Overclocking a 4000+

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by shockerweb, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. shockerweb

    shockerweb Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTX 625/1100 [Dell 24
    Hi All, I have a SanDiego 4000+ Oced to 2.72 Ghz. I have a few problems. Occasionally I will get crashes but my temperatures are fine ( CPU under stress : 35C ) Also when I do a memory benchmark the results have gone down since I overclocked. I overclocked in Bios. Ive been in many other forums and I couldnt get a straight awnser and a friend reffered me here and said you were great.

    Heres is some background information. Basicly what I really need to know is what settings, voltages, speeds and other settings to change for a Asus A8N Sli Deluxe Motherboard .

    CPU(s)
    Number of CPUs 1
    Name AMD Athlon 64 4000+
    Code Name San Diego
    Specification AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 4000+
    Family / Model / Stepping F 7 1
    Extended Family / Model F 27
    Brand ID 4
    Package Socket 939
    Core Stepping E4
    Technology 0.09 �
    Supported Instructions Sets MMX, Extended MMX, 3DNow!, Extended 3DNow!, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
    CPU Clock Speed 2737.1 MHz
    Clock multiplier x 11.5
    HTT Bus Frequency 238.0 MHz
    L1 Data Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L1 Instruction Cache 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L2 Cache 1024 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
    L2 Speed 2737.1 MHz (Full)
    L2 Location On Chip
    L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
    L2 Bus Width 128 bits

    Mainboard and chipset
    Motherboard manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
    Motherboard model A8N-SLI DELUXE, 1.XX
    BIOS vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD
    BIOS revision ASUS A8N-SLI DELUXE ACPI BIOS Revision 1008
    BIOS release date 04/29/2005
    Chipset nVidia nForce4 rev. A3
    Southbridge nVidia nForce4 MCP rev. A3
    Sensor chip IT 8712
    Graphic Interface PCI-Express
    PCI-E Link Width x63
    PCI-E Max Link Width x63

    Memory
    DRAM Type DDR-SDRAM
    DRAM Size 2048 MBytes
    DRAM Frequency 228.1 MHz
    FSB:DRAM CPU/12
    CAS# Latency 2.5 clocks
    RAS# to CAS# 3 clocks
    RAS# Precharge 3 clocks
    Cycle Time (TRAS) 15 clocks
    Bank Cycle Time (TRC) 22 clocks
    DRAM Idle Timer 256 clocks
    # of memory modules 4
    Module 0 Corsair DDR-SDRAM PC3200 - 512 MBytes
    Module 1 Corsair DDR-SDRAM PC3200 - 512 MBytes
    Module 2 Corsair DDR-SDRAM PC3200 - 512 MBytes
    Module 3 Corsair DDR-SDRAM PC3200 - 512 MBytes

    Software
    Windows version Microsoft Windows Server 2003 Professional Service Pack 1 (Build 3790)
    DirectX version 9.0c

    I also have
    (2)7800 GTX's (Factory OC'd)
    WD250GBHD
    2 Gigs of corsair ram
    XP90C Heatsink with tornado fan

    thanks all so much in advance
     
  2. reflex

    reflex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 8800GT 725/1800/2000
    I have my 4000+ san diego at default and im pretty happy with it, but when i tried to overclock it (default heatsink) even a little bit, it got kinda unstable... But i figured out my ram timings were two low and causing alot of unstablility, so I will try overclocking now and see how it is.
     
  3. BodyBag

    BodyBag Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV465 @ 470
    What voltage are you giving to your processor?
     
  4. Brettbeck

    Brettbeck Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek PX7800GTX
    I was told I could OC my 3700+ SanDiego to 3.2ghz on air. I don't think I believe that though. If it is true you should be able to OC more than that.
     

  5. BodyBag

    BodyBag Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    POV465 @ 470
    No way.......dont believe that, people with vapo chill systems just about get that sort of overclock..........


    I reakon fx57 speeds on air........is a more realistic target.

    I have a 3700 sandy coming tomorrow................
    I will keep you informed on my overclocking adventures. What Vcore volatge are you pumping through it?
     
  6. Lordbollo

    Lordbollo Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti Lightning
    I got my 4000+ to 2832 @ 1.62volts and running happy as. I have been told by people who have more experience than me that you shouldn't use half multipliers on the A64's. But that might just be because of the mobo i am running.
     
