NVIDIA Releases Firmware Update Tool To Support DisplayPort 1.3 and 1.4 Displays

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 6, 2018.

  1. wavetrex

    wavetrex Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    Uhkay, it's updated.
    Computer didn't break.

    I'm still lonely and miserable.
    This wasn't the miracle cure for all life's problems. Sad.
     
    Maddness, toyo and cryohellinc like this.
  2. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,404
    Likes Received:
    2,758
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT/ MAC M1
    Also updated, all seems good.
     
  3. lucasfrance

    lucasfrance Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti + 1080
    For cards with dual bios, does it update both bios or the standard one only ???
     
  4. davido6

    davido6 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Rx5700xt
    said needed it but failed doing so :(
     

  5. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,929
    Likes Received:
    721
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    MSI Afterburner appears to be fine for me after updating.

    Edit: Nevermind, it's gone full retard and my clocks are screwed.

    Reinstalling fixed it, clocks were locked at 1884MHz then re-applying my settings locked it to 1600MHz, weird. After re-installation it shows as 2012MHz which is within normal range for my settings.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2018
  6. maize1951

    maize1951 Master Guru

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 8GB
    It makes a GTX 970 into a GTX 1070, right? :D
     
    Maddness likes this.
  7. toyo

    toyo Master Guru

    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    204
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070Ti 8G
    It said my 1070ti has an "already updated" firmware. It's still the default original Gigabyte Vbios, they never released any updates, strangely, so they must have been coded everything perfectly the very first try /s
    Although I only wanted to see if I needed the update, since I don't have an HDR monitor, doubt I'll ever buy into that until it's as mainstream as LED, for example.
     
  8. zimzoid

    zimzoid Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    2xEVGA980TiSC+(H20) Swift
    HDR not for me not really liking the effect
     
  9. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,436
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    You might as well say it unlocks the last 0.5 GB VRAMs full bandwidth :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2018
    sammarbella and Embra like this.
  10. coth

    coth Master Guru

    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    61
    GPU:
    KFA2 2060 Super EX
    They better make HDR support for DP 1.2...
     

  11. Fierce Guppy

    Fierce Guppy Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 980 / 4GB
    The firmware update left the factory overclocked defaults on my Aorus 1080Ti untouched.
     
  12. Fierce Guppy

    Fierce Guppy Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    2 x GTX 980 / 4GB
    On the Asus Rampage V Extreme, when the CSM option in BIOS is enabled, video is outputted to HDMI until Windows is loaded and then the video gets routed to the Displayport. I was 99% sure it was a motherboard BIOS bug, and now I'm certain of it...
     
  13. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,354
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB
    I don't have a Monitor that uses DisplayPort 1.3/1.4 but i ran the update anyways.

    Closed MSI Afterburner and every other program i didn't need. Got a couple of black screens during the process and had to reboot for completion.

    (my monitor was connected via DisplayPort during the update)
     
  14. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    It's most likely not the latest GOP version.

    There have been multiple GOP updates since release, probably around 10 of them.

    As long as you have the minimum version(not sure when it was added, just say version 4 for example) then it will say it's not required to update.

    Download this https://www.win-raid.com/file.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Ffiles.homepagemodules.de%2Fb602300%2Ff16t892p45571n2_KQZpkECT.rar&r=&content=RE%3A_AMD_and_Nvidia_GOP_update

    Dump your bios with NVFLASH( command is " nvflash --save x.rom"

    Then drag your bios to the GOPUpd.bat file.

    It will list info about your GPU bios and list GOP version.
    Check the version; latest is version 3000A for pascal.
     
    toyo likes this.
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,212
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Or Nvidia knew something and didn't use the latest, those listed there could be buggy for all we know.
     

  16. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    No chance.

    Brand new cards come with newer versions.

    Besides, GOP firmware is relatively simple; not much to be 'buggy'.
    Newer is better anyways, chances of better compatibility with hardware and OS, faster booting etc.
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,212
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Then why didn't Nvidia use the latest?

    I saw pascal users got the same as me.. January 2017.


    And for very latest you have to use that funky tool, Looked a bit complicated compared to Nvidia's click and install
     
  18. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    Who knows why they don't use the latest.

    As for it being complicated, it's not.

    All you do is drag your vbios file to the GOPUpd.bat file.

    It asks you if you want to update it, you press Y.

    It saves it as a Vbios_updgop.rom
    Then you flash it.

    Benefit of the program is that it does not matter if it's modded or not.
    Very simple procedure.
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,212
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I see, did you update yours to very latest?

    Any changes compared to January 2017?
     
  20. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,408
    Likes Received:
    922
    GPU:
    ASUS 3080 Strix H20
    I've updated at least a half dozen via that utility with no issues.

    My personal rig and my 1060laptop are updated with no issues.

    There is no changelog for the public.
     

Share This Page