Nvidia GeForce 457.51 WHQL driver download & discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by EdKiefer, Dec 2, 2020.

  1. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,935
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Additionally, Nvidia claims its feature will work equally well with Intel and AMD processors and can use the PCIe 3.0 bus, while AMD has already said that its solution requires an AMD Ryzen 5000 series processor, X570 motherboard, and Radeon RX 6000 GPU to work.

    Why Ampere only? Because if this is Nvidia supporting re-sizable BAR, or even something similar, I don't think Ampere has such special hw so that pre-Ampere GPUs could not be supported.
    And I am not asking because I am desperate for few fps in selected games. Is just that Nvidia has not been artificially limiting anything for quite some time.

    Might need a BIOS upgrade which would complicate pre-Ampere support.
     
    Gandul likes this.
  2. SpookySkeleton

    SpookySkeleton Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    no issues here, at least for what i play, everything is working as intended or at least i hope so.
     
  3. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Do you have a Riser cable?
     
  4. FR4GGL3

    FR4GGL3 Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming OC
    I'm not too deep into this. So I can't say for sure. But it feels like... :)

    Has anybody else problems with GeForce Experience? It says it can't find any Game Settings. It worked on the previous .30.
    It isn't that important. As GeForce Experience isn't that usefull in my eyes. I just wanted to mention it.
     

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    YT bsods are also commonly caused by bad risers too.
     
  6. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    397
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    It won't be Ampere only.
     
    Blackfyre, Noisiv and mbk1969 like this.
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,938
    Likes Received:
    8,248
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    WOW! Have not seen dr_rus` posts for a long time...
     
    Netherwind and Blackfyre like this.
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    It'll definitely be RTX only :D
     
  9. Gazebo

    Gazebo Master Guru

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 2070 Super
    No, I dont have a riser.
     
  10. Nastya

    Nastya Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti 11GB
    Where did these claims come from? All you can find on the internet is that it's in development for Ampere.
     

  11. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    enable kernel dumps and reproduce it, then upload it compressed (7z) to google drive, mail a link to ManuelG at driverfeedback@nvidia.com

    also save a dispdiag.exe dump and send that too.
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2020
  12. kurtextrem

    kurtextrem Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
    @ManuelG As I don't see other ways to ask for methodology of this, I am sorry to ping you here in this thread, but highly appreciate any replies. In this database: https://github.com/NVIDIA/Reflex-Latency-Analyzer-Mouse-Database/ you guys report the input lag tests that have been done with Nvidia Reflex in your lab. But it sadly does not tell anything about firmware implementations. E.g. could any company that reports the values to Nvidia Reflex using the firmware, manipulate the data?
     
  13. caleb59

    caleb59 Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 X 8GB
  14. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,687
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Are you asking why it is taking so long?
    If so I am pretty sure Nvidia might do checks on most popular apps/games to make sure there no regression in performance with larger memory access. Maybe they can tune each app, not sure about that, but that is my guess, it will come.
     
    caleb59 likes this.
  15. rab3072

    rab3072 Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 ULTRA
    I'm running a 3080. But got HAGS on and no problems strangely.
     

  16. hadewych1200

    hadewych1200 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    I dont see the reason of this driver, if Cyberpunk Ready Driver its coming soon btw.
     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,687
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    [NVIDIA Ampere architecture GPU]: Blue-screen crash may occur upon waking from sleep.[3173027]
    That would be considered a major bug and needs to be fixed ASAP.
     
    Gandul likes this.
  18. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    148
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 ROG Strix
    Red Dead Online crashes for me when I load into game after the loading screen (the menus work fine before I join the game) in DX12 Mode (with the error message ERR_GFX_STATE). No problems with Vulkan. I'm not sure whether it was the latest game update or the new Nvidia 457.51 drivers with my RTX 3090 that are causing this.

    I haven't noticed any problems with other DX12 games.

    Is anybody else having this issue?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2020
  19. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    Nvidia has had Resizeable bar support under development and testing for a long time, so it may actually make it to next weeks driver (it might not too), temper your expectations, if they don't think its ready yet it won't be available.

    The Dirt Showdown slowdown caused by crowds might be fixed too.

    I can't wait to see how 460 benches with quite a few games that have not scaled well on RTX parts :)
     
    Netherwind and Mustang104 like this.
  20. FR4GGL3

    FR4GGL3 Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming OC
    If the resisable BAR support is buggy, then you can turn off the BIOS/UEFI settings needed to use it. But I don't know what could possibly go wrong. If dataloss would be an issue, then such a try and error game would really be a no go.
     

Share This Page