Nvidia GeForce Hotfix Driver 456.98

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Astyanax, Oct 21, 2020.

  1. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,532
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Firefox doesn't vsync properly

    https://www.vsynctester.com/firefoxisbroken.html

    I wish i was experiencing these, the firefox webrenderer does alot of memory transfers from system to video card so it'd be nice to be able to dig into a crash dump.

    i'd not be surprised if its specific to DPI scaled 4k native panels though o_O
     
  2. AntiSnipe

    AntiSnipe Master Guru

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 Super
    I'm running my monitor's native 1920x1080 @144Hz, nothing scaled.
     
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,532
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Well that demolishes the theory that its related to huge canvas rendering lol, the refresh rate could be a factor.

    Theres one such case here https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1614212
     
  4. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    Outdated information, Firefox uses proper DWM vsync since some version back.

    Always check if Webrender is used, Advanced Layers + Direct2D (+hardware decoding) is bugged in Nvidia drivers for years.
     

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,532
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no it doesn't, it syncs on dwm flush, which is always after sync.

     
  6. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Master Guru

    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    5700 XT Gaming X UV
    Ok, there might still be some truth to this (bummer). Yet I think the author is exaggerating, Firefox should hardly/never miss any vblanks in real life if nothing else is wrong.
     
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,532
    Likes Received:
    3,330
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    FWIW, mozilla is working on getting VRR enabled in the video driver, so they might overhaul their vsync handler in the future.
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,128
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    So I think I finally pinpointed the issue with Destiny2 & brocolli. I even reflashed my gpu and changed back power limits to default stock..

    I was ok today in afternoon, played over 5hrs, then I've put pc to sleep and when I resumed, baam after max 30min gameplay broccolli and nvlddmkm tdr crash.


    I remember not so long ago there were some reports about resume from sleep issues, idk what, was it games or apps, but I know there were some issues regarding this in the past too..



    Anyway, I already have a open ticket @ nvidia support and they know about this now.



    EDIT: still 5hrs later no crash anymore after reboot, so that resume from sleep is clearly bugged.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2020
  9. Archvile82

    Archvile82 Master Guru

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW U
    This driver seems to crash in quake 2 RTX. I haven't had any issues in other games as of yet. Error log :-

    Fault bucket LKD_0x141_Tdr:6_IMAGE_nvlddmkm.sys, type 0
    Event Name: LiveKernelEvent
    Response: Not available
    Cab Id: d3f8d863-4e3c-4d8b-a4e6-22cf3e5c1c6c
    Problem signature:
    P1: 141
    P2: ffff9c891c5fc460
    P3: fffff80484fed188
    P4: 0
    P5: 2a24
    P6: 10_0_19042
    P7: 0_0
    P8: 256_1
    P9:
    P10:
    Analysis symbol:
    Rechecking for solution: 0
    Report Id: 73de5a87-a91c-4bf0-a595-0d50ba87cfa8
    Report Status: 268435456
    Hashed bucket:
     
  10. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 6800XT
    No crashes in Quake II RTX here as long I don't overclock GPU/VRAM too much.
     

  11. wasteomind

    wasteomind Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2080 ti
    Is DLSS in Shadow of the Tomb Raider broken with these drivers? Its greyed out for me but I can enable ray tracing. Just got a 3090 and testing things. It was working fine on my previous drivers with my 2080ti.

    EDIT never mind it decided to start working after a restart.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2020
  12. MegaFalloutFan

    MegaFalloutFan Master Guru

    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    137
    GPU:
    RTX3090
    Im on WU panel [compatible with UK firmware]
    I can find you the guide, you need to enter engineering mode [or whatever its called]
    Enable one option, then it will let you update the firmware to the latest one, then disbale that option [not important thou]
    thats it.
    The part he said about unpluging the TV, i did the same, updated before going to be and unplugged teh cable overnight
     

Share This Page