Nvidia GeForce 364.72 WHQL driver download & discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by masterchan777, Mar 28, 2016.

  1. pstlouis

    pstlouis Master Guru

    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Aorus Xt
    Video driver have control on the refresh of the display. If for a reason the driver change the frequency of the horizontal and vertical refresh to a higher value that is not compatible with the screen frequency that will damage the screen.
     
  2. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,954
    Likes Received:
    959
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Nah, you'll just get a blackscreen for a few seconds and usually an error message from the display (out of range for example) and it will reset. The driver does not do this on it's own. The user has to set a custom refresh rate.
     
  3. bishi

    bishi Master Guru

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI
    This hasn't been true since CRT
     
  4. Elajitz

    Elajitz Master Guru

    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Ventus
    Does any one else have UI Flickering in GFE "Share" games crash when trying to stream and record!.. :/
     

  5. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    462
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Video driver has a choice of several modes which are exposed by a display's firmware via PnP. If a display exposes something which it doesn't support or exposes some mode incorrectly then it's not an issue of the video driver. If a display doesn't have protection from running an unsupported mode which may even damage it then it's definitely not an issue of a video driver either.
     
  6. pstlouis

    pstlouis Master Guru

    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Aorus Xt
    :3eyes::3eyes:
    If peoples overclock their monitor with evga precision x16 then it is possible that they exceed the frequency that it supported by their monitor and make it fail. If NVIDIA did a error like in the pass about the fan control it is possible that they act an a way to exceed the values of those frequency and make the monitor fail like evga precision do. I know generaly that the driver doesn't exceed the values supported by the monitor. :3eyes:
     
  7. CrazyBaldhead

    CrazyBaldhead Master Guru

    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Stop. Please. The cringe.
     
  8. yobooh

    yobooh Master Guru

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1
    I have sporadic UI flickering using 2 application that uses the GPU (3ds Max+Memu Android Emulator for example) and sometimes BSOD >_<
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2016
  9. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    802
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    ASUS RTX 3070 Ti
    Jesus Christ that hurt to read!
     
  10. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    Weird. on my screen, when I try to create a custom resolution with a refresh rate beyond specs, all I get is a black screen. no damage, no issues.
     

  11. Elajitz

    Elajitz Master Guru

    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    78
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI Ventus
    back to 364.51 until Nvidia get there **** together! xD
     
  12. Boostereric

    Boostereric New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GT 630 Mx ( notebook
    Cuda support

    Hi guys
    so her'es the thing. i'm using a video converter who has CUDA support, but it seems since long time ago Nvidia changed his api , so my software didn't recognice my card ( gt 630mx) actually suing the 359.00 driver
    so is there a modded driver that can use cuda ( like i saw on an old 340 version)
    doesn't matter if it's on 359 or the new 364.72.
    Ps : i really don't want to downgrade my actual driver cuze works fine for my other software.
    thanks every one
     
  13. mahanddeem

    mahanddeem Master Guru

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Asus GTX1080Ti StrX
    Better smoother perf for my 980G1.
    100 points more in Firestrike too.
     
  14. pstlouis

    pstlouis Master Guru

    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Aorus Xt
    had 3 crash one with rise of tomb raider, batman arkham knight and star war batllefront. Roll back to 364.51 and all my games ok.
     
  15. MediumChill

    MediumChill Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 970
    I'm getting an odd issue with any driver that isn't 359.

    Over the course of a day, the power % reported in afterburner eventually gets 'stuck' and stops fluctuating until I restart the machine. It doesn't cause immediate issues, but eventually the driver will stop responding. This has occurred with the latest 3 drivers I've tried.

    So I've been using 359 for awhile since it behaves normally and the power % will idle and adjust accordingly.

    Anyone else seen this? I'd like a newer driver, hopefully in time for Dark souls 3.
     

  16. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    No issue here, but on GTX 980 SLI.

    Have you tried re-installing Afterburner?

    I know it can have issues reporting accurately if you try to install new drivers with Afterburner open.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2016
  17. MediumChill

    MediumChill Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 970
    Sort of. When I first noticed this issue I installed the newest version to see if it was AB related. And since I learned of it some time ago, I always close AB before driver installs.

    Oh, worth noting, not currently OCing gpu.
     
  18. yobooh

    yobooh Master Guru

    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970 G1
    Try Mediacoder. It's Free and has always the latest cuda encoder.
    I don't think it's a great benefit over CPU conversion if you have a low cuda core count.
    In general Cuda encoding needs more MB/s than CPU to reach the same quality
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2016
  19. Lucifer

    Lucifer Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Colorful GTX 1060
    I got this too, after leaving my comp idle for almost a night. But after I restarted ab, all is well again. I'm on 361.91 though.
     
  20. Skylaw

    Skylaw New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Since I've installed 374.72 on my PC, everything is running perfectly fine. But, I've started to experiment some hair lost suddenly. I've spoke to a Nvidia representative and they give me a really good service, they are sending me two awesome wigs.

    Thanks to Nvidia! I still have some dignity
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2016

Share This Page