nVidia's FXAA mode (anti-aliasing)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by TheHunter, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    212
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    It works pretty well from what i've tested. Though the 301.24 driver is buggy for me though.
     
  2. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    It seems to be really hit and miss, and combining it with 4xMSAA (or 8xMSAA if possible) is essential for it to look really good.

    Are people with 600 series cards getting better results?
     
  3. MechWarrior

    MechWarrior Master Guru

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Classified Sli OC
    Just downloaded the new betas and gave fxaa a try. So far so good. It's working well in all the games I've enabled it in. What I really like though, is the fact that we can now have AA in those few games that flat out don't support it at little performance cost.
     
  4. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3090 FTW3
    I've been using 2x SGSSAA combined with driver FXAA (provided I can find bits that don't conflict) and am getting really good quality to performance rates on a single gtx680 for full screen AA. I know I could push it a bit higher, but I prefer solid 60fps in games with vsync on and and more than happy taking a small amount of blur to do so.
     

  5. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    With which version of fxaa do this LumaSharpen works hg5, rev 37 ?

    From which file does game reads settings: injFxaaSettings.h or UserSettings.h ?

    Finally: is it possible to use Fxaa injection on KOTOR (rpg, opengl game) with some dx wrapper ?
    Thx
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    212
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  7. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    All the injFxaa releases use the same d3d9.dll injector - and Lumasharpen uses this too.

    I'm busy with other stuff at the moment but once I resume working on Lumasharpen I plan to port it to ENBseries, because both the FXAA injector and the SMAA injector does not allow for custom shaders that require multiple passes - ENBseries does.
    It also lets you call a second injector afterwards so I should be able to combine all the injfxaa effects and lumasharpen with SMAA.

    The LumaSharpen settings are in Lumasharpen.h - read the lumasharpen.txt too.

    It might be possible to use DX shaders with OpenGL games if you use both a OpenGL -> DX9 wrapper and your favourite DX9 shader injector.
    Try it and let us know how it goes.
     
  8. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    I have already tried with http://sourceforge.net/projects/dxglwrap/ but doesn't work.
     
  9. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Probably because it's an OpenGL to DX8 wrapper. You need an OpenGL to DX9 wrapper for it to work.

    Try TitaniumGL
     
  10. pdxmark

    pdxmark Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI & Nvidia
    I'm going to do some testing with 301.42 & DayZ on my rig... Will be back with statistics in a day or so!
     

  11. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    Hi, I'm looking information.
    I want to make my own dx9 wrapper for injecting glossy shaders for Torchlight/2.
    Here is link
    http://www.eriksdigitalportfolio.com/2012/bumpy-glossy-shader-in-ogre3d/
    There are 2 files bumpyglossy.material, bumpyglossy.hlsl which are need to be hooked via dxd9.dll into game.

    Does anybody knows how to contact [some dude],BeetleatWar1977, [DKT70],Violator,fpedace to add this shader in injectFXAAsettings.ini ?

    Myabe it is possible to hook this shader into textures in other engines?
    Thx
    CeeJay.dk do you know how to do this ?
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2012
  12. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    To apply a shader to an object in worldspace you need a Directx9/10/OpenGL proxy dll that supports this.
    [Some Dude]'s injector doesn't and neither does injectSMAA.
    You will need their developers to implement the feature into their dll's.
    I don't know how to contact them.

    ENBseries also doesn't, but it can replace shaders in a game with it's own, so if you're unsatisfied with an existing glossy shader in Torchlight, you can replace it with another. The feature in ENBseries to do this is new and poorly documented though, so I suggest asking the developer about it.

    VoodooShader seems like it supports material shaders, but it's in alpha testing and it may or may not work. Give it a try.

    You will still need to port the glossy effect from Ogre3D to the framework you choose, but if you have made shaders before, that shouldn't be too hard.
     
  13. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    Thx I'll try voodoo.
    I just want to inject reflection shader on texture (no SMAA, NO FXAA). Something like this:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    79
    GPU:
    0
    Tried SMAA injector and I still prefer FXAA. In crysis 2 dx11 + MaldoHD SMAA provides a little bit sharper textures in the distance but skipps way to many lines. Especialy vegetation and trees look like there is no AA.

    So far I'm only using FXAA. But not fxaa injector or fxaa that you can choose in games, only FXAA in Nv control panel. FXAA in games, especially at "HIGH" add too much blur.

    FXAA (nv cnotrol panel) vs MSAA4 ? In new games difference is very subtle, only visible if you come close to monitor. The difference is more pronounced in older games, textures starts to blur in the distance, it looks like Anisofiltering 4x compated to x16.
    But in my opinion its good trade, no performance loss and almost no aliasing. Games like crysis 2 and gta4 looks much beter now :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2012
  15. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    Any ideas why FXAA_Tool does not work for DX11 titles (despite having a dxgi.dll) but the DX10 folder of FXAA PPI works?
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    212
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    FXAATOOL is only for DX9 I thought? You can use FXAA Injector with DX11/10 titles with the DXGI.dll or whatever it is. But i'm pretty sure FXAATOOL is DX9 only
     
  17. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    The readme says it's DX9 only but then why does it include a DXGI.dll?
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    212
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    hm. Maybe it's a newer or modified version? I remember seeing posts about how it could be modified for DX10+ but I never saw any build that did.

    Did you check the log file?
     
  19. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    There's no DXGI file in my FXAA folder....what version do u have?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012
  20. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,272
    Likes Received:
    1,990
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC

    Its in D3D10 folder, FXAA 3.11.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2012

Share This Page