1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVidia SLI Guide

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Sounds excellent :)
    Please check for any visual glitches, flickering or other problems though.
    If you make a couple screenshot comparisons with FPS numbers, I would love to add it to the spreadsheet.
     
  2. N1GhTW4lK3R

    N1GhTW4lK3R Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI 980Ti
    As you can read here, it seems that Sli scaling in BF1 doesnt work properly when Gsync is enable. This happen to me and many other people from what i see.

    Why Nvidia does nothig for fix that?
     
  3. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    Working Skyrim SE SLI Profile!

    [deleted post]

    yah profile for Skyrim seems impossible without Nvidia investigating. I found a setting that looked fine without any glitches but scaling was horrible.

    All the settings that performed well had flickering...

    Thought it was best to remove the settings I had posted as they aren't working.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2016
  4. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    These do absolutely nothing on a DX11 app.

    Any application that isn't DX10 will ignore these options.
     

  5. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080Ti
    Oh ok I had thought it applied to DX10/11. I'll mess with it more tonight after work. Still need to figure out why there is some flickering.
     
  6. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Nope.

    But SLI rendering mode(very bottom) does.

    I don't get why you are trying to force Quad SLI with two cards(if you don't have 4 cards it will ignore that regardless) :infinity:
     
  7. PurSpyk!!

    PurSpyk!! Master Guru

    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti X Sli
    Makes the game take forever to load a save game, and there is a terrible flicker.
     
  8. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Actually both predefined # of GPUs and predefined SLI mode do nothing, they are simply 'descriptor' settings. :)

    You are right that SLI rendering mode does work, however setting this to anything but autoselect will override SLI compatibility bits.
     
  9. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    These settings are designed to "allow" up to 4-way SLI mode with AFR rendering in DX10 and DX11.
    However in nearly all games, you also need to specify a custom SLI profile and in some cases use "undefined" SLI functions to get trouble-free and optimal scaling without graphics glitches.

    The Skyrim profile posted is really not useful.
    It uses way too many unnecessary SLI functions, that do more harm than good.
    Only "0x080020F5" combined with temporal AA disabled can be used, but only with various flickering and ghosting issues.
    So this really can't be recommended either.
    Better to just play in single GPU mode or wait for an official profile from NVIDIA.
     
  10. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Anyone tried getting SLI to work in planet coaster?

    Edit:
    0x2C0120F5

    Gives 90-95% scaling. Pretty nice, no issues as of yet.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2016

  11. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2x 2080Ti Sli
    <script

    COD IW SLI profile fixed? Or will this be ignored like it doesn't exist?
     
  12. BangTail

    BangTail Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,590
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080 Ti XC
    I don't think it's fixed, still a stuttering, flickering mess.

    Disabled it through the profile and lowered res for smooth results.

    The SP campaign was really good, shame they couldn't get SLI working before release, not acceptable for AAA games imho.
     
  13. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Could you try just "0x080000F5" and "0x080020F5" and take a couple screenshot comparisons with FRAPS, MSI Afterburner or similar running?
    Then I will add the game to my spreadsheet for proper documentation :)
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=392715
     
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Will try later when i get home.

    That is the bits for overwatch, sadly after a bit i get bad flickering.

    Sucks because it gives perfect scaling.
    Maybe it can be modified to get working correctly.

    I believe it's using the Unity Engine.
     
  15. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    For simplicity I recommend trying just "0x080000F5".
    It might be DX11 SLI bit #13 causing the flickering.

    This is used in for example the "0x080020F5" profile as well as the Overwatch profile.
    The "2" in this profile enables it.
     

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    http://imgur.com/a/kb5fs

    There's pics.

    I have been using the batman Origins bits since i found the flickering.
    Hours with no issues.

    From the Pics, the only negative issue is that shadows are darker. Not a big issue.

    SLI off = 48 FPS
    0x080000F5 = 77 FPS
    0x080020F5 = 80
    0x080222F5 = 80

    No visual differences observed from those bits. Last two bits give a 6% increase.
    Scaling is roughly 67%

    Overwatch bits = 91 FPS but of course bad flickering.
    It gives an impressive 90% scaling.
     
  17. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Good work, I think "0x080000F5" should be a good safe solution then.
    Sometimes it is necessary to make such small compromises in performance to get issue free SLI scaling.

    Perhaps you could do me one last favor, and try "0x280020F5", "0x280000F5" and "0x080120F5" also?
    One of these profiles might give improved scaling without the flickering issues.
     
  18. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    858
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    0x2

    This bit '2' causes massive flickering, but gives 15~% better scaling.

    0x080120F5 this bit looks the same and same FPS as 0x080000F5.


    0x080122F5 this one adds +2fps(6%) with no issues to report.
     
  19. shiokarai

    shiokarai Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x Titan X Pascal
    Regarding previous posts about bandwidth limitation....

    Would going from x99 40 lanes cpu -> dual xeons 2x40 lanes fix any possible PCIE bandwidth limitation when using 3 or 4 gpus? (3-way sli, quad sli)? The general consensus from almost any review out there is that x8/x8 is enough in terms of bandwidth required to fully utilize both gpus (same for 3- 4- setups).

    Also, is there any thread/guide etc. covering 3 way and quad SLI using pascal cards? I know there's one here on the forums but it only covers hardware aspects and there's also software limitations to overcome.
     
  20. Bloodred217

    Bloodred217 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
    That's an interesting question, but I don't think I've ever seen gaming benchmarks on a system like that. It's probably not as simple as looking at the number of lanes available, as you'd need to know what sort of latency and bandwidth you can get from PCIe on CPU1 to PCIe on CPU2. I'm not even sure SLI is designed to work that way, I'd be very careful about dumping significant sums into potentially low clock Xeons just to get PCIe lanes for gaming.

    I actually googled a bit since I was curious and found this article: http://www.cirrascale.com/blog/index.php/exploring-the-pcie-bus-routes/

    It's about GPU compute, but if you read the first part (before they get into using Infiniband) they say that GPUs on separate CPUs won't even be able to talk to each other directly, as such I'd be 99.99% convinced that quad SLI in this sort of configuration wouldn't even work, seeing how it's meant for consumer use on consumer motherboards (and isn't supported for Pascal anyway, but that's a different story).
     

Share This Page