Overclocking Athlon XP 3200+ (Barton)

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by EoD, Sep 21, 2006.

  1. Freakezoit

    Freakezoit Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 8800GTS 640MB @ 684/2232Mhz
    Try this or the Sharkoon 120mm SilentEagle 2000
    http://www.caseking.de/shop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=26_191&products_id=977

    MFG Freakezoit @Germany
     
  2. EoD

    EoD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 6600GT(AGP)128MB@550/1050
    You are a little bit too late, already got

    I wrote this a few posts above yours, but thanks anyway
     
  3. Freakezoit

    Freakezoit Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 8800GTS 640MB @ 684/2232Mhz
    sry mein fehler falls du noch hilfe brauchst kann ich dir trozdem behilflich sein.

    Mfg freakezoit
     
  4. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    huh??? lol
     

  5. Freakezoit

    Freakezoit Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV 8800GTS 640MB @ 684/2232Mhz
    rofl i writed it in german, he is from germany same as i so i can answer him in german.

    It's better for him to understand i think.:bonk:
     
  6. EoD

    EoD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 6600GT(AGP)128MB@550/1050
    yup I'm from germany, but this is an english forum, and I can understand english well enough :eyebrows:

    Well I think I'll try again with overclocking tomorrow... school starts in 7 hours and I need to sleep now :sleep:

    edit.:

    damn... gets unstable after 24 minutes (fsb @ 210 (stock @ 200)

    higher core voltage = of no use
    higher memory voltage a little bit = still error

    apg frequency is set to 66 mhz. and I use slower timings when overclocking.

    I'll test if this thing even runs stable @ stock :bonk:

    edit2.:
    mhh stable, ok no I have to find out, what piece of hardware is limiting me :grab:
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  7. EoD

    EoD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 6600GT(AGP)128MB@550/1050
    *sigh* my system is ass to overclock...

    AMD Specifications say that my voltage should be 1.65V, I set 1.65V in my Bios.. but well see below, my BIOS Setting is set to 1.65V but it still uses 1.71V.

    @stock (1.71V, 2200Mhz, FSB200,Ram Voltage 2.6V) Stable
    @FSB202(1.71V, 2230Mhz, 2.6V) unstable (error after 24 minutes)
    @FSB202(1.75V, 2230Mhz, 2.7V) unstable (error after about 45 minutes)

    and I'm not very tempted to try this anymore... I mean if this thing ****s it pants with just 2 Mhz FSB more, hell I dont know whats going on.

    The Only thing I which could cause that would be my pci soundcard (Audigy 2 ZS) because I can't set the PCI Bus to a fixed value. AGP Is set to 66 Mhz, so this shouldn't be the problem...

    Sadly I got a locked multiplier (I can't up or lower it) so I can't say for sure if its the cpu or not...

    My Northbridge does hardly get hot, maybe 37-41°C under stress (Prime 95).

    I mean how I am supposed to learn anything about overclocking if this thing just does not want to be overclocked at all... and i doubt that this cpu will be happy if I would set core voltage to 1.8V just to be stable with an >30mhz overclock...

    very discouraging :bonk:
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  8. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    its the mobo, see if you can ebay a msi k7 nf2 400 ultra. single best k7 motherboard ever made.
     
  9. EoD

    EoD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 6600GT(AGP)128MB@550/1050
    actually I'm not going to put in any money in this computer, because next year I'll buy myself a completely new PC with either an 8800 card or the R600 (depending which card is the best in terms of overall gaming power), or better cards, incase there are new "releases".

    [Personal View]Well, I hate msi... I had a mobo of them as an temporary solution when my old asus failed (after about 2-3 years of work in an old, not cooled case).. So I've reinstalled windows, put up all drivers (newest of course) etc but guess what, my two hdd's where so slow, I had to take 1 1/1 day to Defrag with O&O, acess time to folders where slow , too. So Because of this I wont buy any thing from msi in the near future.
    This is my personal View on things...
    [/Personal View]

    Thanks for trying to help anyway.

    edit.:
    Damn****, this thing even stops after 3 1/2 hours running @stock...
    I'm happy when I can trash this system :grab:
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  10. InfDaMarvel

    InfDaMarvel Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD3850 256mb
    Well then somthing in your system is obviously not stable.

