NVIDIA GeForce Game Ready 398.36 Drivers Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by peppercute, Jun 26, 2018.

  1. mojoba

    mojoba Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2070 8gb
    HDR isn't supported on 980ti using display port. It doesn't matter if your using a D.P 1.4 cable as the port on the card is D.P 1.2 which won't transmit HDR meta data. HDR is only supported using the HDMI 2.0 port. This has been confirmed to me by Nvidia .
     
  2. SpookySkeleton

    SpookySkeleton Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    Fixed Issues in this Release
     [Pascal GPUs][Gears of War 4][DirectX12]: Blue-screen crash may occur while playing the game. [2008731]
     [Sterescopic 3D][NVIDIA Control Panel]: Switching the 3D display setting On and Off from the Windows display settings page has no effect on the NVIDIA Control Panel stereoscopic 3D settings page. [2045222]
     [G-SYNC]: G-SYNC may still be active after closing a game, causing the desktop to stutter. []  [Surround]: Multiple games crash when launched in Surround mode. [2181329]
     [HDR]: With HDR turned on, non HDR full-screen video playback may cause corruption/flickering in the video. [200410646]
     [Notebook]: Blue-screen crash occurs with Driver_Power_State_Failure error upon bootup. [2168487]
     Black Screen appears when booting Windows after installing the 397.93 display driver. [200418217]
     
    lucidus likes this.
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    That's why Nvidia released that firmware tool to update displayport to 1.4.
     
  4. TylerAD

    TylerAD Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 970
    Have you tried to update the firmware for the monitor from the Samsung site?


    Firmware

    MAY 23,2018 | ver 1019.1

     

  5. SpookySkeleton

    SpookySkeleton Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    So far, no issues with the driver, and so glad they fixed the gow4 bsod issue so i can download it now on PC since i have xbox game pass.
     
  6. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,646
    Likes Received:
    275
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    But when you read the system specs for the HDR monitors, it says min 10xx so only pascal an up.
    I posted info in another thread about it.
    https://www.anandtech.com/show/12941/nvidia-publishes-gsync-hdr-sys-reqs-releases-vbios-update-tool
    Unless something changes it doesn't seem even worth flashing a 9xx card unless they change support.

    PS, there also a WU for 1803 released today, I saw some HDR stuff in fixlist I think.
     
  7. mojoba

    mojoba Active Member

    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 2070 8gb
    It doesn't update it to 1.4 it merely fixed a compatibilty problem with HDR diaplays going blank on Windows start up when running at 144hz whilst using display port. If you have a 980ti after updating the firmware Windows 10 still doesn't give you the option to enable HDR unless your using HDMI. I did purchase a club3d 1.4 DP cable and tested it myself. I challenged Nvidia on why HDR isn't working on display port and their response was that the update doesn't change the hardware specs. If you want HDR over display port you need to upgrade to a 10 series card. And I'm on the latest firmware for my C32HG70.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2018
    chinobino and -Tj- like this.
  8. Carfax

    Carfax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,913
    Likes Received:
    465
    GPU:
    NVidia Titan Xp
    We'll see if it's really fixed when The Coalition re-enables the asynchronous compute toggle switch for Pascal GPUs. It's been missing for several months now, which I'm sure was related to the game's instability on Pascal GPUs as AMD GPUs can still toggle it.
     
  9. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I see, well I guess its another ripoff artist tactics from nvidia.

    So by hdmi you're then forced to 120hz, even with hdmi2.0 cable?

    I would be really pissed too, was this close to get the same monitor in 27" variant, but I ran a little short of €€..
     
  10. klepp0906

    klepp0906 Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GTX 2080TI
    sooo nobody having an issue booting to a black screen with these? im recovering from it as we speak. almost had to use an image from like two days ago which would have killed me. Got a lot done in the past few days ><

    System restore wouldnt go through. could boot into safe mode but regular booted to black screen. Removed the card in safe mode and im back in so gonna give em one more shot i guess.

    good times w/ good ole nvidia.

    kinda like shadowplay not working in exclusive fullscreen. Or desktop capture not working with SLI/surround.

    OBS can manage and they dont have billions in revenue and hundreds of employees but i digress.

    They shouldnt be working for free they should be making nvidia beg for their superior programming skills evidently.
     

  11. chinobino

    chinobino Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    ASUS 2070 Mini OC
    Thanks for that info on the 980Ti and HDR on the DP.

    I bought an active DP to HDMI adapter over a year ago and wasn't sure about whether it could work, now I know for sure.
     
  12. klepp0906

    klepp0906 Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GTX 2080TI
    well second times the charm. no more booting to black screen. Now on just about every restart my taskbar just disappears on my accessory display.

    /waits for hotfix
     
  13. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,831
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    GPU:
    .
    Works very well on my PC. With 397.64, ACO would get weird pauses every now and then but it's fine now.
     
  14. X7007

    X7007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Sapphire 6900XT
    Can you fix the bug that make Set up Digital Audio always be on the TV ? I disable it everytime and it re enable it self After every Windows Restart ! Even When I didn't even install the Nvidia Audio Drivers and it's High Definition Audio is disabled in Device Manager ! how many things to stop this from detecting HDMI Audio ?? Also when I turn my TV off LG OLED E6 , it makes a mess with my Audio output and nothing works correctly until I restart ! Including the Microphone and everything else. I have HT Omega Eclaro a 185$ PCIE Sound Card and Nvidia drivers are the only things messes things up !
     
  15. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    363
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    It's your choice of what to use as a default audio input. You can make the selection in Windows Sound settings.
     

  16. cryohellinc

    cryohellinc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,371
    Likes Received:
    2,704
    GPU:
    RX 5700 XT/ MAC M1
    Great driver so far, I don't have the silly Gsync stutter anymore when Alt+Tabbing between windows.
     
  17. mhmilo24

    mhmilo24 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti
    So to get this straight. You have a 980 Ti, a C32HG70, the Club3D 1.4DP Cable and you never get the Option HDR enable on W10?
    I have exactly the same hardware and I can get the Windows Slider to appear with the 391.01 driver (maybe even the earlier versions, but this one works for sure) on every single Insider Preview since November.
    Would you mind trying it too and tell me if this happens for you too?

    Or anyone who is experiencing the same problem. Try the 391.01 and see for yourself that the HDR windows slider will be available. Washed out colors in W10 are the result, but still its there.
     
  18. fOrTy_7

    fOrTy_7 Master Guru

    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    N/A
    I thought they have fixed it some time ago. Is Windows 8.1 affected by this as well?
     
  19. mhmilo24

    mhmilo24 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980Ti
    Isnt this just for the 27 inch model? As far as I know people tried to rename the file, so that the 32 inch model accepts the firmware, but then you end up with Windows identifying it as a 27 inch Screen (which wouldn't be a real problem). Others bricked their screen with the same method.
    Did you get your 32 inch firmware from a specific location based samsung support website?
     
  20. WillG

    WillG Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Similar issue where my taskbar items become unusable/unresponsive - including the sound icon - and programs wont launch.
    Rolled back to 398.11 fixed the issues.

    Strange because all previous drivers work fine (38x & 39x series drivers) - something really wrong with this particular driver. . .
     

Share This Page