NVidia Inspector 1.9.7.6 + FPS limit 59.7 = microstutter

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by 2mg, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    Hi,

    I am currently testing Portal Stories: MEL (Portal 2 mod). This problem is also seen in other games (Borderlands 2), but I'm using this one for reference.

    FPS_max command is 300 default.
    Vsync is triple buffered, exclusive fullscreen.
    Win 7 x64, 372.54 driver.

    Using the NV Inspector with ~59.7 limit causes microstutter even though FPS is at 59.x ingame. Frametimes are mostly 10-17ms, but with a short hiccup to 20ms.

    If I limit FPS_max to anything around 60, or use RTSS limiter, there is no microstutter, and frametimes become ~16ms.

    Can anyone explain this phenomenom?

    Why is NV Inspector not playing along?



    Videos:
    Microstutter, no limit - www.sendspace.com/file/tojxm8
    FPS limit 60fps - www.sendspace.com/file/8kgnik

    PS: ignore frametimes in first video, they double because of recording!
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  2. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    try use 60 fps frame limiter v2
     
    addeya likes this.
  3. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    (delete post)
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  4. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    Frame Rate Limiter 2 Control? Whats the difference between them?
     

  5. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX

    What are the different really ?
     
  6. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    Frame Rate Limiter 2 Control doesn't do a thing, I can't find limiter v2 !?
     
  7. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @X7007 try ask @Orbmu2k if no mistake v2 able to lock the fps better.


    @2mg;

    Frame Rate Limiter - 60 fps ( Frame Rate Limiter v2 )

    Frame Rate Limiter 2 Control - 0x00000008 (Default)

    play around until u get the best solution.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  8. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX

    So you enable Vsync in game + FRL 2 ? or do you enable Vsync in NVCP + FRL2 ?

    If I'm using 59 Hz cause 60 Hz is not properly works when I open games, they open in 59 Hz all the time and Alt+Tab cause a small black screen delay , so in movies.
     
  9. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    Putting any number ie 58 59 60 into "Frame Rate Limiter" doesn't work ingame, it's unlimited. I can only choose ~XX.X values ie ~59.7.

    And I still don't know why you call it v2, it's the only Frame Rate Limiter.
     
  10. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI RX 580 Armor

  11. Pyrage

    Pyrage Master Guru

    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    580 CF@ 1470
    Pic for the people having issues finding the v2 setting..on the frame limiter setting, just scroll all the way down until you see the "v2" options:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    disable v-sync in game setting

    NVIDIA Profile Inspector;

    Vertical Sync - Force off
    Vertical Sync Smooth AFR behaviour - Off (On if u enabled v-sync)
    Vertical Sync Tear Control - Standard/Adaptive (depend games)

    i also using 59 Hz 1440p but no more issue with this new 372.70. previously 372.54, i got no choice but to use CRU set 60 Hz to prevent shuttering & tearing during gaming..
     
  13. yobooh

    yobooh Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @1500mhz
    Just use CRU as written here and it will fix the 59hz.
    I've an LG Monitor TV and this fixed the problem.

    HERE
     
  14. yobooh

    yobooh Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1 @1500mhz
    @khanmein
    With 369.09 I cannot open ProfileInspector anymore, there is a fix?

    EDIT: fixed with THIS!!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016
  15. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX

    But I have Philips 3D TV 7007 , I asked the CRU creator, he said it's going to be a problem to "fix" the issue with a 3D TV while keeping everything as is.
     

  16. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,957
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Why not simply use RTSS to set a 60FPS limit?

    I've never personally had problems with 60FPS stutter that didn't come from a game issue.

    As for the 59.94 problem however, just another bystanding issue from stupid HDTV/HDMI EDID standards. FFS TVs still ship with Overscan ON.
     
  17. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @MrBonk, my dell monitor come with 59.94 Hz so not bout HDTV/HDMI EDID standards but other thang & i tried RTSS but can't even limit the frames at all.

    i personally suggest nvidia profile inspector is way better than RTSS.
     
  18. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
  19. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @2mg

    try copy 2.1.2.15 the latest version.
     
  20. 2mg

    2mg Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    760
    Working!

    Can I ask what is the difference between v1 and v2 limiter?
     

Share This Page