[Official] - Windows 10 TH2 RTM

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. The1

    The1 Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 780ti SC, H20
    Hi, had the identical issue...I had an "old" version of the media creation tool. Updated and it installed like a dream...Good Luck. :)

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10
     
  2. MacT

    MacT Member Guru

    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Sapphire HD 7970 OC
    update:
    K so, this delay of 25+ seconds from log in screen to desktop only happens with restart. Turning on from a complete shutdown and it is like 4 seconds to log on screen, and then maybe 3 seconds max to desktop after log in. So weird that this delayed login is from restart only.
     
  3. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Fast boot doesn't work with a restart, only with a shutdown and boot up
     
  4. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,981
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Maybe you have the same problem as me.. I get this, happens right before it starts checking stuff after recommended updates..

    Got this from reliability monitor

    Description
    Faulting Application Path: C:\$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\SetupHost.exe

    Problem signature
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: SetupHost.exe
    Application Version: 10.0.10586.0
    Application Timestamp: 5632d59e
    Fault Module Name: msvcrt.dll
    Fault Module Version: 7.0.10240.16384
    Fault Module Timestamp: 559f3b84
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 0000000000073bde
    OS Version: 10.0.10240.2.0.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 1060
    Additional Information 1: 1e1a
    Additional Information 2: 1e1a30c78294f9c0760091b8b37a686f
    Additional Information 3: b039
    Additional Information 4: b039fb494410f824d43284c01938d835



    And same here, nothing helps..
    My only option is either use system refresh (reset) and then upgrade from 10240 or clean install if I boot from BIOS and then install from point 0 no settings/files preserved, since it can't upgrade like that if I boot from BIOS - it says boot normally and then run setup within windows to keep your files and settings..
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2015

  5. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I have the same issue he has, and no fast boot was never enabled prior.

    In fact win 7 boot times was about 30 second when i switched to win 10 they remained 30 secs give or take.

    But with TH2 that 30 sec is more like 50+ seconds, the login in screen is taking way to long. and it completely random some times cold boot is 30 secs some times restart is 30secs but for most part I see 50+ seconds. and this i with fast boot on or off.


    It is the welcome/login screen that take to long/stalling, it not the actual post boot functions. and when i revert it back told build boot times where fine. i since went back to TH2 and i cant be bother to do fresh install of the os again
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
  6. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Does that happen with a clean install of TH2 too ?
     
  7. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    dont know im not gona reinstalled the OS i just resinstaled a month ago cause the last build update broke windows update. and seeing as I gona be installing OS again on new build i dont see the point in going threw the hassle for boot times

    It is the TH2 that caused it thought, cause when reverted the TH2 update, boot times were fine, and did the TH2 update again it was back.

    I already reinstalled chipset/irst drivers I use. none of it helped, and and I still get the 270/250 R/W speed on my SSD with Sata II
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Yea true, just wondering because I've clean installed TH2 on my laptop and tablet and both boot quickly, no hanging at all
     
  9. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I chalk it up to one the reasons why clean installs are better then upgrades. or maybe it just the gnomes in my PC getting feisty. but like said everthing else is fine other then UI glitchs i see from time to time involving the start menu and it auto hide function(start bar will hide but the actual startmenu is still there)
     
  10. The upgrade install to build 10586 using .ISO (mediacreationtool) from build 10240 was a success for me. I'm really happy that the boot time for Windows 10 has been significantly reduced from using to the new build (even more so compared to Win 7). I noticed that the Control Panel is still "hidden" in this build. I read the Settings app is supposed to replace the Control Panel, but looking to see how they integrate the Device Manager and other features into the Settings app in a future build.
     

  11. wrathloki

    wrathloki Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980 Ti G1
    I just installed version 10586. Is this the same thing?
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
  12. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Clean installs have and will always be better than upgrades, but Win 10 is a step in the right direction for fixing upgrades (For most people anyway)

    Yep
     
  13. Lacusmons

    Lacusmons Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080
    Before the upgrade to 10586, my homegroup worked as intended. But after the upgrade it says i have to join my own homegroup. When i type in the password, it just trying to connect. After a while i reports that there is no homegroup on the network. But i can't create a new homegroup. Very frustrating.
     
  14. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,658
    Likes Received:
    391
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I can't see any other Windows 10 PC after the update even though network discovery is on. Neither can the other Windows 10 PCs.
     
  15. Lacusmons

    Lacusmons Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080
    Ah okej. Sounds like there are some stuff they still need to fix.

    I managed to solve the HomeGroup issue. I had to turn off every connected HomeGroup PC and after that i could recreate the HomeGroup. Works now as intended.
     

  16. superzeus

    superzeus Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 GAMING X
    Extraordinary i have a question, i just get a new pc build from start but the guy selling them it was like no trusty person and my worries was right he sellme a pirate version of windows lol so I decided to buy a new os it was a win 8 pro for 80dlls it's possible to put the new key and maintain my actual windows I don't want to download all my stuff again it is possible?? Thanks
     
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Yea, you should be able to just go to the System Window and click change product key, or from the new Settings activation screen

    Or type SLUI 3 into the start search box

    Or from Elevated CMD: slmgr -ipk xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx-xxxxx

    xxxxx being your new key

    Then: slmgr -ato

    Few methods here
    http://www.intowindows.com/3-methods-to-change-windows-8-1-product-key/
     
  18. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    643
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    yah these 50+ second boot times cause the windows login screen is stalling is most annoying
     
  19. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    180
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Still doing it with TH2? I haven't seen that happen since.
     
  20. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    1,537
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    No idea sorry, haven't used an action pack before
     

Share This Page