NVIDIA GeForce 471.96 WHQL driver download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by valorex, Aug 31, 2021.

  1. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,849
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    3080 Ti and 471.96
    Tried GRWL and GRBP with DX and Vulkan, none of them crashes or closes down silently.
    Usually playing in DX cause of HDR / Auto HDR, but Vulkan did work too.

    Try vulkaninfo, should be like this for 471.96
    Code:
    ==========
    VULKANINFO
    ==========
    
    Vulkan Instance Version: 1.2.170
    
    
    Instance Extensions: count = 15
    ===============================
            VK_EXT_debug_report                    : extension revision 9
            VK_EXT_debug_utils                     : extension revision 2
            VK_EXT_swapchain_colorspace            : extension revision 4
            VK_KHR_device_group_creation           : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_display                         : extension revision 23
            VK_KHR_external_fence_capabilities     : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_external_memory_capabilities    : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_external_semaphore_capabilities : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_get_display_properties2         : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_get_physical_device_properties2 : extension revision 2
            VK_KHR_get_surface_capabilities2       : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_surface                         : extension revision 25
            VK_KHR_surface_protected_capabilities  : extension revision 1
            VK_KHR_win32_surface                   : extension revision 6
            VK_NV_external_memory_capabilities     : extension revision 1
    
    Layers: count = 10
    ==================
    GalaxyOverlayVkLayer (Galaxy Overlay Vulkan Layer) Vulkan version 1.1.73, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    GalaxyOverlayVkLayer_DEBUG (Galaxy Overlay Vulkan Layer) Vulkan version 1.1.73, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    GalaxyOverlayVkLayer_VERBOSE (Galaxy Overlay Vulkan Layer) Vulkan version 1.1.73, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_FPSMonitor (FPSMonitor layer) Vulkan version 1.2.131, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_NV_optimus (NVIDIA Optimus layer) Vulkan version 1.2.175, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_RENDERDOC_Capture (Mirillis Action Vulkan Layer) Vulkan version 1.2.135, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_ROCKSTAR_GAMES_social_club (Rockstar Games Social Club Layer) Vulkan version 1.0.70, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_VALVE_steam_fossilize (Steam Pipeline Caching Layer) Vulkan version 1.2.136, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_VALVE_steam_overlay (Steam Overlay Layer) Vulkan version 1.2.136, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    VK_LAYER_XSPLIT_64 (XSplit Capture and Overlay Layer) Vulkan version 1.1.74, layer version 1:
           Layer Extensions: count = 0
           Devices: count = 1
                   GPU id = 0 (NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080 Ti)
                   Layer-Device Extensions: count = 0
    
    

    Full paste https://pastebin.com/raw/NTShw2pu
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2021
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,668
    Likes Received:
    3,511
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    It's fine, similar to Yours (New SDK is avaible BTW).

    DOOM Et. w/RT working fine, same goes for VLK wrapper w/Reshade gaming.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2021
  3. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,849
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Not a game developer, so don't see a point to install the SDK, only using what the driver and games ship with.
     
  4. Benik3

    Benik3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Aorus E. RTX2080Ti
    How different is ReShade vs nVidia sharpening?
    I used before AMD sharpening and in my opinion it had better quality and lower performance impact then Reshade.
    Also it worked automatically on all games, which you can't say about Reshade (where you can have also problem with anticheat)
     

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,668
    Likes Received:
    3,511
    GPU:
    3080Ti VISION OC
    Generally with ReShade You'll have more options avaible.
    But the downside is that's not always working (rare).
     
  6. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    203
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    CAS in ReShade is the same as in RIS. Yes, Nvidia driver sharpen is just some kind of luma sharpen with grain detection. It causes ringing artifacts, while CAS does not. Nvidia should just replace theirs with CAS and make the minimum strength more adjustable vs. RIS like via ReShade...
     
  7. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,849
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    Older article, but covers the basics.
    Nvidia Freestyle vs. Radeon Image Sharpening vs. Reshade | TechSpot
    You can use the CAS/RIS shader from ReShade with GFE as well.
     
