OpenGL 4.0 preview driver March 29

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by EaglePC, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. EaglePC

    EaglePC Master Guru

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 5700
  2. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,917
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    huh?

    owell ill installed this now :D
     
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    2,951
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    These have a newer CCC (Even newer than the 10.3b drivers.) but the display drivers are reported as being up to date already though I installed those as well.
    (Previously used the earlier OGL 4 driver but updated to the 10.3b CCC version a while ago.)

    EDIT: No I missed it, ATI drivers go by the build number and not the date number afterwards, these are dated the 26th March and thus are newer.
    (But still use the same 8.716.3.100 or what it was again.)
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  4. Hana88

    Hana88 Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati radeon 7970@ 1100/145
    omg STOP!!!
     

  5. Donkeylips

    Donkeylips Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x POWERCOLOR pcs+ 5770
    Still terrible performance in Quake1. Guess only fix will be to sell 5770s and buy Nvidia.


    Large performance gain in BF2 BC2 (compared to 10.3b). No performance gain or loss in FurMark.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2010
  6. TheGuuH

    TheGuuH Master Guru

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 470 XFX
    still play quake1 ?!?!?! :3eyes:
     
  7. Donkeylips

    Donkeylips Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x POWERCOLOR pcs+ 5770
    Yes multiplayer. Performance is also still terrible in Quakelive.
     
  8. EaglePC

    EaglePC Master Guru

    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 5700
    well formatted my pc LOL ,installed these fresh.OMG no more dual monitor flickering.image quality looks awesome.Win 7 x64 Ultimate.

    Don't play games .Internet surfing and HDTV Blu-ray is very impotant to me.

    Thank You AMD for working hard on the 5 Series.
     
  9. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Why use a new openGL driver for older games.. just use 10.3a instead of these OpenGL 4 previews.
     
  10. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    LoL are you joking?

    Just tested Quake 1 in a XP virtual machine to see what would happen and

    Runs at constant 72 FPS no matter what resolution I set. Think Vsync might be on by default but can't find the option or maybe its the max FPS set.

    [​IMG]
     

  11. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Just fired up Quake with the darkplaces mod/renderer since the old glquake wont start even in compatibility mode. Anyway seems to run fine though FPS is not amazing I put that down to the mod. GlQuake would have been much higher.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    ahh :( Your picture looks nicer than mine.
     
  13. Donkeylips

    Donkeylips Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x POWERCOLOR pcs+ 5770
    No. My 8400GS would hold 1000fps stable, 8800GTS would pull 3000fps stable. The 5770 pulls around 300 and drops to 125fps in fights. Feels very slow in fights even if you cap fps at 140fps (140hz refresh rate) as well.

    empty server :
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  14. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Probably have to use an older OpenGL driver which one I don't know. But I do seem to recall that last year? it was announced that new drivers will be slow for old opengl games as compatibility was holding things back so they concentrated on new drivers for current and future opengl games.

    I may be wrong, but I'm sure there was something like this. Anyway ATI was always worse at opengl compared to Nvidia for Quake1,2,3 etc engines.
     
  15. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,740
    Likes Received:
    635
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    Mirrors!

    Windows XP
    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/370136005/_www.MiMp3.net_-_ati_catalyst_10.3_ogl4_preview_winxp_march29.exe
    Windows Vista/7
    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/370135669/_www.MiMp3.net_-_ati_catalyst_10.3_ogl4_preview_win7_vista_march29.exe
    Linux
    Code:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/370136105/_www.MiMp3.net_-_ati_catalyst_10.3_ogl4_preview_linux_march29.zip
     

  16. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Still unstable for my xfirex setup, still 10.1 catalyst that works perfectly with xfire enabled. But all 10.2-10.3+++ drivers are unstable on my system, and have read stuff from other threads where others also use 10.1 as it is the last driver that works stable? If I install 10.2 or later I get these two different BSOD´s and GreySOD´s as well. If I go back to 1.01 or remove one of my 5000 cards and with it disable xfire, then and only then will my system work as it should? :( Hopefully AMD Catalyst team is on this!?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  17. sideeffect

    sideeffect Master Guru

    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    Problem is he has a 5770 so I doupt the card will be recognised by older drivers.

    How about trying Linux and the open source driver. :)

    Out of interest why do you need more than 140FPS in this game?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2010
  18. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    In Quake FPS has an effect on physics and certain numbers let you jump further or whatever. Also he is playing at 140hz so he needs to lock the fps at 140 without any dips for best competitive experience.
     
  19. evilfury

    evilfury Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 GTX Gaming X
    With every new release of those 10.3 versions idle temperature rise. Does anybody else notice that? For about 2C with each release. :)
     
  20. bhokuto

    bhokuto Master Guru

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R5670 HD 1GB DDR5

Share This Page