[OFFICIAL] Windows 10 RS3 - Fall Creators Update - Build 16299.15

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Extraordinary, Sep 16, 2017.

  1. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    If you want to disable auto sign-in there's a toggle for it in Settings -> Accounts -> Sign-in Options

    Just disable "Use my sign-in info to automatically..." toggle. Needs to be done for each user account separately though, if multiple exist.
     
  2. Braxen

    Braxen Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    And that's not something i can do because of domain logons, and i shouldn't need to do that manually either.

    Here's the output from services for the failing notifications:
    Code:
    SERVICE_NAME: WpnUserService_76b24
            TYPE               : f0   ERROR
            STATE              : 4  RUNNING
                                    (STOPPABLE, NOT_PAUSABLE, ACCEPTS_PRESHUTDOWN)
            WIN32_EXIT_CODE    : 0  (0x0)
            SERVICE_EXIT_CODE  : 0  (0x0)
            CHECKPOINT         : 0x0
            WAIT_HINT          : 0x0
            PID                : 7396
            FLAGS              :
    I'm gonna have to find a way to kill that process in the deployment then
     
  3. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Ah right, also just now read your previous posts about it, my bad.

    Can you define Group Policies universally for deployments? Because if you can, you can disable WU from downloading / updating drivers alltogether if it's NV drivers via WU freezing the system(s).

    Forgot where / what the actual setting is but IIRC it was under Networking options (Administrative Templates -> Networking -> disable device driver searching or similar).
     
  4. Braxen

    Braxen Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    But then drivers for other stuff won't get downloaded.

    It seems that i finally found a solution (after two weeks) though!

    The registry key plus the command
    Code:
    taskkill.exe /f /fi "SERVICES eq WpnUserService_*"
    worked!
    I'm gonna add it to MDT and try to fully deploy it!
     

  5. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Nice!

    I think you can also define exceptions for specific device IDs under Windows Update options in GP editor ie. prevent only NV drivers from updating.
     
  6. Braxen

    Braxen Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Yeah i saw that, but i just can't understand how it's set up, you need like tons of extra applications to add it to MDT.

    The driver does actually work, it's just triggering the start menu bug.
     
  7. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Master Guru

    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Two different furnaces
    Since the November cumulative update my desktop had random network crashes when approaching 100Mb internal network speed... And looks like it's a bug of the OS that threat a 1 gigabit connection (1gigabit ethetnet router, cat6e cable, gigabit integrated network card) like a 100b connection :|
    I was able to mitigate the bug forcing the speed negotiation under the driver settings..
    Fùck you satya nadella, stop fooling around with useless transparencies and start fixing those dumb bugs! I miss Ballmer so much....
     
  8. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    That issue I had with Edge crashing when playing YouTube videos at 60 FPS seems to have been resolved. I ran SFC and dism commands a few times, so that may have fixed it. After this last update, I've noticed that Edge is noticeably faster than before. Faster than Chrome 63, and faster than Firefox Quantum.

    Anyone that uses Edge noticed this?
     
  9. Braxen

    Braxen Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Amazing, on the next machine model, when it installs the lastest windows update stuff, it freezes at the windows boot logo. Amazing work, Microsoft.
     
  10. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    I just switched from Edge to Firefox and can't say I'd notice much of a difference. Edge is perhaps slightly faster but not by much and don't think Edge is any faster now than it used to be.
     

  11. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    OK cool, thanks for sharing your experience. Out of curiosity, why did you switch from Edge to Firefox if the former is slightly faster?
     
  12. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    Do you guys use the command
    Bcdedit /set DisabledynamicTick Yes for Intel or AMD systems ? I have TR4 1950x I wonder if it helps with something.
     
  13. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    I just prefer Firefox and now that new version is out can resume using it :)

    No, leave timer as is. HPET will only hinder performance if forced.
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    DisabledynamicTick has nothing to do with HPET. It just turns off so called tickless kernel mode
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tickless_kernel
     
  15. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,827
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA 980Ti SC+
    Right, my mistake. IIRC that was one step though if you want to force HPET?

    Still recommend not tampering with timer but YMMV.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2017 at 12:02 PM

  16. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,320
    Likes Received:
    93
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    Does anyone have issues connecting phone to RS3? Cant send/receive files from PC or vice versa (both wifi and BT). With BT it even pairs properly but the damn OS says cant connect when sending file. No such issues with RS2. Guess I'll have to abandon this retarded OS in favor of RS2 again. This after finally solving the start menu issue.
     
  17. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
    How?
     
  18. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,320
    Likes Received:
    93
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    Well, start menu has been working fine for a couple days and several reboots (so far) after trying this reg edit:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\WpnUserService

    There is a 'Start' entry in right pane with 0x00000002(2) value. Change it to 0x00000004(4) and reboot.

    Again, its been 2 days and several reboots later, no problem. Maybe its premature to call it a fix since we've seen other fixes that last only a few days then problem reappears.
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,914
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970
  20. Braxen

    Braxen Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    It also shows up as in some kind of error state with the "sc queryex" command, other services don't.

    Edit:
    So KB4051963 makes the machine not boot up after updating, pretty difficult to troubleshoot :/
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2017 at 10:47 AM

Share This Page