Nvidia Geforce 358.87 WHQL Driver download & discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by stasio, Nov 4, 2015.

  1. kakkoii

    kakkoii Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780ti 3GB SC ACX
    There are three layers to Nvidia's ASYNC implementation, it starts with the purely software Grid Management Queue, which holds onto pending operations and then sends them to the software based work distributor, and then from there, that sends them to the hardware async warp schedulers. Those two software parts need to be updated for DX12 ASYNC compute functionality.

    In the AMD chips, it is all handled in-hardware.

    This bad PR has not influenced my thinking in the way your are implying. I am simply worried about how it is influencing the general public's thinking. And I'm not an AMD fan by any means.

    http://www.dsogaming.com/news/nvidi...nc-compute-via-driver-support-oxide-confirms/
    http://www.extremetech.com/extreme/...ading-amd-nvidia-and-dx12-what-we-know-so-far
     
  2. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    Also forgot to mention, while f1 2015 in game own vsync doesn´t tank performance when restarting races, it suffers some odd behavior in some turns during races, it´s like the pace of the game accelerates for a fraction of a second, not easy to notice but I don´t have that on older drivers like the one I´m still using (353.49). Didn´t test more to see if the *vid mem CTD is still there because game seems broken enough (also a problem with latest drivers in this game for some people even with 980´s).

    *[​IMG]

    http://forums.codemasters.com/discu...n-it-self-and-windows-8-1-lockscreen-comes-on

    Texture allocation crash seems common too:

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/286570/discussions/0/541906989399497855/
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2247440
    http://forums.codemasters.com/discussion/28305/texture-allocation-failure




    That´s some fix he... welcome to the beta testers club.
     
  3. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    latest driver are really shame for those who plays Borderlands 2 and BLTPS, physx performance are non exist, GPU is not utilized, only driver that works perfect is 355.84.

    in addition to it, ra2 has pink corruption, therfore need to play on low resolution for it to work.
     
  4. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    ¿What´s ra2?
     

  5. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Grid management unit is hardware. Work distributor is grid management unit. Warp schedulers are hardware.

    In NV chips all this is handled in hardware as well. Don't trust sources like WCCFTech and DSOGaming blindly as they don't know what they're talking about 99% of the time.

    Ah but it is. Your wording clearly shows this. Async queues can be handled serially as well as concurrently -- both are perfectly withing DX12 specs. NV's async compute queues are hardware and not software.

    Whatever they're planning on doing in drivers is not the support for async queues in general but most likely a system which will decide whether to launch an async compute job concurrently with graphics one or serially as depending on the current workload a concurrent launch may result in a performance loss compared to a serialized one.

    Yeah it incredibly hard to hit Win+P a couple of times.
     
  6. nick0323

    nick0323 Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    48
    GPU:
    Asus DUAL RTX2060S
    Does this driver also include the hotfix for G-SYNC that was provided for in 358.59?
     
  7. MichaelT

    MichaelT Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 970m 3GB
    G-Sync Fix

    The release notes say the G-Sync fix is included.
     
  8. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    that's why I said, copy skyrim settings into the fallout profile.

    The profile itself in current drivers doesn't have any special settings like SLI bits and such, it justs exists.
     
  9. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    Red alert 2, i seriously have no idea why all driver besides 355.84 do those two issues.
     
  10. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    K-lite codec pack (Media player classic) does not work anymore with this driver!
    Black screen (and when i turn on fullscreen, it crash)

    Win10 64 bits, gtx670

    Fix it please!
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2015

  11. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    no issue here. please kindly reinstall.
     
  12. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,932
    Likes Received:
    1,791
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    no issues here either
     
  13. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    712
    GPU:
    RX 580
    I got the same exact graphical score in 3DMARK with 358.87 as with the previous 358.78.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2015
  14. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Why would you even use something like a codec pack? It's a generator of bugs and compatibility issues all around. Use a player which comes with LAV filters instead - like MPC-HC or VLC.
     
  15. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    actually K-lite codec pack is working better for me.

    I can actually use nvidia cuvid.

    before in other release I had black screen. but now its working.
     

  16. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    K-lite codec pack include MPC.

    so it just another version of it.
     
  17. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    avoid using cuvid. just use dvxa-cb
     
  18. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,017
    Likes Received:
    381
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    It doesn't matter what they include. You don't need any codec pack with a proper player.
     
  19. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Yeah it comes from Cuvid with lav video.

    Well, it needs to be fixed anyway
     
  20. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    It is useful if you want to get a better picture quality. Unless you give me THE best player you are using XD
     

Share This Page