Nvidia GeForce 385.28 WHQL Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Alberto, Aug 14, 2017.

  1. RedruM-X

    RedruM-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Been busy with a replay of Witcher 3 lately, I did some sessions of 3+ hours on 382.53 without issues.

    Installed these and had 3 WHEA uncorrectable error BSOD's in 2 and half hours.

    Went back to 382.53 and everything ok again.
     
  2. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    333
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    Have the developer made any statements that they've improved it on NV's cards? If no then why would it be better? It's up to the devs to fix these things in DX12 and Vulkan.
     
  3. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,171
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    DSR works but Hellblade seems to have issues with it. You can select a DSR res. but resolution doesn't change in reality.
     
  4. tyguy

    tyguy Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 1070
    If they have, it would have been in stealth. I realize dx12 implementation is up to the devs.
     

  5. Derko1

    Derko1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x1080s
    For all of you having issues with getting DSR to work, you will need to use the games internal downsampler.

    Go to: C:\Users\~~~~\AppData\Local\HellbladeGame\Saved\Config\WindowsNoEditor

    In the engine.ini file paste the following.... 200% is equivalent to 4k.

     
  6. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    gtx 1080ti
    I had the WHEA uncorrectable errors with the 384.xx drivers, turning off turbo in BIOS fixed it. I was told the 4790K's have an issue with turbo mode caused by to low CPU voltage. You could try to up your CPU voltage and see if it stabilizes. I don't have a good enough CPU cooler to attempt it.

    Google it, that is where I found this out.

    Thanks to all that replied to my TW3 question. Now I will start looking for a cure.
     
  7. VF1Snarf

    VF1Snarf New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 4gb
    No issues on windows 7 here......anyone still on windows 7? lol
     
  8. pharma

    pharma Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    181
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Yep, no issues here as well. :)
     
  9. Dagda

    Dagda Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 super
    You can fix that selecting the dsr resolution in desktop and then opening the game using dsr already, now thw game can be played at desired dsr resolution.
     
  10. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,858
    Likes Received:
    134
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Ti GX Trio
    You were still able to overclock after turning Turbo off in the UEFI? I've got my 4770k clocked to match a 4790k, but any driver after 382.xx gives me tons of BSOD's and crashes.
     

  11. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming 8G
    All I care about is whether No Man's Sky runs better with any driver after 384.76.
     
  12. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    gtx 1080ti
    Honestly, I think the problem I am talking about may only apply s to the 4790K. It is an issue where the BIOS doesn't apply enough core voltage the the CPU when turbo kicks in " I read that the 4790K's are unstable under 1.2 v". That causes the WHEA error, because the CPU becomes unstable.

    I would need to install a better cooler to test.

    You can always turn turbo boost off and test, on some over clocks turbo can cause issues.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  13. Bloodred217

    Bloodred217 Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x GTX 1080 G1 Gaming 8GB
    Is that an issue regarding stock 4790Ks? I've never had any issues like that with mine running 4.7 on an older Z87 or on my current Z97.
     
  14. FordLynx07

    FordLynx07 Member Guru

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 FE
    Driver is working good in all my systems. I've noticed the opening speed improvement of
    the nvcp too! Nice!
     
  15. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Dota 2 Vulkan still had glitches.
     

  16. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,984
    Likes Received:
    333
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 OC
    NMS runs exactly the same on all drivers since its release. If you want to play with vsync enable triple buffering in NV's CPL for NMS.
     
  17. RedruM-X

    RedruM-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    I get what you're saying, but seeing that going back to 382.53 fixes the issue it has nothing to do with the voltages of my CPU otherwise I'd be having it with 382.53 also.
     
  18. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 AMP! • H75
    Not saying that is the issue in your case, but newer drivers are always pushing your gpu to be the best it can be.Sometimes it can put stress on the rest of the system in doing so.

    I'm sure you're well aware that stability in synthetic stress tests doesn't always mean it's stable in very demanding games.

    But it can also mean the new driver is poop lol!

    OT: I too am experiencing some lagginess in W3 that was not present with 384.94...have a couple options in nvcpl that I usually customize under the global profile, so going to try default settings later and see if that fixes it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  19. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    gtx 1080ti
    When you overclock you usually raise the core voltage. So I'm guessing this is only due to stock voltages at stock CPU speeds. Turbo boosts to 4 gigs but apply s about .85 volts in my case. My understanding is the 4790K needs 1.2 volts to remain stable at that clock. Or at least some like mine do.

    In the other guys case, turbo may be boosting past stability.

    A WHEA error is almost always a CPU hardware fault.

    Hope this clears this up.
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  20. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    gtx 1080ti
    What I thought too.

    A WHEA uncorrectible error is almost always a hardware fault.

    Going back to the 382.53 also fixed it for me, but I did a little research and found many with the 4790K with this issue.

    Turning off turbo, like many others, fixed the issue for me, I cant say what in the newer drivers is triggering this, maybe the driver is too aggressive.
     

Share This Page