1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[OFFICIAL] Windows 10 RS5 - BUILD 17763.107 - RTM

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Sep 20, 2018.

  1. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Do you really see much change on games on SSD?
    I have OS on 850evo and when for example BFv was in beta, I had it on C:\ (SSD) and then when final release I moved it for space to WD black HDD.
    At first, I was worried I will be last to spawn in on maps, but that didn't happen, I am early most times. Now the first start of BFv loading it most likely is slower but at least in the game, I don't notice slowdowns.
     
  2. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    200
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    IMO SSD's help games with texture streaming and they also help a bit when in situations you run out of vram or are nearing the limit
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    4,026
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Not much. But the gain was not the motivation to buy big SSD, laziness plus big unexpected money at work were...
     
  4. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Yup, I hear ya, I will probably get a 1TB SSD for games etc and I guess move to NVMe for OS but need new MB for best results.
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,491
    Likes Received:
    4,026
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    I strongly doubt you need NVMe for not server rig.
    My MB doesn`t support NVMe officially, there are modded BIOS, but I don`t need that kind of speed.
     
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,236
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    I agree, depends on prices in coming months, it supposes to go down.
    I have no issue really with SATA.
     
  7. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    There's a new CU in the release preview branch KB4482887. I've read that it has fixed the action center appearing on the wrong side of the screen momentarily on 1809.
     
  8. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,327
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    It momentarily fixes it, or it fixes it momentarily? :D :D
     
    lucidus likes this.
  9. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    I'm guessing it is actually fixed. Remember that guy on MDL who posted gifs of the action center? 1903's fix added a bug (surprise!) which caused the blur effect to be applied after the action center slides in. That bug is now present in 1809 after this patch :D So ... it's probably fixed but another leak's sprug up captain! :D
     
    Extraordinary likes this.
  10. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    Windows keeps forgetting my folder views ... wth :-|
     
    Dj_ALeX likes this.

  11. Dj_ALeX

    Dj_ALeX Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    G1 GTX 980 OC
    And i was wondering wtff is going on... :D:confused:
     
    lucidus likes this.
  12. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,813
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    With every update, it turns off my file and printer sharing option. As if they are suggesting I shouldnt trust myself. :eek:
     
  13. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,732
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    You shouldn't, MS knows better. You should know that :D
     
  14. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
  15. Strange Times

    Strange Times Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    RX 480 8GB

  16. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,327
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  18. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    @Extraordinary Same as me, BTIKernalReptolineEnabled and next one is False.

    Edit: Okay so I installed the latest C6 microcode from the MS catalog site and some values have changed but reptoline is still disabled.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2019
    Strange Times and Extraordinary like this.
  19. Strange Times

    Strange Times Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    RX 480 8GB
    same for me

    BTIKernelRetpolineEnabled : False
    BTIKernelImportOptimizationEnabled : False
     
  20. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,856
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    GPU:
    .
    I have tried enabling the SSBD systemwide protection and installed the latest microcode update manually and can't find any information for manually enabling Repto. There's the note in the Repto article's beginning so I suppose it's by design (for now). Let's see.

    "While Retpoline is currently disabled by default on production Windows 10 client devices, we have backported the OS modifications needed to support Retpoline so that it can be used with Windows 10, version 1809 and have those modifications in the March 1, 2019 update. Over the coming months, we will enable Retpoline as part of phased rollout via cloud configuration."
     

Share This Page