NVIDIA Inspector Error on Profile Config

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Rekenber, May 2, 2014.

  1. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    On downloading the latest version (1.9.7.2) of the inspector, I'm finding myself unable to open up the configuration menu.
    I'm running it as admin obviously, but when I click the button, I get this Unhandled Exception error:
    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Configuration.ConfigurationErrorsException: Configuration system failed to initialize ---> System.Configuration.ConfigurationErrorsException: Unrecognized configuration section system.serviceModel. (C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Config\machine.config line 134)
    at System.Configuration.ConfigurationSchemaErrors.ThrowIfErrors(Boolean ignoreLocal)
    at System.Configuration.BaseConfigurationRecord.ThrowIfInitErrors()
    at System.Configuration.ClientConfigurationSystem.EnsureInit(String configKey)
    --- End of inner exception stack trace ---
    at System.Configuration.ConfigurationManager.GetSection(String sectionName)
    at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializerCompilerParameters.Create(String location)
    at System.Xml.Serialization.TempAssembly..ctor(XmlMapping[] xmlMappings, Type[] types, String defaultNamespace, String location, Evidence evidence)
    at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.GenerateTempAssembly(XmlMapping xmlMapping, Type type, String defaultNamespace)
    at System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer..ctor(Type type, String defaultNamespace)
    at ***57555;.***57346;[***57344;](String ***57344;)
    at ***57555;.***57347;[***57344;](String ***57344;)
    at ***57560;.***57384;(Object ***57344;, EventArgs ***57344;)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Form.OnLoad(EventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl()
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmShowWindow(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
    at ***57560;.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4247 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    nvidiaInspector
    Assembly Version: 1.9.7.2
    Win32 Version: 1.9.7.2
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Ian/Documents/Inspector/nvidiaInspector.exe
    ----------------------------------------
    System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4235 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Management
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4016 (NetFxQFE.050727-4000)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Management.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4236 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4235 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4246 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    ----------------------------------------
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4246 (VistaSP2GDR.050727-4200)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    ----------------------------------------

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.
    Sometimes the config window opens, but it doesn't have any application profiles in it to edit, being completely blank.
    I'm currently using a GeForce GTX 650 Ti, with the 335.23 WHQL driver.
    I would greatly appreciate any help that I could get.
     
  2. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    Hmm, try update/reinstall .net?
     
  3. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Right now I do have .net framework 3.5, 4 Multi-targeting pack, and 4.5.1.
    Should I get rid of the old versions and just go with 4.5.1, or what? Trying to repair 4.5.1 at the moment to see if that works.

    EDIT: Apparently I shouldn't get rid of old versions. Currently reinstalling to try that.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2014
  4. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    It is using .net 2.0, so you should reinstall that one.
     

  5. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Thank you. Also a bit of an update on my issue.

    Apparently uninstalling and reinstalling the .net framework has turned into an epic quest of trying to figure out why version 3.5 won't install through the download on Microsoft or on Windows Update. I'm halfway tempted to bring out my OS disk and repair it from there, but I'm determined to figure out what the heck's going on.
     
  6. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    Because it is installed by Windows 7 itself, if you are using Windows 7.

    For Windows 8/8.1, the .net 2.0-3.5 can be installed by just enable it in Windows Feature, and it can be fixed by running the SFC /scannow.

    You may want to try SFC /scannow, or just un-tick the .net in Windows Feature, reboot, then tick it back to reinstall. :)
     
  7. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,328
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Also 8/8.1 is smart enough to detect when an application needs a certain version, and should pause the application and prompt you to install the version you need automatically. Worked that way for me when I launched Inspector on Windows 8.1.
     
  8. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    Yup, this is right, anything in the Programs Feature that need to be enabled will be detected by OS, when running program that need it.
     
  9. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Currently using Vista on my home machine, so yeah. I've already tried sfc /scannow a few times to no avail.
    Also, every time I try to install framework 3.5 from Windows update, it hits me with a WindowsUpdate_00000643 error.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2014
  10. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    You just need to Google "windows update 00000643", then you will found the solution.
     

  11. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    On the first answer, it says to use Windows Fix-It, which also throws up an error, exits, and gives me a DIAG_MATS_NETWORK_global.DiagCab file I don't exactly know what to do with.
     
