Nvidia WHQL 301.10 is now live.

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by HeavyHemi, Mar 22, 2012.

  1. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,364
    Likes Received:
    902
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    nope. tearing occurs even at a locked constant fps of the refresh rate.
     
  2. Li4m79

    Li4m79 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,155
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
    same here
     
  3. Wonter

    Wonter New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus570/Asus440PhysX
    Hello Guru3d members , my Asus570 is in RMA process and im having problems with modifying those drivers for Geforce 440 can some one help me please?

    Thank You

    Kindly Regards

    Wonter
     
  4. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    497
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Tearing can occur when the framerate is lower than the refresh rate too! Haven't you ever played a capped 30 fps console game such as Gears of War on a 60 Hz HDTV? (Incidentally that game was the first to use 'soft' or adaptive v-sync back in 2006) ;)

    If a game is capped at a constant 60 fps on a 60 Hz display then it will never tear (even if v-sync is disabled) because the screen will refresh exactly once for every frame sent to it (60 Hz/60 fps = 1). However, if it dips below 60 fps then it may result in visible tearing where the framerate is not a factor of 60 (i.e. not 10, 15, 20 or 30 fps). I've seen this happen in RAGE while driving around using its Smart V-sync option (the equivalent of this Adaptive V-sync): when the framerate was 60 fps, which was most of the time, then the game never tore at all. But when it dipped below 60 fps there was the odd tear.
     

  5. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,529
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Damn, wish i was on my own system so i could i could try these.

    Sounds like a good solution to me, as surely if you use it and get tearing then the card is struggling to maintain the framerate anyway.

    Might give it a shot at 50hz, it's only racing games that i notice the 10fps drop anyway, and should be alot easier for my card to maintain.
     
  6. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    The driver was only meant for the 680, next driver out will probably be for all cards.

    http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/introducing-the-geforce-gtx-680-gpu/
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  7. samappz

    samappz Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual Nvidia 680M SLI
    awaiting mobility mod ):
     
  8. devillucifer

    devillucifer New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Firepro / m8900 / 2GB
    same ! looking all over the net .. no mobility mod yet !
    for my Quadro 3000m and quadro 4000m card.
     
  9. Yoshimatsu414

    Yoshimatsu414 Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI Geforce GTX 560
    I'm loving this Adaptive Vsync. Goodwork Nvidia.
     
  10. Verios

    Verios Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 7950
    I hate to be a bother but I was looking at how to add a custom INF to try these drivers and it seems a bit confusing to me.

    I have an ASUS GeForce GTX 560 ti and was able to grab this from the hardware ID tab:

    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1200&SUBSYS_83901043

    Could someone explain where I go from here?
     

  11. devillucifer

    devillucifer New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Firepro / m8900 / 2GB
    edit : it's installing and everything but failed during remove and install new driver ! lolz .. guess i messed up.. oh well gonna try again.

    I followed this guide and done it myself ! :D pretty easy

    http://www.technoish.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/modify-nvidia-noteboook-driver.png

    copy and paste those lines (related to the id of your card, can be stored in different INF mine is from nvdm.inf) from your 296.10 to 301.10

    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.0]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1180% = Section004, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1180
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A% = Section004, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1180
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.04A4.1028% = Section018, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0E3A&SUBSYS_04A41028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.14A4.1028% = Section068, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0E3A&SUBSYS_14A41028

    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1180% = Section033, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1180
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.04A4.1028% = Section018, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0E3A&SUBSYS_04A41028
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.14A4.1028% = Section068, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0E3A&SUBSYS_14A41028

    and don't forget the strings below the line of gtx 680

    NVIDIA_DEV.1180 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.04A4.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro 3000M"
    NVIDIA_DEV.0E3A.14A4.1028 = "NVIDIA Quadro 3000M "
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  12. Verios

    Verios Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 7950
    296.10 Drivers don't even seem to find anything remotely related to my Hardware ID string from Device Manager (strange!); hrm!

    From looking at nvidia inspector, I've also found:

    Device ID: 10DE - 1200

    Subvendor: ASUS (1043)



    I was able to get it to work, woot! Here was the information from my card that I used:


    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.0]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1200% = Section004, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1200&SUBSYS_83901043

    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1200% = Section015, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1200&SUBSYS_83901043

    [Strings]
    NVIDIA_DEV.1200 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti"
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  13. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,148
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    No, I don't play with consoles.
    Neither is it tearing, since tearing is a side effect of multiple frames in the same draw.
    Can only do that by throwing more frames at the display than it's refresh rate can handle.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012
  14. LesserHellspawn

    LesserHellspawn Master Guru

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2x GTX980ti
    Always those driver games with new cards out. They had 570/580 only drivers initially as well. Meh, the 301.10 run without issues on my 460 SLI pair. FSAA and adaptive Vsync seem to work alright. Just one oddity occurred during installation: Windows reported non-WHQL.
     
  15. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Happens when you modify the inf
     

  16. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    I'll be using this without modifying them as I bought an EVGA GTX680, can't wait for it to arrive tomorrow!!

    Then I'll get the 2nd one in a week or two. :D
     
  17. samappz

    samappz Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual Nvidia 680M SLI
    Can someone please modify this INF with all the devices that laptopvideo2go has. Not working for my laptop.
     
  18. ZebMacahan

    ZebMacahan Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080 Ti
    Anyone else having trouble with SLI not working in Alan Wake with these? After installing 301.10 it uses only one of my GTX 580's.
     
  19. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,678
    Likes Received:
    1,545
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    these seem like great drivers for my card. keepers for now
     
  20. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    497
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Has anyone looked at the profiles with these drivers (export using NVIDIA's GeForce SLI Tool or NVIDIA Inspector)? They look really odd... here's an example:

    Profile "Adrenix"
    ShowOn GeForce
    ProfileType Application
    Executable "adrenixd.exe"
    Setting ID_0x701eb457 = 0x2241ab21 InternalSettingFlag=V0
    Setting ID_0x702c861a = 0x65065888 InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x703c4026 = "ⶬ䂝驐윛౶펰텂㛜뉂핷鎲몔쑆" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x7049c7ec = "웮ꑢ쫐₰" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x704cde5a = "舓⟙܈" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x7051e5f5 = "籮鸙" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    Setting ID_0x7058b6e1 = 0x6e0326f9 InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x705fafec = "웮ꑵ쫙₈쁰�㒫傢婊籯鸹灰땁᥿厈�븞ᰒ뽉襂" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x706c7030 = "핆鎲몐쑟﹦쁽㗈鱙稢罍ᕟ䋾᩵榞鲘⏉ꣾ捔㋪揞�趈㕈뇨긁毹⃲⳶礷ᶕ" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    Setting ID_0x708db8c5 = 0x22af9329 InternalSettingFlag=V0
    Setting ID_0x709a1ddf = 0x4b1cd969 InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x709cc5e0 = "䭝⚻湗㿻㶄䑎鋣쫇徯욚ꐞ쫠" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    SettingString ID_0x70b5603f = "榻鳈⏹ꢗ" InternalSettingFlag=V0
    Setting ID_0x70edb381 = 0x24208b4f InternalSettingFlag=V0
    EndProfile


    What's with all the strange symbols? Is it because the tools are no longer compatible? When I imported the text file into Notepad++ it hung for a few seconds during the Compare function.

    *EDIT*
    No wonder Notepad++ hung for a while... the new profiles are 3.86 MB in size compared with 794 MB for my saved profiles from the 296.10 WHQL drivers!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2012

Share This Page