OpenGL + ATI Drivers

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Griffrez, Oct 10, 2011.

1. Griffrez

Griffrez New Member

GPU:
    ATI Radeon HD 4770 512 MB
    OK. I'm a newbie here, first of all, hello all! Just for the record, I understand most of the tech terms... but... *most*.

Anyway, my problem is with Minecraft. You know... that "new" popular game that Youtube was and is filled to the top about it. Anyway. I have been playing it for a while.
    But, lately I noticed a problem with it that I think it has to do with AMD's crappy work on the drivers department.

Every time I make an interaction (like opening a door, catching blocks, blah, you know it), I get a lag spike. It is incredibly annoying and game breaking. I tried everything. I reinstalled Minecraft, Java and the GPU Drivers and tested Minecraft in several circumstances. (Won't get into details because I'm not hoping that everyone here knows all about Minecraft.)

I got my problem also shown in a screenshot here (along with other info): Here. You know it. HERE!

Didn't get any decent response in everywhere I looked, so I decided to go more in depth in terms of the system. I'll try to reformat as soon as I can. (My sister has been playing Fable III on my PC, and saves get corrupted from system to system. So no reformat until she's done with it.) I don't remember having this problem before, seriously. Or I was very patient, or I was sleeping when I used to play it. Or maybe latest Minecraft updates. Anyway, I hope you guys here at Guru3D have an answer.

P.S.: Sorry for the long post. I bet you've seen bigger, but I also bet you've seen much smaller too.

Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  2. WaxPaper

WaxPaper Member

GPU:
    ATI HD 5870 (Mobile)
    The thing is (and this is the way I understand it, I could be wrong), Minecraft doesn't take advantage of any OGL features past v1.3 or something like that, so using different/newer OGL drivers shouldn't make any difference.