Nvidia Reflex

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by PhazDelta, Sep 1, 2020.

  1. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    Reminds me of FastSync (or OpenGL tripple-buffering).:D
     
  2. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    Vsync latency is really low with Gallium Nine on Linux. Bluntly spoken, it seems every one else does it wrong. You won't believe it until you have witnessed it.
     
  3. disq

    disq Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
  4. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    I think almost everybody knew and kept telling others for a few decades :)eek:) how a considerable chunk of the dreaded V-Sync latency is mostly a result of some questionable design choices in Microsoft's DirectX and WDDM frameworks/susbsystems. It's just that nobody cared to do anything about this up until a few years ago (now we have AMD Anti-Lag and EnhancedSync, nVidia ULLM and Reflex, FastSync, etc, on top of FreeSync and G-Sync, etc...).
     
    BlindBison likes this.

  5. BingoBob

    BingoBob New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 Ti FT
    If you use a framerate limiter, even if it's like 240fps (96 fps above refresh), wouldn't Nvidia Reflex make the limiter pointless?

    People are recommending you limit your fps even with Reflex on and I'm extremely confused.
     
  6. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    It should be pointless in terms of lag, yes.
     
  7. Neil79

    Neil79 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 980/2070
    Does anyone get lower frame rates with Nvidia Reflex activated? As soon as I activate it I can get a 10fps drop in some areas
     
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,177
    Likes Received:
    3,142
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    expected behavior.
     
    fluidz and BlindBison like this.
  9. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,206
    Likes Received:
    731
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    is this Driver based option or GFE thing?
     
  10. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,119
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Well it's crap in Desitny2, it introduces stuttering. So I had to turn it off in its cfg xml file.

    Im using only driver low latency - on.
     

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,177
    Likes Received:
    3,142
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Game side.
     
  12. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,206
    Likes Received:
    731
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I see so game have specificly support it
     
  13. disq

    disq Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
  14. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    If it wasn't proprietary crap, I'd say it is badly missing in CyberPunk...
     
  15. janos666

    janos666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2060 6Gb
    Yeah, I sort of expected to see it in that game (on launch). They only seem to consider it for multi-player (and mainly shooter) games, sadly.
     

  16. Shadowdane

    Shadowdane Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 Suprim
    Yah i turned it off on Destiny 2.. dropped my fps and made the game stutter. Honestly since Beyond Light the game has had some performance issues. Bungie needs to sort that out!
     
    -Tj- likes this.
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,119
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Apparently they will make a fix in January,

    https://www.bungie.net/en/Forums/Post/257630620?sort=0&page=0

    Finally..


    I also disabled full screen optimizations
    ingame full screen mode
    and driver nvinspector 2 frames to render ahead to really get it somewhat smooth as it was before Beyond Light.


    They're also aware of this new map parts stutters, but dunno seems to be happening for a while now, well for me all the time. Now thinking of installing the game on nvme, if it helps?


    Do you have it on normal SSD or nvme?


    Or what is this nsight monitor application, I doubt I have that installed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2020
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,119
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Today's update fixed Destiny2 fps drops like they promised.

    I didn't try reflex low latency =1 yet, still at 0.


    EDIT: no, it is still smoother with reflex low latency disabled , ah well.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2021
    fluidz likes this.
  19. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    This probably is by design, you then get a similar frame time consistency like when CPU bound, which is usually worse than GPU bound (and can even be really bad, depending on the game).
     
  20. kman

    kman Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Was wondering if reflex was the cause of the issue I've been getting in APEX.Getting VERY random stutter/micro stutter once or twice a game https://imgur.com/a/e8RAnW2 how it looks like.It's actually 3 quick micro stutters when it happens live ingame (It shows as 1 big spike on MSI afterburner)
    Wierdly it's always the same kind of stutter because I can recognise it by the 3 quick micro stutters.

    https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforc...rametime-issues-with-latest-nvidia-drivers-o/ How there's something going on with reflex/frametime and the fact the Nvidia frame rate limiter is not working with apex.

    https://answers.ea.com/t5/Technical...utter-in-apex-3080-Tried-drivers/td-p/9946168

    Back on my 1080ti on 442.59 I didn't have the issue but now on a 3080 I'm kinda stuck.

    Even made a thread here trying to figure out what was causing it https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/r...h-random-stutter-in-apex.436073/#post-5874770
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021 at 12:11 AM

Share This Page