NVIDIA GeForce 511.23 WHQL driver download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by valorex, Jan 14, 2022.

  1. MaXThReAT

    MaXThReAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    2070-SOC 2Ghz
    Quick question, in order to use the Nvidia shaders and filters do I have to have Gforce Experience installed?
     
  2. TachiFoxy

    TachiFoxy Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080S
    Yup. It uses the GeForce Experience overlay. (the same one you use for Shadowplay)
     
    MaXThReAT likes this.
  3. MaXThReAT

    MaXThReAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    2070-SOC 2Ghz
    That's what I thought. Thanx. Guess I'm finally trying it out.
     
  4. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 3060Ti
    It's amazing how much better you can get games to look and you can adjust things on the fly. I use it on CoD Vanguard, it looks rich and detailed with a few tweaks
     

  5. sertopico

    sertopico Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    219
    GPU:
    EVGA 3080 FTW3 GU
    Yes. I'd suggest you trying reshade though, it gives many more possibilities and better shaders/filters overall. It's also lighter.
     
    MaXThReAT and lukas_1987_dion like this.
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,275
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4090 GOC
    Would DLDSR help in old games like FFXIV who only have FXAA as an AA option?
     
  7. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    744
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Yes, that is the point of downsampling AA.
     
    eGGroLLiO likes this.
  8. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,275
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4090 GOC
    I had to try it (5160x2160 in my case for 2.25x), unfortunately the performance penalty is too great. I guess that's why it's better suited towards games that also have DLSS.
     
  9. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    744
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Did you try 1.78x? It already makes image way less noisy. DLDSR has really made that factor usable.
     
  10. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,275
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4090 GOC
    Yep, tried that in-game but my monitor went black and I had to do a hard reset :D

    Edit: Either Windows, my GPU or my monitor don't like 4587x1920. Too weird I guess :)
     

  11. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    744
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    I think that 21:9 1.78x DLDSR issue is reported to Nvidia and probably and next driver might even contain a fix, if I'm not mistaken.
     
    Netherwind likes this.
  12. kill007

    kill007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    ASUS 4090 TUF
    I haven't tried GExperience yet...well tried it many years ago once and was confused about a few things around it. Can you share a screenshot of your vanguard for comparison?
     
  13. Alberto_It

    Alberto_It Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    MSI SUPRIM X 4090
    In fact, totally useless! Next GRD will come up today or friday for Dying Light 2 launch
     
    LocoDiceGR and OnnA like this.
  14. big ROBOT bill

    big ROBOT bill Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 3060Ti
    It's not huge but I don't push it too hard

    Vanguard-Geforce-overlay.jpg
     
  15. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,275
    Likes Received:
    1,949
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 4090 GOC
    Tried 2.25x in the end and although it did counter some of the grass shimmer/beaten path gravel shimmer the drawbacks are too great. Still, interesting experiment.
     

  16. Ormy

    Ormy Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    3080Ti 12GB
    I'm having the same issue. With 511.23 I am not getting 10bit video passed to madVR then to the display regardless of any other settings. It was working fine with 497.29, I've never experience the stuttering you mention on any driver version, so I'm back on 497.29 and getting 10bpc working correctly.

    The bold bit above is referring to the fact that fullscreen exclusive mode (in MadVR render settings) isn't proper fullscreen because of windows fullscreen optimizations forcing it to borderless windowed correct? Just disable windows fullscreeen optimizations for MPC's executable, then you will get proper exclusive fullscreen.

    I have an almost identical setup to you (minor differences: Win10 21H1, 3080Ti, LG CX, Denon AVR 1910,10bpc RGB fullrange set in NVCP). However I do not let MadVR auto-switch the display mode, the CX stays in 2160p120 SDR GSYNC-ON, this is because I also use SVP frame interpolation to interpolate framerate up to 120fps regardless of source framerate. As I said above I've never had any video stuttering on any nvidia driver but 511.23 did break 10 bit output so I'm back on 497.29. All my content is H264/H265 SDR FHD.
     
  17. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,476
    Likes Received:
    5,875
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    you don't require FSE nor do you need to disable FSO for madvr to automatically move to 10b

    im sure madshi is already communicating with nvidia about whatever issue is occuring if not already working around it.
     
  18. Ormy

    Ormy Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    3080Ti 12GB
    Could you please provide a citation or some evidence for that claim? Reading around on the Doom9 forum, several posts by different users say that FSE must be enabled in MadVR to get 10bpc output*. If you wish to contradict them, you might want to provide evidence. Admittedly they don't mention disabling FSO, but I disable it for ALL graphically intensive applications that run in fullscreen as a standard procedure because on my hardware I get to decide which apps are fullscreen-exclusive and which are borderless windowed, not microsoft.

    * For example this one: https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=172128
     
  19. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,476
    Likes Received:
    5,875
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I pay no attention to what end users say about anything when they misconfigure their pcs

    Windows 10 + Madvr will make use of the formers Direct Scan-out capabiliy and configure the depth of the screen directly, originally reported as a bug but it is intended and expected behavior.

    http://bugs.madshi.net/view.php?id=631

     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2022
  20. Ormy

    Ormy Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    3080Ti 12GB
    The bit in bold is correct only if HDR is enabled in windows settings. If the desktop and display are in SDR mode (and are not automatically put into HDR mode by playing a HDR video) then it will not work AFAIK.

    Comments at your link back this up:

     

Share This Page