NVIDIA Marbles RTX demo now available for download

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 11, 2021.

  1. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    733
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    And settings in there is precisely why it wasn't running even on an RTX 3080... it's set to require 11000MB by default, and the RTX 3080 came Jensen'd at half RAM so only 10GB/10240MB. It runs now for me, with the janky sound-destroying latest WHQL Game Ready driver.
     
  2. monitorhero

    monitorhero New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3080
    So I got a super weird behaviour. I tried out that demo yesterday and first it didn't run. Then I changed the Ram to 10000MB and it ran really crappy. Then changed the async rendering to true. And it ran perfectly. But then I messed with the file again and tried fullscreen and changed both the resolutionss to 1440p. And it ran terrible.
    [settings.app.window]
    title = "Marbles"
    x = -1
    y = -1
    width = 1300
    height = 730
    hideUi = true

    [settings.app.renderer.resolution]
    width = 1920
    height = 1080

    Since then even with the original settings it runs like crap. I had that one moment where it ran just perfect. I reinstalled it but it doesn't run well anymore. Does anyone know how those to resolutions relate to each other? Settings.app.window just scales up the settings.app.renderer.resolution?
     
  3. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,945
    Likes Received:
    733
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    1080p for me runs like crap, really low frame rate. 720p can easily hit my fps cap of 141 (and leave plenty of GPU headroom), but the physics breaks if you increase the frame cap according to DF... and it looks like crap. Even 900p looks like crap... for that matter so does 1080p. 1440p barely runs for me, I get like 12 fps.

    And using ASync rendering seems to render at different frame rates, the graph on my OSD shows it as if it's alternating between a low amount of frames in one second then a much higher amount the next. It was such low fps regardless that it wasn't instantly noticeable (I guess I was running at 1440p, don't remember), but that should feel horrible vs a consistent frame rate.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2021
  4. monitorhero

    monitorhero New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3080
    Yeah the frame cap is set there for a reason I assume. No idea why it worked for a run and now doesn't anymore. It's crazy how bad this runs. And apparently they presented it on 3090. I don't really believe that though.
    I don't understand how the DF guys could get 75fps at almost 4k. I want to experience this in a stable framerate.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2021

  5. King Mustard

    King Mustard Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3080
  6. oneoulker

    oneoulker New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3070
    [​IMG]

    Tried running on a 3070
    As expected, it uses RAM for additional VRAM required

    I managed to de-bloat (expect the DWM itself) Windows 10 to the point where the app can use all the VRAM available but it didn't provide any performance benefits

    Try to see if you're running out of RAM, because app itself uses a hefty chunk of 7.5-8 GB RAM. With aditional RAM overflow from VRAM, it actually needs 13-14 GB of free RAM. So try to close everything in the background if you have 16 GB RAM.

    Obviously 540p runs better. But still, you can see that GPU is consuming very low power. This is the same behaviour that I experienced in other VRAM-limited games/applications. If a GPUs performance is hamstrung by its VRAM, it tends to consume much lower power. I have no clue about the technical explanation that lies behind it though.

    DLSS in this instance would do wonders probably. Here's hoping they release a more advanced/optimized version of this demo. It is really cool

    [​IMG]

    Extra fun edit:

    [​IMG]

    FIRE BAD!

    All right, there are some specific locations that brought FPS down to 4-5 regardless of resolution.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2021
  7. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne Master Guru

    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970 Ghz Ed.
    This is part of the problem.
    They did NOT present this demo on a 3090, at least afaik. Maybe they did.
    But I know they presented the "Marbles at Night" demo on a 3090.
    This is NOT the Marbles at Night demo. This is the older demo.

    I asked Nvidia in email if they are going to release Marbles at Night properly.
     
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,024
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    vram allotment in this demo is configured by a editing omni.app.marbles.kit
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2021
  9. Alkerion

    Alkerion Member Guru

    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6970 DCII
    Hi !
    Just got my 3080 Ti Suprim X and tried to get this demo to run, without success.
    It crashes on opening or after a few seconds of play.
    Tried to reduce memory down to 9000 without success.
    I have the following errors on log :
    [error] (node:22124) electron: The default of contextIsolation is deprecated and will be changing from false to true in a future release of Electron. See https://github.com/electron/electron/issues/23506 for more information
    [error] Error: Failed to load system requirements for marbles_rtx component -- HTTP403.

    Does anyone managed to get this demo to run properly ?
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2021

Share This Page