1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nvidia Geforce 417.21 HotFix - Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Alberto, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. nick0323

    nick0323 Master Guru

    Messages:
    930
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Palit GTX970 Jetstream OC
    Unfortunately not. In an ideal world I should be able to apply a profile, which stores it to some sort of chip/cache on the water pump and then uninstall the software. But it doesn't have the ability to remember settings.
     
  2. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,205
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Ok, but it does have fan curves I would think but that may not support water cooling.
     
    nick0323 likes this.
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,255
    Likes Received:
    1,400
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Or use mobo cpu header for both fans and then control it with asus suite3 - xfan control. I have that older version what around 2014 or so and only for fan control and never had any issues with it.
     
    nick0323 likes this.
  4. Vidik

    Vidik Master Guru

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming Z
    Do you guys have higher temps with this driver, or it's time for me to replace thermal paste on the GPU?:confused:
    I noticed it got loud under load and was hitting 82C in some games (2.5 year old msi 1070 gaming X) Maybe it's just timing, because I didn't play much for a couple of weeks before installing new drivers.
     

  5. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    197
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    cleaned the dust out?
     
    Vidik likes this.
  6. Vidik

    Vidik Master Guru

    Messages:
    538
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming Z
    Yep, do it every 6 months. It genuinely looks like new.

    Edit
    Ordered some NT-H1, hopefully that would do the trick.
     
  7. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    197
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    Can't hurt mate
     
  8. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Gaming X
    So they mean the edge fix that sometimes websites wont load like a blank screen ?, i am having issues lately with some websites that wont load, unles i use a private window its very odd.

    For example i cant login to YouTube with edge anymore unless i use private mode.
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    496
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no, that has nothng to do with nvidia.

    sounds like an issue i had, where the ie cache was set to the wrong location.
     
  10. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    1080 Ti Gaming X
    How did u fixed that if i may ask ?
     

  11. freeman94

    freeman94 Master Guru

    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR
    Hello, I have question.
    I just buy the GTX 1070 and connected it to my 4K HDR TV and try to setup the hdr in windows 10
    I manage to do that, HDR Signal manage to show up, but the colours are faded, and bad + I tought that when connecting to 4K TV the 3840 × 2160 resolution would be "recommended" the "native" but its not, it says that 1920x1080 is recommended.
    I Have TV connected by the HDMI=>HDMI cable.
    The cable it self is cheap, but it says High Speed with ethernet and the 4K 60Hz is working fine without issues, same with HDR it toggles on so it should be good but its not, the same cable is connected to my TV BOX and there is no problem getting clear, vivid 2160p/60Hz HDR content.

    What Colours settings should I have settup rgb,ycbcr 442,444 8bit,10bit,12bit?
    My TV is 8bit+FRC so I set it up for 10bit, but I tested all settings from 8bit to 12bit, RGB to ycbcr, also the full,limited etc. Nothing helps. HDR looks bad in Windows 10.
     
  12. tensai28

    tensai28 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    365
    GPU:
    2080ti MSI X TRIO
    I"ve always found hdr to absolutely terrible on my tv so I never use it. Would like an aswer to this as well if I am doing anything wrong. I've always set it to full rgb.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018
  13. vf

    vf Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,728
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon™
    What do you see on each mode? https://www.avforums.com/threads/co...-60hz-4-4-4-10-bit-hdr.2059833/#post-24297879
     
  14. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    496
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders

    make sure Cache is set to REG_EXPAND_SZ %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Temporary Internet Files

    The issue i had was it had somehow become changed to the profile of a different user account, no write access so no way to cache pages.
     
  15. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    408
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    Had 417.21 Standard installed, and it kept giving me weird issues. Movies would flash screen upon start of playback, some games would just crap out on me for no apparent reason. So I decided to reinstall, and the package wouldn't, failing on driver install. So I DDU, and it then started barking about wanting only the DCF version.

    So I caved in after the 4th attempt, and installed the DCF. It notified me of the new NVCP app was installed, and now everything is working properly. Annoying af.
     

  16. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    496
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    its basically the same driver package, so sounds like a clean install of the standad package would have done the same.
     
  17. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    408
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    No it did not. The normal packages would refuse to install, citing to use GFE to get the correct package, even after doing DDU in safe mode. What's weirder is that they worked BEFORE, but not now. Maybe it has to do with some 1809 update? Or I have some registry entry tripping it,
     
  18. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    496
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    no, its because windows update installed a dch driver, need to uninstall, ddu, then install standard drive without the internet connected.
     
  19. Cave Waverider

    Cave Waverider Master Guru

    Messages:
    858
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    Last time I tried 1809 (that was when it was first released, though, so it might have been changed) disabling automatic driver installation didn't work, even with DDU. Try disconnecting from the internet, running DDU in safe mode, then installing the drivers before you reconnect your PC to the internet.
     
  20. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    408
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    You forget that Windows includes drivers. :) It's ok, I am not going to fret over this, since this is not the first time this has happened.
     

Share This Page