  7. G L

    G L Don Juan

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
    Two questions, what's your vcore, and what's your HTT multiplier set to?
     
  8. MiNI

    MiNI Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 6950 unlock 950/1400
    From looking at the information you've posted i can point out some problems that can cause your lost in memory performance. (look for things in Bold)





    Anwser the question that GL asked.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2005
  9. eatmyshorts

    eatmyshorts Master Guru

    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI Radeon X1950Pro
    It seems to me that u are going too far with your ram settins. U have a PC 3200 with CL 2.5 and it is running at 228 (456 MHz) with same CL! It is too much for that ram modules. For Athlon 64 oc u need to calculate ram speed, and multipliers before start. I don't have much time to write that calculation, right now but if u wanna me to do that I will :)
     
  10. bigblack

    bigblack Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 6800 GT
    if u don't mind as I'm quite interested in OCing my CPU also and don't know jackshhhh about overclocking especially sinse AMD switched to Athlon64 and stop using the FSB which I think now is the Hyperthtransport
     

  11. G L

    G L Don Juan

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
    I think the Athlon 64 has a FSB as much as the P4 or XP does... its just that main memory is not on the FSB anymore, so FSB bandwidth isn't terribly important. All FSB really means nowadays is just the connection between CPU and northbridge.... whether the memory is connected to the northbridge or the CPU doesn't seem terribly relevant.

    Basically, there's a clock pulse generator that by ratios sets the clock speed of everything else... this is commonly called the FSB speed. I think if it really refers to the speed of any one thing, it would be the chipset speed.
     
  12. Stefan_Portugal

    Stefan_Portugal Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 6600 go
    Hi there! You have the geforce 7800 gtx and do you like is it worth it´s price? Because I am waiting for the 7800 Ultra... so you have 2x7800 gtx why´s that for?
     
  13. G L

    G L Don Juan

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
    Well, apparently its better than a 6800 Ultra for about the same price. But the 7800 Ultra is pretty much guaranteed not to be a better deal than GTX, the Ultras never are.... though it may bump the GTX price down, not sure what the Ultra is meant to go for.
     
  14. shockerweb

    shockerweb Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTX 625/1100 [Dell 24
    hey all... im really bringing this back from the dead... alright ... im at 2.810 @ 1.55 VCORE with 4 as my HTT multiplyer... can I improve ? my idle temps is 34 and my stress is 42 ... i know more now and i didnt know anything when i first posted so i left cuz i had no idea what ur talking about,
     
  15. shockerweb

    shockerweb Active Member

    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTX 625/1100 [Dell 24
    bump? ! i was wondering if i could push that farther


    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^6
     

  16. G L

    G L Don Juan

    Messages:
    10,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 8800 GTS 640 MB 600/1000
    I dunno, can you? Have you tried? If yes, then how did it fail? 2.8 GHz is getting up there, so quite possibly not. But I've heard of closer to 2.9 GHz, and the FX processors, which are presumbably the same exact core, can do more like 3.0 GHz.

    But the basic formula is, set the HTT multiplier way down, set the memory speed way down, start increasing the FSB, when that fails, raise the vcore +.05 and try again. Keep doing that until you start getting high load temps (>55 load) or hit the maximum vcore you'd feel comfortable with (generally +.2v). Then increase the memory and HTT until that fails (and play with vddr and timings with the ram), then you're done.
     
  17. Brettbeck

    Brettbeck Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek PX7800GTX
    I can OC my CPU to 2.6GHz (FX55:D) with the stock cooler. Config is 238x11 @ 1.475v. Although load is about 59/60°C which is abit high really. I think I will invest in a new CPU cooler when I can be bothered lol. I will try 2.8GHz when I get a new cooler but I think it will need 1.5v.
     
  18. S_Kinton

    S_Kinton Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    512mb 8800GT & 22" Samsung LCD
    AMD maximum rated temp for san diegos and venice cores is 65c, so be aware that you're cooler isnt up to scratch.

    My vapochill micro runs my cpu at 35c idle and 42c load. With a vcore increase of 0.5v over stock - not bad really
     

Share This Page