nVidia's FXAA mode (anti-aliasing)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by TheHunter, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  2. Xtreme512

    Xtreme512 Master Guru

    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    RTX3070Ti
    holy $h!t !!! its like youare using 16X TRSSAA.. look at these palm tress, they are so smooth ! its amazing... now im thinking about playing crysis warhead once more :D lol... why didnt they built FXAA in 2007s ? its a shame :D :D

    ---

    I saw images of crysis warhead with FXAA 3.11 too its really perfect... I wonder if SMAA 1.2 @ultra qualtity preset works in that way too ? can you test it with the SMAA 1.2 too but be sure that its at ultra preset ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2012
  3. kuddles

    kuddles New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Powercolor 7970
    Hey, could you possibly tell me what your settings are at? I feel like I've been fooling around with the sharpen, blur, etc. levels for way too much time trying to find the ideal balance, although I haven't used it with Crysis yet.
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah, I have sharpening turned off and just FXAA (because there isn't a "FXAA-Tool" that i'm aware of for DX10,; just the old injectors.)

    Here's a .rar with the one I used.
    Just drop the contents into your Crysis main folder. Let the Bin32 copy to Bin32. And then start the game up and do the usual "print screen" button to activate/deactivate.

    http://kiwi6.com/file/89s8t9of76


    As for the rest of the game. I used a customized autoexec.cfg (that was originally from some ToD mod that i've modified heavily with many other things)
    with a bunch of mods to make it near constant 30FPS @1080p on my OC'd 460 V1(Max voltage,900Mhz Core- 2100Mhz Memory)

    By the way, does anyone know if there is an Injector out based on FXAA 3.9 yet?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2012

  5. Licaon

    Licaon Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX660Ti-OC
  6. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Yeah well everything I have (FXAA TOOL, Old Injectors , Injectors for DX10, etc) all use 3.11.

    You'd think since Timothy lottes released the source to 3.9 (didn't he?) that people would snatch it right up and turn it into an injector just like the older ones. *shrug*
     
  7. Licaon

    Licaon Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX660Ti-OC
    Ok, what part of "3.11 is the LATEST version" was misunderstood? What does the OLDER 3.9 version have that you need?
     
  8. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
  9. Life On Mars

    Life On Mars Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    No System
    Um, is Catalyst 11.9 older than Catalyst 11.2 then? No and I think his naming scheme works in the same way mate.
     
  10. Kanisteri

    Kanisteri New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX 970
    11 is greater than 9... If it'd work the way you think, it would be 3.1.1, not 3.11.
     

  11. Licaon

    Licaon Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX660Ti-OC
    The numbering scheme is his choice, that's why I said the first time that 3.11 is newer so we'd skip these 4 posts :p ( if possible )

    And yes, 4.0 is in development.
     
  12. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    207
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    /pointless frustration.
    [​IMG]

    Would've been less confusing for it to just be ,3.09, 3.10,3.11,3.12....4.0.

    But /shrug. It doesn't matter in the end I guess
     
  13. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    :eek: Where and how did you find that in the dll?

    Here is the key code page btw.:
    http://orlando.mvps.org/SendKeysMore.asp

    I guess you didn't manage to decompile it to a complete source thou, else I would love to know how that is possible, lol.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012
  14. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    In injector.ini.
     
  15. Mojojoe

    Mojojoe Member Guru

    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    :
    They are version numbers, not decimal amounts. It's been standard for a good few decades now ;)
     

  16. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    346
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Ah not FXAA then, I started to wonder.
     
  17. jfolds

    jfolds Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce 470
    anyway to make it work for x64 executables?
     
  18. heymian

    heymian Master Guru

    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    how does FXAA work with transparency antialiasing and gamma correction antialiasing? does FXAA have it's own method of doing this or would I need to adjust these two settings in my control panel. would that even work?
     
  19. Cyrosis

    Cyrosis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    HD4000
    Post process AA like FXAA and SMAA will smooth ANYTHING detected as aliasing, so transparency aliasing is smoothed the same as anything else in the scene.
     
  20. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,026
    Likes Received:
    1,322
    GPU:
    2070 Super

Share This Page