1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia SLI Guide

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. shiokarai

    shiokarai Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x Titan X Pascal
    I've read the article, thanks! But it's about GPU computing without SLI, and there are actually 2 Xeon motherboards I'm aware of, that officially support quad SLI: ASUS z10pe-d8 ws and Supermicro X10DRG-Q. Both offers enough x16 PCI-E 3.0 slots to provide full x16/x16/x16/x16 quad SLI (assuming using 2 CPUs)... but is it really needed to get proper SLI scaling at 5k or 4xDSR etc.? Does it matter? Shame there are actually no benchmarks to answer this question anywhere.
     
  2. Bloodred217

    Bloodred217 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
    Yeah, looks like I was wrong. The manual of the Asus board says there are 2 x16 slots per CPU, I wonder how they're handling PCIe communication between different CPUs, that article suggests that there's quite a bit of added latency and the bandwidth suffers too, very interesting.

    I'm not sure what sort of b/w you need with 3/4 way SLI, but with x8/x8 activating things like TAA at 4K in Witcher 3 for instance brings SLI scaling down from ~90% to ~60% for me, so take that as you will.
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2016
  3. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Interesting SLI for Steep 0x2A0117F5 (Debug Mode AFR-FriendlyD3D + Possible Hints, Steep)
     
  4. PurSpyk!!

    PurSpyk!! Master Guru

    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX Titan X Sli
    SLi for Darksiders Warmastered Edition?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016

  5. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    Asus X99-E-10G WS board supports 4 way SLI at x16/x16/x16/x16
     
  6. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Titanfall 2 added in 376.19 driver. simple 0x000000F5.
    I would like a better one for steep but its having problems in 4k at the moment anyway with texture popping/corrupt textues where that problem isnt there in 1440p. wondered if that was a SLI issue from the existing 0x2A0117F5 profile since it seems a odd choice.
     
  7. remicius

    remicius Master Guru

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Ti
    r u joking?
     
  8. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    Did Nvidia changed bits for WD 2 on 376.19 ? Or it's 0x00......5 again ?

    Maybe they've added some stuff at bottom (hidden, advanced flags) ?

    Please someone checks so I don't have to dl again for nothing..
     
  9. Assnfiks

    Assnfiks New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti Sli
    No, its still 0x00000005 (Futuremark System Diagnosis Tool, Endless City, Imagine 3D, Watch Dogs 2, D3DRightMark)
    Same, as the last driver. A few drivers ago WD2 had this 0x0A0117F5 (Watch Dogs 2), but this bit has flickering.
     
  10. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    MAybe then they added some flags at bottom ? Because they did write on notes about "updated SLI profile" .

    If you are willing please share it via Inspector (pm me if you want)

    Thanx


    Most important..any boost on performance due to update..?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016

  11. PurSpyk!!

    PurSpyk!! Master Guru

    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX Titan X Sli
    Nope, should I?
     
  12. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,335
    Likes Received:
    854
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Yeah?

    That game looks bad plus it has 100 fps cap.

    A Low-end 950 card can easily max it out.
     
  13. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Actually, you should have a look at the custom SLI profile for Watch Dogs 2 posted in the 3DCenter SLI thread instead.
    Just download the .zip archive at the bottom of the post, extract it and import the .nip file using NVIDIA Profile Inspector:
    https://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=11227123&postcount=2434

    I have also added this information to my master list spreadsheet:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4908843#post4908843
     
  14. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080Ti
    Steep updated its profile from 0x2A0117F5 to 0x2A0117F1 no difference really.
     
  15. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    That is because these profiles are "identical" for 2-way SLI.
    F1 = 2-way, F6 = up to 3-way, F5 = up to 4-way

    NVIDIA just limited the game to only use 2 GPU's with this profile change.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016

  16. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    Thank you.

    Also, any latest CustomSettingNames_en-EN.xml ?

    (than this I mean,
    https://github.com/DarkStarSword/3d-fixes/blob/master/CustomSettingNames_en-EN.xml)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
  17. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2016
  18. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    After a 3 hours gameplay I see some performance boost but (as author already said) not on cpu intensive areas where you can't do anything more.
    However I found that B5 (with sli hack) seems very..aggressive flag, increasing temps up to +12. (official max was ~75 ,
    custom goes up to ~86 !! )

    Will test further.. though it proves that there is space for improvements.
     
  19. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Naturally a more aggressive SLI profile both increases GPU load and temperatures, especially in a game as graphically demanding as Watch Dogs 2 :)
    Some direct FPS comparisons would be interesting though?
     
  20. CK the Greek

    CK the Greek Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,275
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x970,Gsync,3DVsn2
    No fps comparison, too boring for me, however
    I played for almost 3 hours with official (376.09) profile and guess what, early 80s -for 1st gpu- on temps..
    so now I will try again the tweaks and see how it goes.

    But yes, WD 2 is the most demanding game so far for my PC (due to early stage of it? who knows..)
    and for this game only I had to OV a bit gpus (25mV tested,now I will test with 15mV). I have the running with no OV @ 1430Mhz core and never had/have any issues with any game so far but now due to more voltage they went to 1443, lol.

    Everything plays its role with temperature.. at the end seems that I keep an Afterburner profile only for this one with overvolt.

    got to say this game has nice visuals for screenshots..
    but on 1080p with TXAAx2+smaa still can't fight aliasing..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2016

Share This Page