Nvidia GeForce 378.78 Driver Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by peppercute, Mar 9, 2017.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,811
    Likes Received:
    2,370
    GPU:
    3080TI iChill Black
    It did, 378.77 has physx fix.
     
  2. Vidik

    Vidik Master Guru

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    220
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming Z

    They only mention changes from previous WHQL release.
     
  3. darktranq

    darktranq Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080Ti FE
    Might be a coincidence, might not.
    But had my first total system crash last night playing Siege on my new system build from October.
    Entire game locked up and couldn't do anything but hard reset the PC.
    Only thing I changed was the installation of 378.78.

    Might try some system testing today, may have to rollback if it's the driver.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  4. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,234
    Likes Received:
    2,952
    GPU:
    MSI RX6800XT G.XT.
    Ah, should have read more carefully.
     

  5. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080 10GB
    This driver works no different than any other driver from nVidia I have tried.

    Don't see any increases or decreases.
     
  6. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    662
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    What type of crash? BSD? app stopped working? other error messages?
     
  7. darktranq

    darktranq Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080Ti FE
    As my post said, Siege locked up, couldn't quit out of it, alt-f4, ctl-alt-del, ctl-shift-esc, all unresponsive. No error messages.

    This is only after 15-20 minutes of playing. Previous to that incident yesterday, I could play games all night.
    Only difference being the driver.

    I'm going to recheck the Nvidia control panel settings after doing the clean install, I know Forza Horizon 3 needs shader cache turned off, and put performance to maximum so I'll check those settings.

    Then I might run a long running graphics test to see if it doesn't crash again.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
  8. pato9

    pato9 Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 S
  9. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @pato9 please edit 378.66. yeah i agreed with u that maxwell user should stay with 368.69 but overall 378.78 is really good if anyone gonna play the latest games.
     
  10. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    171
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080 GPRO
    Something weird going on with these drivers and my multimonitor setup, I have 3 Gsync screens and a projector 3x times my screens flashed on and off and my projector lost it's signal, no system crashes but after checking event viewer I had one explorer crash seems strange to me, previous driver I had none of these issues, think i'm gonna roll back as something's not right.
     

  11. PapaJohn

    PapaJohn Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    MSI Gam'Z 3080 12G
    I just had my first BSOD on Windows 10 for over a year. Only thing that has changed was these drivers.....hmmm.

    I'll keep them and see if it was just an anomaly.
     
  12. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    326
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    If you had crash problems, check event viewer for any clues and see if a dump file was created (path for Win10 default is "C:\Users\[User-name]\AppData\Local\CrashDumps".
    If anything is found see if it points to a Nvidia module or DLL.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2017
  13. rla1999

    rla1999 Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1080 TI FE
    Cool. I can't wait to try my two 980s.
     
  14. Mr1Paulo

    Mr1Paulo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 2080 AMP
    i noticed, the max temp on my GPU for a day lowered, its only 73 used to be 80 degrees max. noticed the max core clock on msi afterburner only reached 1800+ for the day but in my previous driver (376.09), i get 1900+.
     
  15. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,494
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    GPU:
    PNY 4070 Ti XLR8
    Probably just a one off.

    I had mine about a month or 2 ago, it was a 124 error which could be anything.

    Things like that can happen out of the blue.
     

  16. PapaJohn

    PapaJohn Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    110
    GPU:
    MSI Gam'Z 3080 12G
    OK so it said memory corruption. Not had another one yet and I have been stress testing it with synthetics and games for the past few hrs so probaby just a one off. sfc /scannow showed no problems either.

    If anything happens again I'll post, but only if there's a definite link with the drivers. On that note, everything seems to be running great. ROTTR, BF1, Deus EX MD so would like to just keep these running :)
     
  17. Russ369

    Russ369 Master Guru

    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FE
    Im getting screen tearing on my desktop with this driver, never had any issues
     
  18. tfam26

    tfam26 Guest

    Other than Hitman DX12 I'm not seeing any noticeable gains outside of the margin of error. Going with the trend lately, maybe they need to hotfix the performance boost..?
     
  19. remicius

    remicius Master Guru

    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 Ti
    The Hunter Call Of The Wild SLI PROFILE?does it have?
     
  20. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    326
    GPU:
    ASUS TUF 3060ti
    I was going to post my system was running very stable and I have played many hrs of BF1 and BF4 but just now in BF4 got a lockup with looping sound (I have got these in past but not in long time).
    No crashlog or anything in eventviewer, I couldn't bring taskmanger up correctly, got white window, but system was alt-tabing, KB working.
    I had to hit shutdown and then hit power button on case to really shutdown.
     

Share This Page