    What are you running th Vcore at stock?
    Check your ram timings and speed
    And Do some memory test.
     

  11. EoD

    EoD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 6600GT(AGP)128MB@550/1050
    Vcore at stock is set to 1.65V, but my CPU gets at least 1.7V and I don't know why. Ram Timings are Set to standart, I'll check my Ram with memtest tomorrow. Please mind I'm talking about all settings @ stock (stable for 3 1/2 hours (Prime 95))
     
  12. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    bro your mobo isnt right.

    [personal view] last 6 motherboards have been msi, great overclocks, flawless performance[personal view] lol see the problem people have is when they buy the lower end.. i admit msi has TERRIBLE lower end motherboards, but their premiers are some serious award winners (looks at own mobo)
     
  13. foci

    foci Active Member

    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA GTX460 1024MB
    The Abit NF7-S Ver.2 is also a great overclocking motherboard.

    I used to have the the XP3200+ with the Abit MB and I was able to OC to 2453 MHz (from 2200). I also read from the official AMD forums that a lot of people who have the said ASUS board have trouble running the XP3200+. They would have random locks, reboots, etc.

    EoD, make sure you have a genuine XP3200+ and not just a remarked XP2400+ CPU. Make sure all your L12 bridges are not cut. Head over to the official AMD forums (if you still want to OC your CPU) for more info The link is here

    foci
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2006
  14. InfDaMarvel

    InfDaMarvel Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD3850 256mb
    1.65 on the vore seems high for stock to me.
     
  15. vidra

    vidra Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1060 6GB
    According to the manufacturer's specs, all Bartons have a default voltage of 1.65. I personally have an unlocked 2500+ which I routinely o/c to a 3200+ but I need to raise the voltage to 1.7. I idle at 47 and peak at 56 with a Zalman
    CNPS3100-Plus (an old and not too good cooler). During the summer, however, I need to return to stock speed as my load temp rises above 60C when oced. Although I really love and often pamper my rig, it's time I bought a new one. If only my wife could see it my way ;)
     

  16. jeanfrederic

    jeanfrederic Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 7600GT GoldenS
    Hey man, i've a Barton 2500+ running @3200 on ASUS A7N8X-E deluxe, 2x 512 RAM Corsaire for almost 2 years.

    First, set your RAM steps to 2,5-3-3-11
    Second, try to get a LATERAL fan flowing directly on your CPU'cooler. It just take 30' to perforate and install your fan on the lateral pannel, and you'll see the diff! See first page for some pics http://light.pcinpact.com/a-151-1-Dossier-Aircooling-les-bases.htm
    If you want some more, install a new NorthBr Shipset cooler, and why not, stick Heatsink on your four mofsets!
    http://www.syndrome-oc.net/articles.php?article=35
     
  17. mattsroush

    mattsroush Guest

    I also have an A7N8X Deluxe with an XP 3200 and it gets unstable after some relatively mild overclock (208 FSB) and I can't isolate the problem. Rig setup:

    Asus A7N8X Deluxe
    AMD Athlon XP 3200+
    ATI X850XT (AGP)
    2x512 Patriot Memory (400Mhz) (I have read nothing but positive things about overclocking this memory)
    FSB 200-208 (stable)
    Memory timings (2-2-2-5 stock, reduce to 2.5-3-3-7 for FSB above 205)
    DDR Voltage 2.6 (tried 2.7 with no results)
    Vcore voltage 1.65 stock (reads 1.72 in CPU-Z), (upped to 1.800 but did not resolve stablility issues)
    AGP Voltage/Clock left at stock (I think 66 MHZ is stock).

    Highest temps I've seen during all testing (up to 220) is 45 C, so I don't think it is a heat issue causing the instability.

    I was thinking I could at LEAST get up to 215 FSB (pretty mild from what I've read), but after 208 it just dies.

    Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 6, 2006
  18. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    First thing i say to everyone with overclocking.

    Lock your PCI/ AGP clocks.
     
  19. mattsroush

    mattsroush Guest

    I have those on the stock "auto detected" settings.

    If I increase the FSB, will I manually have to reduce the AGP speed?
     
  20. roguesn1per

    roguesn1per Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,508
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX580
    No dont put it to Auto........LOCK THEM...

    Ie

    PCI= 33.3
    AGP = 66.6
     

Share This Page