  12. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
  13. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    That's the site I tried, and Windows Installer Cleanup Tool doesn't see .net 3.5 anywhere.
     
  14. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    I forgot you are Windows 7 ;P

    Anyways, Method 2 don't works too?
    How about untick .net and tick it back at the Windows Feature?
     
  15. pimp_gimp

    pimp_gimp Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,600
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
    Try this:
    1. Run the downloaded dotnet35setup.exe to install .NET Framework 3.5.

    2. Reboot your machine.

    3. Now run Windows Update again, to install post SP1 hotfixes.

    OR

    1. Run dotnet35setup.exe to install .NET Framework 3.5 SP1.

    2. Reboot your computer again.

    3. Now run Windows Update again, to install post SP1 hotfixes.


    Useful links:
    Microsoft .NET 3.5 Framework
    Microsoft .NET 3.5 SP1
    What happened to the Windows Installer Cleanup Utility (MSICUU2.exe)?

    Hope these help!
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2014

  16. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Those don't run, and I've tried many times already. They give me this set of errors:
    [05/02/14,09:55:01] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/02/14,09:55:42] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,10:25:04] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 1603 for this component means "Fatal error during installation.
    "
    [05/02/14,10:25:05] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Setup Failed on component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)'
    [05/02/14,10:25:51] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,10:53:41] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 3017 for this component means "The requested operation failed. A system reboot is required to roll back changes made.
    "
    [05/02/14,10:53:44] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)' returned an unexpected value.
    [05/02/14,10:53:44] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Return from system messaging: The requested operation failed. A system reboot is required to roll back changes made.

    [05/02/14,10:59:05] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/02/14,10:59:27] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0SP1 (x64) (CBS): [2] CBS Component is marked to be uninstalled but CBSPackageName is not authored - CCBSComponent::SetManager()
    [05/02/14,10:59:27] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.0SP1 (x64) (CBS): [2] CBS Component can't be uninstalled as CBSPackageName is not authored - CCBSComponent::SetManager()
    [05/02/14,10:59:38] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,12:53:51] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/02/14,12:55:08] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,17:55:14] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 87 for this component means "The parameter is incorrect.
    "
    [05/02/14,17:55:15] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Setup Failed on component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)'
    [05/02/14,17:55:55] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,17:58:06] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 87 for this component means "The parameter is incorrect.
    "
    [05/02/14,17:58:07] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Setup Failed on component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)'
    [05/02/14,17:58:43] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)' is not installed.
    [05/02/14,18:01:12] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 87 for this component means "The parameter is incorrect.
    "
    [05/02/14,18:01:12] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Setup Failed on component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)'
    [05/02/14,18:03:22] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Error code 87 for this component means "The parameter is incorrect.
    "
    [05/02/14,18:03:22] Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)': [2] Setup Failed on component Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)'
    [05/02/14,18:03:53] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Optional Component 'Microsoft .Net Framework 3.0 (x64)' is not installed.
    [05/06/14,08:42:27] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/06/14,08:43:06] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.
    [05/07/14,18:57:35] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/07/14,18:58:02] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.
    [05/10/14,12:32:10] Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package': [2] Error: Installation failed for component Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package'. MSI returned error code 1603
    [05/10/14,12:32:30] WapUI: [2] DepCheck indicates Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5 (x64) 'package' is not installed.


    I'm running Vista Home Premium, not 7 or 8.
    But I'll try those again.
     
  17. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    Yup, but it can be changed in Vista sp2, if I am right.:)
     
  18. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Okay, good news bad news update.

    Good news: I managed to get .Net Framework 3.5 reinstalled! Just had to delete the Vista SP1 update, and run the Upgrade option from the CD. All my files are still in place, too.
    Bad news: Nothing changed, an error keeps coming up in the Inspector.
     
  19. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
  20. Rekenber

    Rekenber New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 650 Ti 1023mb
    Okay, sorry for neglecting this thread for so long.

    But for some reason, when I started it up today to see if some time away from the problem would work, it actually went to the profile config screen with no problems or errors.

    I wish I could say what changed with Windows Update or anything in the .NET install/uninstallation I've been doing, but hey it works now.

    Sorry I can't provide a more detailed answer.
     

Share This Page