1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[OFFICIAL] Windows 10 RS5 - BUILD 17763.107 - RTM

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Sep 20, 2018.

  1. eGGroLLiO

    eGGroLLiO Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2
    What kinds of issues are you having with the AE-5?
     
  2. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    These guys have fucked up explorer. I get a different read out if I select all the folders and right click the selection in c:\ windows and if I right click and check the windows folder's size. WTF is going on at that chimp exhibit ...

    [​IMG]

    I ran the usual tools - chkdsk /f, dism ... /restorehealth, and sfc /scannow. idk if other folders are affected. I had noticed this in late December in the Pictures library and worked around it by moving some folders. The only thing in common I can think of is the large number of files >100k. 1607 works fine. This will make back ups a nightmare. Fucking bugs as a service. This is the base for Server 2019....
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Master Guru

    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    181
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    No, you're just experiencing WinSxS's effect on the Size: value.

    When both WinSxS and the system folders are selected you get single files contributing twice to the size property.
     
  4. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Nope. I've seen that behaviour even in the Pictures folder ... no winsxs there.
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,389
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    It can be a bug in the shell itself. See the number of files and folders in both dialogs. We can assume that when you invoke properties dialog on one folder "Windows" shell invokes it correctly, and when you select files and folders inside the folder "Windows" shell fails in calculating selected items and their sub-items.
    PS And if this assumption is correct no backups will be affected - backup software doesn`t work through the shell.

    PPS I have tried that on my rig with Win10 1809 and I see same picture, but:
    - in the dialog for selected folders and files inside the "Windows" folder I see a checked box "Hidden";
    - I have checked in the Far file manager and it calculated even bigger numbers of folders, files and bytes for "Windows" folder.
    [​IMG]

    I have tried that on my home rig with Win10 1803 and there is no difference in these two properties dialogs.
    [​IMG]

    But we can see that numbers are closer to your properties dialog invoked on selected folders and files in "Windows" folder.

    Update: After I performed a clean-up of disk C: (at home rig) folder "Windows" lost some 8000 files.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,389
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
  7. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,894
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    Another cumulative update.
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4487044/windows-10-update-kb4487044


    Strix DLX sound card finally died after reboot with this, USB via PCI-E so it's been clicking a bit over the last month indicating problems initializing but still managing to come through until today. Oh well it's been over three years and hardware can fail and there's been some indication what with the clicking over the last couple of weeks. Back to onboard for now and yet another reminder that this entire system needs a replacement.

    Anyways that's why it took more than the usual half hour or so from install and cleanup to posting about it.



    EDIT: Amazing personal experiences with Asus woefully under supported and curiously designed sound card aside though this is a pretty short list of fixes but focus is likely on finalizing 19H1 for it's mid-April release now was it?
    (Hardware itself isn't terrible or anything just to be clear, driver support is though and well the way the card kinda works is somewhat funny but probably has a reason even it's likely cost efficiency.)

    Thought it was March but i guess April is better for fixing up the kinda lengthy list of issues that have been following the last few builds now so hopefully that gives Microsoft time to sort that all out. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019 at 10:21 PM
    lucidus likes this.
  8. kens30

    kens30 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 STRIX OC
    Quick question.
    I am still on RS4 1803 due to the blank AC notifications. Has this been fixed yet?
    If not i might as well wait for next Windows release..
     
  9. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,894
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    With two months to go until 19H1 I'd just wait, it probably has other fixes from RS5 here too which haven't been addressed in these cumulative updates and it's close enough that assuming the launch isn't a complete bust I would just move to that build instead and skip RS5 entirely at this point. :)

    As for the action center notifications I think it's improved at least and covered in some earlier cumulative update release notes but reports still seem a bit divided so it's probably not entirely gone either from what I've been reading at least.
     
  10. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,653
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I'm getting annoyed with the truncated FLAC id3 tag bug in Windows v1809 that means cropped song and album titles in Groove, which is apparently fixed in the next build of Windows. And, yes, I like Groove!

    Besides the obvious question of how on earth Microsoft managed to break this functionality in the first place since it was working fine before, the more obvious question is why does it take them so long to migrate fixes into current builds if it is already fixed in the next version of Windows? The Feedback tool is utterly useless since there are dozens of reports of this issue but Microsoft have yet to fix it. It has been an issue since last September (it was fine in Windows v1803 though).
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,389
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Weird...
     
    alanm and RzrTrek like this.
  12. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,457
    Likes Received:
    990
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Tried 18334 and my explorer bug is fixed there. I hope it's patched in 1809 as well as I cba with current branch and upgrades.
     

Share This Page