Oblivion Issues :(

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Blackmoon_, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I bought Oblivion yesterday and when I tried it out I encountered a strange error:

    Anytime the game autosaves or gives me a new objective the screen goes black. I still get sound and can see the UI, but it's like it stops drawing anything 3D. After some more testing it appears to do it over time reguardless of the auto saves and objectives aswell.

    Anyone know what the problem is?

    Driver/Game Verison :

    Oblivion version: 1.1.511

    Forceware version: 91.33

    System Specs:

    CPU: Pentium D 945 3.4 Ghz, 800 Mhz FSB, 2x 2MB cache
    Graphics card: Evga Nvidia Geforce 7800 GTX 512 MB (550Mhz, 1700 MHz memory)
    Sound Card: Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
    RAM: 1 GB DDR 400
     
  2. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GeForce 6800GT, OCed
    Did you run DriverCleaner the last time you updated the graphics drivers?

    If so, DL a slightly older Forceware version, run DC again, then install the card with the older driver.

    That should help.

    If you did NOT use DC previously, uninstall the driver with it, reboot, then reinstall the 91.33 drivers.

    Good luck!
     
  3. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup tried that. Still has the same error.
     
  4. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,133
    Likes Received:
    537
    GPU:
    3080, KD55XD800
    Are you by small chance, using Windows Vista?
     

  5. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh, no.

    Windows XP Professional with SP2
     
  6. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    -
    did you install any mods or edit the config manually? if so put it back to normal!!

    See if turning off HDR stops the problem, helped some ppl when the game first came out but it's not really a fix, just a workaround.

    I used to get this exact same problem but I'm not getting it any more, not sure why
     
  7. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have any mods installed.

    I'll try it without HDR, but I like HDR. :(

    I hope they patch it soon.
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2006
  8. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup tried it without HDR and it works perfectly.

    Thanks.
     
  9. TheBoss84

    TheBoss84 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 + GTX 970
    Its weird. I havent had a single problem with oblivion. Not a crash errors etc. Maybe its because i have the german version.
     
  10. Dojomann

    Dojomann Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,628
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 275 896MB
    i have no problems with crashing until i stuff the game with like 100 mods. then the problems arise lol
     

  11. Vortex1212

    Vortex1212 Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Nvidia 6600GT 128MB - SLI Ready
    ummm... i uno... but for some reason i hve a 6600GT and am able to play Oblivion with HDR on... and get a smooth 30+ fps.... so Blackmoon_ i think de game shud work with HDR on for u without nd probz... jus for ur info ok... :)
     
  12. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    -
    It could be a driver issue; I'm using 91.36 without problems whatsoever, and self shadowing is working properly too, unlike when the game first came out.
     
  13. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    2080ti
    The screen turning black with HDR and an Nvidia card is an issue Oblivion has sometimes. It has something to do with the game choosing the wrong renderer.
    I believe there was a thread on the ES forums having a solution, try to search there (or somebody here remembers it I'd look it up for you, but I can't use the search function as I'm banned for unknown reasons there :()

    :edit:
    Found it here.
    Let us know if it works!
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2006
  14. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    RLY? U FINK S0 TOO?!1!?

    Aren't the 91.36 for quad SLI or something? According to nzone 91.33 is the latest beta driver, and the latest official driver is 91.31 which is possibly the worst driver Nvidia has ever released.

    Awesome man, that totally fixed it! Thanks :)
     
  15. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    2080ti
    Great, nice to see it worked for you!
     

  16. Blackmoon_

    Blackmoon_ Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dang it worked all day yesterday, got on it today and it started doing it again...

    EDIT: Updated to 91.47 drivers still get the black screen.... -_-
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2006
  17. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,454
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    2080ti
    Blast! Well, only thing I can say is: try different shader packages, I really don't know what else to do :(

    Strange thing is, I never used the fix and I used to get black screens sometimes (but not that often though) and they haven't occured for months now.......
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2006

Share This Page