Nvidia INF driver modding (Guide)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cyberdyne, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. mike2048

    mike2048 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    p2200
    Much appreciated Cyberdyne, thanks for the sanity check
     
    Yeatin likes this.
  2. gradynelson

    gradynelson New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce 820M
    Hey, I see you guys have saved lots of lives here and I can't hold myself back of asking a help for myself. I've this second pc which was working just fine with cuda but then they stopped supporting Fermi GPU's and now whatever I do it's like there is a dead GPU inside the notebook. Saddest part is I was using this pc and I know its computing power could help me on extra render or cnn training works.
    Do you think this modding thing could be a solution to this situation? Like just to fool the softwares with the fake driver version but keep working with the standalone one... I don't know it's out of my scope. Thank all you guys in advance!

    Current working driver version:391.35
    Needed version:425.xx
    W10 x64
     
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    5,871
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There is no support for fermi in 425.xx
     
    gradynelson likes this.
  4. Yeatin

    Yeatin New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 Ti 6GB
    Hello everyone.
    I need help with a modded .Inf or if someone has already done one for a GT720M for windows XP 64bit

    i have modded a driver for a specific sony vaio with similar gpu for windows xp 64bit before but i cant seem to get it right this time. Can anyone help me please.

    GPU Gt720M
    inf for OS windows XP x64
     

  5. Yeatin

    Yeatin New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 Ti 6GB
    Hello cyberdyne

    I needed your help. I tried the website you listed but I can’t find any drivers there that will work for me

    can you create an inf for a gt720m that comes with a dell rugged 7404 please?
     
  6. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,448
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    if youre looking for using the newest released driver with this card, that wont work.. this Card isnt supported anymore in the new Drivers. And adding the string wouldnt help really..

    so, from looking a bit the latest driver with you GPU supported is this one:
    425.31

    Its also stated in the PDF of the release notes form Nvidia. (newest drivers) on site 35.

    sdfvseresw.PNG


    i dont think there is a way to use an up to date driver with your GPU..
    if this is what you wanted? i might have understood you wrong..

     
  7. Yeatin

    Yeatin New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 Ti 6GB
    You mea
    thanks for the reply. Actually, I wanted any driver that worked on windows xp x64 for a dell notebook GTX 720m and if someone already has the modded inf for that one or if anyone could help mod it and pass the inf for me.
    I can’t get the inf modification correct
     
  8. Aldebaron

    Aldebaron New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT 540M
    Hi guys.
    I have laptop with GT 540m graphics. Latest driver for this gpu is 395.xx version. I want update this driver use driver for GT 630, becouse she have new latests driver and gpaphics chip FERMI.
    I test new driver GT 630 FERMI (no kepler) on main PC and it's work fine. How can i update drivers GT 540m use GT 630 drivers without warning? inf file doesn't work, warning. Can i update bios GPU to GT 630 and install latest driver?
    log file after trying install new castom driver.
    1 log.
    0.336 | INFO: [system] 485@Nvidia::Logging::Logger::Logger : 2021-Jul-17 16:22:29 : Logging init OK. Using configuration from HKLM for DefaultProcess, for the RunDll32.EXE.
    0.337 | DEBUG: [NVI2.DeferredDelete] 521@DeferredDeleteW : Waiting for C:\NVIDIA\DisplayDriver\471.11.1\Win8_Win7_64\International\setup.exe 1832 to exit.
    0.434 | DEBUG: [NVI2.DeferredDelete] 592@DeferredDeleteW : Deferred delete started.
    0.439 | INFO: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 824@CEngineCache::preservePath : Preserved path "c:\program files (x86)\nvidia corporation\physx".
    0.439 | INFO: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 824@CEngineCache::preservePath : Preserved path "c:\program files (x86)\nvidia corporation".
    0.439 | INFO: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 824@CEngineCache::preservePath : Preserved path "c:\program files (x86)".
    0.439 | INFO: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 824@CEngineCache::preservePath : Preserved path "c:\".
    0.439 | WARNING: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 1066@CEngineCache::preserveGoldPath : Installer uninstall entry not found, will not preserve engine cache folder.
    0.653 | DEBUG: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 435@CEngineCache::CleanupStrippedPackages : Stripped registry key does not exist to perform clean up process.
    0.653 | INFO: [NVI2.CEngineCache] 541@CEngineCache::CleanupCache : No subpackages left, remaining installer data will be removed.
    0.655 | INFO: [NVI2.DeferredDelete] 604@DeferredDeleteW : Deleting self as running deferred delete via C:\Users\Maxim\AppData\Local\Temp\NVI2_29.DLL.
    0.656 | DEBUG: [NVI2.DeferredDelete] 622@DeferredDeleteW : Deferred delete completed.
    I don't understand where warning, becouse my enlish is s**t...
    For log drivers i use
    https://support.nvidia.eu/hc/ru/art...тановки-драйвера-и-GeForce-Experience-NVIDIA-
    Can u help me, guys?
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    5,871
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    there is no fermi driver code in 471, a 630 using the GF architecture will not work with inf modding, nor can you force a 540m to operate on fermi by forcing it to install as a kepler 630.
     