  8. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    203
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Yes, but as long as ReShade works, this is pointless, as adding at least one filter (doesn't seem to matter much which) via FreeStyle already adds an absurd overhead of ~10%. Whereas total costs of ReShade inject + CAS is more like ~3% if it works correctly (i.e. not regressed like versions after 4.8.2 in CyberPunk).
     
  9. X7007

    X7007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,674
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Sapphire 6900XT
    Do you have HAGS enabled? if you do, don't use stream/OBS with it enabled. disable it if you do.
     
  10. BlindBison

    BlindBison Master Guru

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Super
    Noticed an issue in Overwatch on this driver -- I don't recall this issue occurring prior to this and the last driver.

    Whenever I'm playing the game (G-Sync + Control Panel V-Sync ON + in-game FPS limit to 140 on 144 Hz monitor), it runs fine/smooth, BUT if I Alt+Tab out of the game then back in, sometimes it borks the whole thing and performance becomes worse and the game begins microstuttering frequently.

    I verified this several times and also tested disabling fullscreen optimizations, but it didn't help. The only way to fix this is to restart the game then just don't alt tab out. It did seem like sometimes alt tabbing would cause it and other times it wouldn't, but it's definitely the alt tabbing that's doing it. Once it does occur, it stays that way til reboot even if you manually switch the game to windowed mode then back to fullscreen for example.

    This is super annoying and I don't think this used to happen on older drivers.
     

  11. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,415
    Likes Received:
    839
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3060 Ti
    Its time for a new driver. :D
     
  12. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    281
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Ti
    GRD for Deathloop/Vanguard BETA is already delayed.
     
  13. windrunnerxj

    windrunnerxj Master Guru

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 1060 6G
    Wish GFE team would look into Freestyle optimization. I use it occasionally but it's insane how much it tanks performance in relative terms when it's active even with simplest filters.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2021
    aufkrawall2 likes this.
  14. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    I noticed that issue randomly when alt-tabbing in some games (not all)they don't recover properly after you alt-tab in and out.
    Current game that I'm playing that randomly seems to get the issue (because I alt-tab in and out alot) is pathfinder wrath of righteous and the game becomes a micro stutters mess the longer you play.Could be because its running Unity tho. (hehe POS engine)
     
    BlindBison likes this.
  15. Benik3

    Benik3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Aorus E. RTX2080Ti
    I don't have GF experience installed. I don't see reason to have to register to this bloatware...
     

  16. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,849
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 3080 Ti
    I don't use either these days, so didn't know about the overhead.
    For Cyberpunk I use DLSS 2.2.6.0, and I guess the build in CAS also does it's job.

    I started to use it for live streaming and recording, gives me less overhead than some other popular options.
     
  17. Ohmer

    Ohmer Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti DUKE OC
    Kingmaker was / is the same. Doubt the engine has changed any in the new game.
    I see you have an i9/9900K. The engine (or at least the Pathfinder implementation) DOES NOT like more than 4 cores, and can't use Hyperthreading/SMT properly either. I have a 2700X (also 8core/16thread) and it can be "fixed"

    The short version: Start the game > tab out to task manager > Set the core affinity for Kingmaker.exe to 0 / 2 / 4 / 6 only. So the first 4 physical cores only, no HT/SMT. Tab back in.
    For me, and others that lead me down this path originally, the stuttering is completely fixed, and there is also a SIGNIFICANT boost in FPS to be had. Yep, PoS engine to be sure.
    Try it.
     
  18. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    3080 tuf OC edition
    Not much of a difference.Camera still hitchy especially in dense areas.It's actually kinda worst in some instance with only 4 cores.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2021
  19. BlindBison

    BlindBison Master Guru

    Messages:
    893
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Super
    Glad it's not just me, super annoying issue. Ah Unity lol
     
  20. Mikeztm

    Mikeztm Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    HD7870XT
    Looks like HAGS is the issue. I haven't got a crash yet with HAGS disabled.
    So this is still a driver issue that need to be fixed by NVIDIA right?
     

Share This Page