NVIDIA Re-Confirms Resizable BAR Support on RTX 30 Series

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 26, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    40,653
    Likes Received:
    9,052
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    635
    GPU:
    107001070
    this absolutely has to be done by nvidia,users can't be left to do the testing themselves as you lose performance almost as often as you gain some

    [​IMG]
    from amd's SAM review
    this is not the way to do this.
    I don't want a feature I have to test myself for every game
     
  3. WAR76

    WAR76 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    3080 Strix OC
    I dont understand this? try it on a 3080?
     
  4. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    635
    GPU:
    107001070
    needs a vbios update from manufacturer
     

  5. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti/3090FTW
    So. A VBIOS update from the manufacturer.... What would this mean for the people running "non stock" BIOS's?

    I have the kingpin on my FTW3 ULTRA 3090.
     
  6. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti/3090FTW
    And here's to hoping they bring support to tRX40 chipsets.
     
  7. ViperAnaf

    ViperAnaf Master Guru

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    86
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3080 OC
    Dragons are coming folks... I promise.. they are coming...
     
    tfam26 and Undying like this.
  8. hawk7000

    hawk7000 Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    "A vbios update from whoever provider your current vbios" I guess, to make it generic enough to fit your particular situation.
    (For the vast majority that is the same as "a vbios update from the manufacturer", obviously)
     
  9. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,648
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    I'm struggling to see the problem, get the Kingpin bios with the update.
     
    cucaulay malkin likes this.
  10. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,648
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    They might be 10% faster Dragons tho!
     

  11. Conker1970

    Conker1970 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 3070 8GB
    AMD warum kein X370 support. Total unverständlich!
     
    Fox2232 likes this.
  12. tfam26

    tfam26 Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    158
    GPU:
    nvidia 30 series
    Interesting. So if I'm reading this right we need bios updates for GPU and MOBO and also a driver that supports a feature that's been lying dormant for over a decade, but they are unable to enable or disable it at a software or hardware level without a system reboot?

    Maybe if we buy an additional 100$ USB dongle with some random code on it that always sits in a USB 3.2 drive they can enable/disable it on the fly? :D
     
  13. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,648
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Auf Englisch bitte.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  14. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    635
    GPU:
    107001070
    i think they are able to do that.
    i dont mind a system reboot but i don't understand how amd wants the user to do the testing themselves.
    lazy !!!
     
    tfam26 likes this.
  15. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    611
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    Let's be realistic here , most of us when we get this feature we will enable it and leave it on :p especially if we hit the target frame rate.... I know i would !
     
    insp1re2600 likes this.

  16. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,785
    Likes Received:
    618
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Have they stated what CPUs it'll support? I assume they'd not artificially limit which Intel CPUs are supported but they might pull an AMD and artificially limit it not to include AMD.
     
  17. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    611
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    I do not think that was ever a consideration , nvidia does not have a x86 cpu in the market by limiting to Intel only they will make their GPUs a little bit slower on that specific ventor , i do not think nvidia loves intel more than amd or the reverse :p
     
    theoneofgod likes this.
  18. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,785
    Likes Received:
    618
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    I haven't seen any list of what nVidia are going to support. Last I heard AMD won't support anything but Zen 3. People were quick to white knight for AMD claiming it's a compatibility issue and it's not possible with earlier chips. We quickly found out that's bullshit.
     
  19. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    611
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    I was quick to say that this is bullshit and they should allow it on all the ryzen cpus, i mean it is a pci express 3.0 feature so there is no special sauce on the hardware side .
     
  20. DeskStar

    DeskStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    176
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080Ti/3090FTW
    Right. Was mostly asking if there were a particular risk to us on an obviously different BIOS. Being it could brick it maybe. Hardware ID and BIOS not matching up?

    Maybe it just allowing it altogether until one slaps a stock VBIOS on?

    Not sure about what the the confusion was between the two who commented.....
     

Share This Page