1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nvidia Inspector introduction and Guide

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by MrBonk, Nov 5, 2015.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,295
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Does nvinspector or nvcpl settings change on the fly (alt+tab and change) or do I need to quit the game?
     
  2. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,941
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    You need to restart the game.
     
  3. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,930
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Frame Rate Limiter v2 actually works fairly well. Much better than old one.
     
  4. blackdragonbird

    blackdragonbird Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    I always use my apps maximized, and I don't see any stutter in Waterfox there. Lucky me.

    Thanks for info though, I will keep an eye open if I see this issue in the future.:)
     

  5. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    This will only affect you if you'll set a global fps limit below your refresh limit. Which there's no reason to do, ever.
     
  6. CalinTM

    CalinTM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,531
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSi GTX980 GAMING 1531mhz
    Whats the diff between v1 and v2 frame limiters ?
     
  7. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor
    Are you not able to read attentively?
    What did I just write?
    100% reproducible here...
     
  8. jiminycricket

    jiminycricket Member Guru

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1080
    Yes there is. Capping FPS below refresh rate so G-Sync is active at all times without resorting to V-Sync.

    Meaningless absolute statement.
     
  9. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    What you wrote is completely wrong.

    Yeah, I guess that's one use case although I don't see anything bad in running vsync at 144Hz.
     
  10. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor
    Yeah, I just can instantly reproduce it, but k.
    Who needs reality if you got your own little fantasy world to live in?
     

  11. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Your little fantasy world exist beyond the realm of how software works. Firefox won't be affected by frame limiting beyond the desktop refresh rate because Firefox is running at desktop refresh rate as a maximum. I don't know what you're reproducing there but just for fun I've browsed for about an hour yesterday with 80 fps limit and seen zero difference with no limit browsing.
     
  12. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor
    Move the window...
     
  13. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    322
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Nothing will change if I move, resize or maximize the window. DWM works on display refresh, Firefox presentation is vsynced.
     
  14. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor
    Well, for me it stutters with global fps-limit above refresh rate, and so it will for at least some others. You are not the center of the world.
     
  15. hishamerrish

    hishamerrish Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 TI
    great thread ...
    i am playing splinter cell double agent on win 10 64 bit with my 980 ti ....
    is there any special tweak for this game with the inspector tool ...
    thank you
     

  16. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    I agree, the thread is good as a "manual" type guide for newcomers to NVIDIA (profile) Inspector.
    However some of the descriptions in the OP are still a bit too lengthy for my taste, which is why I originally opposed this type of information as a separate forum thread.
    The current format might actually be a little "overwhelming" and confusing for some users, I think.

    Also the last few pages of posts have been mostly about people discussing vsync modes +/- frame rate limiting, which is not very constructive either IMO.
    G-Sync really makes all of this kinda moot anyway :infinity:

    Regarding, Splinter Cell: Double Agent.
    Your "request" really belongs more in the AA thread or my own NVIDIA master thread:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4908843#post4908843

    If you had a look at the spreadsheet here, you would learn that MSAA as well as SGSSAA can be forced with the "0x000012C1" AA profile:
    http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=8550826&postcount=453
     
  17. hishamerrish

    hishamerrish Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 TI
    thank you
    the inspector looks like a pro tools :) to me ...
    i will try to learn it ... thank you so much
     
  18. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,930
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Better to know too much, than too little IMO. Too much is the lesser of two evils.
    Especially if there is an available explanation straight from the source.


    However i'm open to constructive criticism to reach a better result. Go for it.
     
  19. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor
    Really have to strongly disagree on the advice for not enabling the "AA fix" globally.
    Without it, every hardware-AA is simply broken in every DX9 and older game.
    The problem is that without it, some pixels are always changing color, causing flicker. You can check this in every game that doesn't change pixels by itself (mostly every old game with fixed camera).
    Take two screenshots. Without the AA fix, there is always a difference between some pixels, which isn't there without AA. If you watch closely, you will also see areas which are flickeing, which aren't flickering without AA or with the AA fix.
    It's some weird bug of Nvidia's AA with DX9 and older, AMD doesn't have this problem (but of course others).
     
  20. GuruKnight

    GuruKnight Master Guru

    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    2 x 980 Ti AMP! Ex
    Perhaps so, but the problem is that the AA fix can sometimes hurt AA edge quality also (e.g. distant foliage and trees in Crysis).

    Not to mention that it can in some games hurt performance, without providing any benefits.
    It is a difficult borderline case for sure what to "recommend", and that is why I recently introduced this system in my spreadsheet to indicate AA fix recommendation (* = AA fix and ** = No AA fix).
    Other than that, I'm not sure what we can do.
     

Share This Page