nVidia's FXAA mode (anti-aliasing)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by TheHunter, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,663
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC

    Its in D3D10 folder, FXAA 3.11.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    FXAA PPI was renamed to FXAA Tool in December. You might be using an old version.


    Edit,
    OK looks like I was actually using an old build without the dxgi file.

    Just updated and hello it suddenly appears.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,663
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    This is something different with extra fx, underneath its still the same vanilla FXAA 3.11.

    O yeah you dont see this DXGI.dll because its only dx9 version of the tool. :)


    edit: ok :nerd:
     
  4. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    Yeah I should have mentioned I was referring to the version of FXAA Tool found in FXAAToolHg6.zip

    It doesn't make sense to have DXGI.dll but not work in DX10/DX11 titles. Is there any way to use FXAA Tool for DX10 titles?
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Well since that file has only been included with the latest version it's possibly a bug.

    This may interest you; http://mrhaandi.blogspot.co.nz/p/injectsmaa.html
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    109
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Well yeah maybe, but it doesn't give the extra effects FXAATOOL has. Maybe that's what he wants instead of just the AA part?

    If only someone wrote a SMAATOOL maybe? hah
     
  7. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Click the link in my last post.
     
  8. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    I am aware of InjectSMAA 1.2 and its AA quality presents. As the above poster mentioned, I want the extra effects and tweaks of FXAA.

    My goal is to be able to use FXAA tool with its extras (tone mapping, sepia, etc...) in DX10/DX11 games.

    It's confusing because the FXAA tool zip contains both a dxgi.dll and a shader.hlsl (DX10 files) right next to the d3d9.dll and shader.fx (DX9 files).
     
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Well the simple fact is that right now FXAA Tool won't work in DX10, so a compromise of SMAA may be your only choice...
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  10. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,698
    Likes Received:
    515
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    That in incorrect.

    FXAA can be used in DX10/11 games via injection, or via driver control.
     

  11. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    We're talking about the FXAATool, not FXAA in general.
     
  12. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Fixed that for you.
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,663
    Likes Received:
    1,636
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,362
    Likes Received:
    898
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    was that necessary? lol
     
  15. Strikerx80

    Strikerx80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA 980 Ti SC +120/+300
    its far less blurry than supersampling :stewpid:
     

  16. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    New version of LumaSharpen - 1.3.9

    Changes :
    - I took dynamic branching out - it was not always faster in all games, especially on Nvidia hardware and had a lower minimum framerate that the non-branching version. 1 step forward and 2 steps back. I'll add it back in once I get it right (I have some ideas for that)

    + I've made other changes to make it even faster

    * I've balanced pattern 1 and 3 to have a strength that is similar to pattern 2 (the default) - Pattern 1 needed a stronger effect and pattern 3 a weaker one. This means that if you try out a different sampling pattern the strength should be similar to what you were using before, so you shouldn't have to retweak sharp_strength.

    * I've also begun balancing pattern 4 but need to do more testing to ensure I've hit the right strength.

    * The default strength was changed to 1.0 because I got reports from some people that they were unsure if it was on or not. A stronger default setting should fix that. Remember to change it to suit your own tastes (on a per-game basis).

    EDIT: It also includes two debug settings : splitscreen and show_sharpen

    splitscreen shows a splitscreen image with a before and after (lumasharpen) side

    show_sharpen multiplies the sharpen effect by 4 and adds it to a greyscale tone - this way you can see where the sharpen effect is and how strong it is .. though exagerated by 400% - otherwise it's hard to see because it's so subtle.

    These debug functions are useful for me when developing and may be useful for people tweaking their settings.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2012
  17. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    ^Can this be combined with inject FXAA?
     
  18. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Yes.

    In fact I just compiled my first working alpha version 2 days ago and I'm working on it right now.

    Soon..
     
  19. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Here is InjectSMAAmod

    I've just made it easy to use custom SMAA settings, by including a SMAA_settings.h file and telling the injector to use it.

    I've tweaked the default settings to be a little less demanding that the HIGH preset and made it easier on text and UI, by setting corner rounding to 0.

    On Jorge Jimenez's site there is SMAA demo application, that will allow you to play with the different settings and see the changes to the image live.
    It's very helpful for figuring out what the settings do and finding a good custom preset.
    http://www.iryoku.com/smaa/downloads/SMAA-DX10-v2.7.exe

    I'm still working on merging Lumasharpen with antialiasing (FXAA and/or SMAA) and other effects.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2012
  20. Infanticide

    Infanticide Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon R7 260X 2GB
    Nice! Can I edit smaa_settings.h to my liking? I mean, I know I can, but will it have any effect?
     

Share This Page