellis

    Jellis Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    AMD Rx 5700 xt 8gb
    just tried 0.2.8 same issue, I think it is a rdna problem though. i have a 5700xt and a friend has a rx 580 and is not having any issues with this driver and OverdriveNTool
     
  19. Carlos Terraza

    Carlos Terraza New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon RX5700XT

    Known Issues

    • Performance Tuning Profiles saved from previous Radeon Software releases will no longer be compatible with Radeon Software Adrenalin 2020 Edition 20.7.1 and onward.
    Looks like the XML files have been changed
     
    OnnA likes this.
  20. DaveScream

    DaveScream New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD RX580 8gb
    -consoleonly is set, but GUI appears

    ---------------------------
    OverdriveNTool
    ---------------------------
    Wrong command: -ac0 Mem_P0=*;*

    GPU with id=0 is not supported
    ---------------------------
    ОК
    ---------------------------
     

Share This Page