  10. SatsuiNoHado

    SatsuiNoHado Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    61
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    one of my cousin has a gt930m using sketchup and vray kind of programs so i advised him using studio driver instead geforce ready but later i realized no studio driver support for 9XX and below gpus.. i modded the 472.47 used this combo below in proper places but FAIL.. is it possible to do this ?
    NVIDIA_DEV.1346 = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 930m"
    %NVIDIA_DEV.1346% = Section002, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1346

    this is the full id with sub PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_1346&SUBSYS_F8421179 if someone would try to make it appreciated thnx
     

  11. tayyar

    tayyar Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    2
    Hello guys

    Does this still work?

    https://archive.techarp.com/showarticlec4df.html?artno=539&pgno=2

    Page states I need Rivatuner but I can't find it in the downloads section.

    I need to softmod a 970 to Quadro4000 to test something.

    Edit: found the 2.0rc15 one but it doesn't work on W11.

    Edit2: found 224 but the settings in the pictures are not exposed.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2021
  12. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    5,871
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no it doesn't.
     
  13. salzrat

    salzrat New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro RTX 4000 (Mo
    If I manage to install a Geforce driver on a Quadro (RTX 4000 Mobile), is there a chance that G-Sync/Freesync will become available?
     
  14. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,103
    Likes Received:
    11,312
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    If those features are implemented by drivers only - do not require hardware and firmware support - then probably will.
     
  15. salzrat

    salzrat New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro RTX 4000 (Mo
    So this is interesting. I installed the GRD 579.11 driver using nvcleanstall. To make g-sync available, I had to enable it on the monitor, and then it worked. I also found that DSR was now available.
    I then moved back to the Quadro driver, even with clean install, and both are still available. So maybe G-Sync works on Quadros out of the box nowadays anyway...
     

  16. nsm1989

    nsm1989 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rtx 3060
    Please help, according to the instructions it does not work
    Windows server 2016 video card RTX 3060
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_2504&SUBSYS_153610DE&REV_A1
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_2504&SUBSYS_153610DE
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_2504&CC_030000
    PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_2504&CC_0300
     

    Attached Files:

  17. a_eh

    a_eh New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Quadro K3100M
    Cyberdyne, you don't know what you've done... thank you! I'm in a unique pickle and your guide fix the problem for me. Might be of some use to others, so here goes the details. I have an older Kepler based Quadro mobile GPU, the K3100M and driver support has ended a couple of years ago. Windows 11 running the newest drivers from 2020 (426.78) mostly works ok except for strange transparency/flashing issues and labels for clickable buttons are invisible (GUI buttons in the OS has no text so you can't tell what they are). The missing text on the buttons is supposedly an issue with older drivers and it's been fixed since W11 release for cards that are still supported by Nvidia.

    Now normally, newer drivers won't help since it's about missing code for the obsolete architecture but in this case, Nvidia is still supporting Kepler Quadro desktop GPUs until Jan 31, 2023. Nothing to lose so searched for a Kepler based desktop card like the K4200 and modded the newest drivers (473.47 - May 2022). Everything works great, including extra features like 30 bit support and frame limiting!

    Cyberdyne, you da man. Thank you again.
     
    Cave Waverider likes this.
  18. magnusen89

    magnusen89 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rtx 2060
    I need to ensure nvidia driver working on 1709 with ampere cards (3070 specifically), before I buy one.

    Can someone here try the following and can confirm or negate it?

    Instructions from tpu:
    • Use NVCleanstall to unpack the driver
    • When the Tweaks page is visible, go to %LocalAppData%\Temp\NVCleanstall\Display.Driver and edit the correct inf file by choosing the correct the acronym eg NVGBD.INF = Gigabyte, NVMD.INF =MSI etc. (don't close NVCleanstall)
      Change
      [Manufacturer]
      %NVIDIA_A% = NVIDIA_Devices,NTamd64.10.0...14393,NTamd64.10.0...17098

      [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0...14393]

      [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0...17098]
      to
      [Manufacturer]
      %NVIDIA_A% = NVIDIA_Devices,NTamd64.10.0,NTamd64.10.0

      [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0]

      [NVIDIA_Devices.NTamd64.10.0]
    • Pick the remove telemetry option under expert tweaks (or any expert tweak), which will rebuild the digital signature
    • Install the driver

     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2022
  19. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    5,871
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    don't bother, upgrade windows.
     
  20. magnusen89

    magnusen89 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    rtx 2060

Share This Page