NVIDIA Graphics Driver 191.56 Released

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Archer8600GT, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. Zeroko

    Zeroko Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce 660 GTX
    who said these drivers dont come with physx?

    They have version 09.09.0914.

    Also when i turned my pc on, my graphics made a squeaker for about 5 seconds. I heard that graphics cards farting is not a problem. Its never happened before so i will let him off.

    For some reason though my display resolution didn't seem to stick, so it loaded up in the lowest possible resolution.
     
  2. PirateNeilsouth

    PirateNeilsouth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 OC
    Come on that's abit of a silly reply :thumbdown

    I do understand their issues and it's far to common to be a Patch problem , my main issues is bf2. Don't care for the other games at the moment , completed em :)
     
  3. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,151
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    1080 FE +130/+430
    Be nice if they fix the stuttering issue in champions online and 191 drivers. 191 works good for me in other games. It just champions online is the only one that stutters bady for me with the 191 drivers.
     
  4. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    they made stutter in GTA4 too (win7), just like 191.07 im back on 186.18whql all good.

    And ut3 had some strange pauses time to time around 15-20min or so (with 191.07, i didnt try 191.56 at all because i knew its gonna be same pos), im back to 186.18 that's in win xp...
     

  5. Cyber-Mav

    Cyber-Mav Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 8800gt 512mb
    hmm so your graphics card made a funny noise when you turned your computer on and its because of this new driver? i didnt know the driver kicked in so soon even before the mobo bios gets a chance to post the system. :3eyes:
     
  6. coolville

    coolville Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA FTW COOP GTX295
    I tried to install this driver but I get the following error:

    "setup cannot copy the file nv4_mini.sy_."

    "Ensure that the location specified below is correct, or change it and insert
    'NVIDIA Windows 2000/XP (32 bit) Driver Library Installation Disk 1..."

    Yes I know I'm a noob :), But I haven't had any problems installing any of the other 190 drivers, what do you think?

    Also, I did a clean install using driver sweeper, now I'm back to using the 191.07 drivers which work pretty good, I get an occasional game crash is all.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  7. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    So are these drivers worth installing for games ? or will it worth just to install as for a ATI + Physx 8800Gtx card ?

    from 191.07

    if you can make it simple as yes it will or no it won't or any special options which will help.
     
  8. Zeroko

    Zeroko Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce 660 GTX
    I meant when windows had loaded.

    And imo these drivers are nothing special, if anything maybe an attempted fix.
     
  9. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Someone with issues in BF2 and a single card setup on Vista / 7, that can try this out instead of the default values in C:\ProgramData\Nivida\NvApps.xml please?

    Code:
    <PROFILE Label="Battlefield 2">
                <APPLICATION Label="+menu.exe" />
                <APPLICATION Label="+playNow.exe" />
                <APPLICATION Label="BF2.exe" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_default" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="gamma_correct_aa" Value="0x00020000" Default="0x00020000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="transparency_aa" Value="0x02400000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_selector" Value="0x20000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="ws_aa_fs_gamma" Value="0x00000002" Default="0x00000002" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_behavior_flags" Value="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="af_default" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aniso_selector" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="vsync_default" Value="0x08416747" Default="0x60925292" />
                <PROPERTY Label="triple_buffering" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="power_management_mode" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="image_settings" Value="0xFFFFFFF6" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="trilinear_optimization" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aniso_sample_optimization" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="d3d_negative_lod_bias_status" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="forcemipmaps_advanced" Value="0x00000002" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="conformant_texture_clamp" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="ogl_extension" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="dyn_tiling_mode" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="max_prerender_frames" Value="0x00000003" Default="0x00000003" />
                <PROPERTY Label="hdr_lighting" Value="0x0000001F" Default="0x0000001F" />
                <PROPERTY Label="threading" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="get_error" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="multi_mon_config" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000003" />
                <PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="0x00000004" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x02402001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_feature_bits" Value="0x40000000" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x40000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="hybrid_rendering_mode" Value="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x00000001" />
            </PROFILE>
    And another test with n-lod changed to clamp

