NVIDIA GeForce 496.13 WHQL driver download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by valorex, Oct 12, 2021.

  1. buddybd

    buddybd Master Guru

    Messages:
    830
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    830MB after they dropped support? Huge!!
     
  2. valorex

    valorex Active Member

    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX9090 SuperTi 1Tb
    Nvidia did not provide a link to the standard driver.
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,816
    Likes Received:
    11,022
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/nvidis-shader-cache-still-again.418111/

    But the location (and the limit) was changing for years. You can simply search for a folder with the name "NV_Cache".
    I saw no posts about changing the location manually by users.

    Upd: Or "DxCache" folder...
     
  4. WhiskeyOmega

    WhiskeyOmega Master Guru

    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 MSI GXT
    Holy Hell :eek: They fixed DSC ! Not only is the 8k tv now actually showing 8k as its native resolution.
    I can switch resolutions without the display crashing!
    What miracle is this ?
     
    DeskStar and Cave Waverider like this.

  5. Bedouille69

    Bedouille69 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    3080
    Hello @ManuelG ,

    Always and always the audio cuts with HDMI !
    Back to 466.27 again and I'm not happy !
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2021
  6. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    • Vertical Sync options for Optimus notebook GPUs are now the same as for desktop GPUs.

    This is nice, it's good that Nvidia is removing some Optimus restrictions. Although it does not seem to work on my laptop, because the Intel driver for my HD 530 is stuck on WDDM 2.1
     
  7. SniperX

    SniperX Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    MSI RTX2080S Trio
    Imma set my shader cache to 8TB. /s :rolleyes::D
     
    ManuelG, DeskStar and PapaJohn like this.
  8. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    615
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    I have no idea why people think that GPU family support affects driver distribution size. This support hardly weighs megabytes.
     
    AQUILES likes this.
  9. windrunnerxj

    windrunnerxj Master Guru

    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 1060 6G
    Pretty sure DCH version includes standalone UWP control panel that doesn't require you to get one manually from the webstore.
     
    RodroG and Passus like this.
  10. loracle

    loracle Master Guru

    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    127
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 super
    If its the case, can i just install it like a standard version ?
     
    KrueLLa likes this.

  11. ivanosky

    ivanosky Active Member

    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 960M
    It does. It includes the Control Panel, and it sideloads it during the driver installation
     
    RodroG, DeskStar and mapnam charun like this.
  12. mapnam charun

    mapnam charun Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 1650 4GB GDDR6
    You can cut DCH driver with NVCleanstall with no problem, I tested with only driver, physx, hdaudio checked and it work.
     
    loracle likes this.
  13. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,106
    Likes Received:
    639
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Configurable shader cache limit size is a nice thing!
    I've also noticed that the driver fps limiter for Vulkan now limits at exactly the configured value.

    Though it's a bit sad that the YT stutter problem is still there with this initial r495 driver, as it seems to correlate with my issue in mpv/madVR (workaround: disabled MPO). I'm still wondering why MPO is enabled for single display users in the first place when it's not without issues and potential benefits are questionable (I'm not aware of any).
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2021
    Blackfyre likes this.
  14. BlackScout

    BlackScout Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    GTX 1660 6GB
    • Added Shader Cache Size control to set the maximum amount of disk space to use for storing shader compiles.
    That's pretty cool. Will allocate 10GB xD

    Also: %localappdata%\NVIDIA\DXCache
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2021
    BlindBison and PapaJohn like this.
  15. Pinstripe

    Pinstripe Master Guru

    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    RTX 3060 Ti
    What's the standard driver cache size anyways?
     
    BlindBison likes this.

  16. Wetryshka

    Wetryshka Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    GTX 1050Ti / 4 GB
    Dang. Is there a way to install Control Panel without Microsoft Store? I removed it from my Windows 10 using MSMG.
     
  17. Marcorelle

    Marcorelle Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    2080
    Hi guys , this open issue :
    [Windows 11]: Display goes blank when video is switched to full-screen with G-Sync enabled. [200778687] doesn't happen on all config , does it ?
    I just tried a video switched to full screen on my conf and absolutely no pblem with gsync enable , my screen displays the video normally and doesn't go blank.
     
    caleb59 likes this.
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,816
    Likes Received:
    11,022
    GPU:
    GF RTX 3060TI
    You just need to obtain an app bundle/package, and then you can install it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2021
  19. Nelly D Gamer

    Nelly D Gamer Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    Hopefully this will get rid of some stuttering in DX12 titles, it certainly seems to have helped with Far Cry 6.

    To those asking about default shader cache size I think it's determined on a game by game basis so it allocates hard drive space for each game and stores it to the game install folder or to a games save folder. Hopefully someone on here will correct me if I'm wrong :):)

    Either way I've allocated 100GB since I've got way too much free space on my OS drive.
     
    BlindBison, newls1 and PapaJohn like this.
  20. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,356
    Likes Received:
    615
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Seeing some +10% gains in DX12 in CPU limited scenarios on these (AC Valhalla for example).
     

Share This Page