    Code:
    <PROFILE Label="Battlefield 2">
                <APPLICATION Label="+menu.exe" />
                <APPLICATION Label="+playNow.exe" />
                <APPLICATION Label="BF2.exe" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_default" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="gamma_correct_aa" Value="0x00020000" Default="0x00020000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="transparency_aa" Value="0x02400000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_selector" Value="0x20000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="ws_aa_fs_gamma" Value="0x00000002" Default="0x00000002" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_behavior_flags" Value="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="af_default" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aniso_selector" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="vsync_default" Value="0x08416747" Default="0x60925292" />
                <PROPERTY Label="triple_buffering" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="power_management_mode" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="image_settings" Value="0xFFFFFFF6" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="trilinear_optimization" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aniso_sample_optimization" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="d3d_negative_lod_bias_status" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="forcemipmaps_advanced" Value="0x00000002" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="conformant_texture_clamp" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="ogl_extension" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="dyn_tiling_mode" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="max_prerender_frames" Value="0x00000003" Default="0x00000003" />
                <PROPERTY Label="hdr_lighting" Value="0x0000001F" Default="0x0000001F" />
                <PROPERTY Label="threading" Value="0x00000001" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="get_error" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="multi_mon_config" Value="0x00000000" Default="0x00000003" />
                <PROPERTY Label="multichip_rendering_mode" Value="0x00000004" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x02402001" />
                <PROPERTY Label="aa_feature_bits" Value="0x40000000" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x40000000" />
                <PROPERTY Label="hybrid_rendering_mode" Value="0x00000001" Itemtype="predefined" Default="0x00000001" />
            </PROFILE>
    
     
  10. Umpkish

    Umpkish New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX285
    Still cannot use "do not scale" and other scaling options in the CP.
     

  11. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,105
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    i use 191.07 and i dont get any problems with any games at all...only game i switch drivers for is fallout 3(186.18)
     
  12. PirateNeilsouth

    PirateNeilsouth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 OC
    Which means you get problems with a game then , because why would you switch drivers :nerd:
     
  13. RedFlames

    RedFlames Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX280 OC
    Fallout 3 is a little more crash-happy than usual with these drivers but i've noticed no issues in any other games [UT3, Red Faction: Guerilla, Dawn of War 2, TF2] or apps [Maya 2008, Max 2009/2010, Cinebench R10]
     
  14. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Banned

    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 275 896
    Can someone test RealtechVR OGLView 314 on this kit for me, i tried running it on both this and 191.07 and the cube is missing from the render tests.

    apart from that, any other opengl app is fine.
     
  15. bokah

    bokah Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 670GTX 2G
    seems to have lots of probs with w7x64

    crashes, errors:.net error ...2.0:ARB_shader_objects not supported.

    i managed to get 3.0 cube rolling once


    edit: looks like 3.0 is only one that works
    --------------------------------------------
    tested with xp32 with 182.46 and there was 3.0 as only option
    all other tests works just fine in both xp and w7 when u select
    SSE2 only, not the ones with "forward context 3.x" from drop down menu
    at top of window main screen


    so it works just fine, just need to disable 3.0 for older tests
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009

  16. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Banned

    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 275 896

    I expect its more likely a driver bug. or atleast a bug in the latest version. i don't remember 313 having those forward context settings.
     
  17. bokah

    bokah Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 670GTX 2G
  18. Darkje

    Darkje Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX660ti DCII
    ok... tnx :)

    Now I tested all extension limit value's 0000-ffff and viewed the number of OpenGL extensions available with GPUCapsViewer.

    this emerged:

    Code:
    driver 191.56b
    setting a number(0001-ffff) in nhancer, 
    number of ogl extensions shown in GCV.
    
    -------+---------------+-----------------------+-------------------
    Nr.	Cpl.		nhancer number set	CGV nr of ext.			
    -------+---------------+-----------------------+-------------------
     0	off		0			199
    
     1	on		0001-11A7		 21
     2	on		11A8-1387		106
     3	on		1388-157B		116
     4	on		157C-1607		127
     5	on		1608-176F		128
     6	on		1770-184B		129
     7	on		184C-1D4B		130
     8	on		1D4C-1D52		134
     9	on		1D53-1F3F		135
    10	on		1F40-2133		140
    11	on		2134-213D		145
    12	on		213E-2327		146
    13	on		2328-251B		152
    14	on		251C-270F		164
    15	on		2710-4073		165
    16	on		4074-4560		168
    17	on		4561-4587		175
    18	on		4588-464F		176
    19	on		4650-4843		178
    20	on		4844-4A37		185
    21	on		4A38-4C2B		198
    22	on		4C2C-FFFF		199
    
    So I suppose nr1 is opengl 1.0, nr2 1.0a etc? perhaps anyone can fill it in...
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2009
  19. Squall Leonhart

    Squall Leonhart Banned

    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 275 896
  20. Darkje

    Darkje Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX660ti DCII
    ohhh kewl ;) more toys...
     

Share This Page