Nvidia Geforce 344.16 BETA Driver

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by DeathAngel74, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. pharma

    pharma Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    484
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    These drivers are really good with Skyrim ... buttery smooth and no noticeable stutters. :)
     
  2. DeathAngel74

    DeathAngel74 Master Guru

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti FTW3 Hbrd
  3. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,081
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    Just reporting after the first driver not responding issue I had in BF4, It never happened again since up to this point in time.
     
  4. DeathAngel74

    DeathAngel74 Master Guru

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti FTW3 Hbrd
    I really like the crispness and IQ of these drivers now that I have them installed properly.

    2560x1440 downsampling on 1920x1080 Samsung 42 in. HDTV
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,666
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    I've never installed GFE but is it really needed? Especially since I run SLI? I remember reading somewhere that some features require GFE but I don't remember in which thread I read it.
     
  6. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Msi 680 Gtx Twin Frozr
    I had that with 344.11 so I upgraded to this one and never head the issue again, knock on wood (no I´m not supersticious knock on wood).
     
  7. pharma

    pharma Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    484
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    No, it's not required.
     
  8. pistol44

    pistol44 Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti (FE)
    I can tell you for me it was. I couldn't enable DSR in the NCP global settings until I fiddled with GFE. There was no where to enable it in GFE however, when I let it search for games and checked the suggested optimizations, it did show 4K resolutions in the optimized settings. Once I said yes to a couple suddenly DSR showed up as enabled with 4.0 being the scaling factor.

    Maybe it was just a bug in the driver for me but I spent a solid 2 hours trying to figure out how to get mine enabled. Even installed both beta and WHQL drivers.
     
  9. Lucifer

    Lucifer Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Colorful GTX 1060
    installed 344.16 WHQL yesterday, is it the same driver to this BETA ?

    get almost the same score in Valley compare to 344.11 with stock speed 1020~1163 / 1750

    344.11 = 3185
    344.16 = 3219

    but with 344.11 sometime I got huge frame time spike when playing some games (Last Remnants, Grid Autosports, Tomb Raider).

    haven't encounter the same thing with 344.16, yet ...
     
  10. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,326
    Likes Received:
    333
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
    recommended to install 344.11 on my 750 ti?
     

  11. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,666
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    I finally found some information that some SLI profiles must be downloaded through GFE so I suppose I need it after all.

    Also the DSR thing, I'll try it someday.
     
  12. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    After testing .11 and these this statement is hard to believe. I have been running these for awhile and will keep running them for a bit more to test. They are different for me compared to the .11's and I do not have a 9 series.

    Regards
     
  13. Lucifer

    Lucifer Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Colorful GTX 1060
    Don't know man, I only tried this driver for a day, not to mention we have different cards. I'll post later if I find something with this driver.
     
  14. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,279
    Likes Received:
    2,759
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    I'm pretty sure that Nvidia could release two drivers exactly the same and users would report gains and losses between them.
     
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,162
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    What did you notice differently?
     

  16. DeathAngel74

    DeathAngel74 Master Guru

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti FTW3 Hbrd
    I have a gtx 750 and these are fine for me so far
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2014
  17. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    different version of PhysX.

    This one crashes my benches the 11 did not.

    This one does not suffer from micro stutter, the 11 did.

    This one I am smoke in wtno like butter the 11 did not.

    Difference files, sizes and crc's.

    Regards
     
  18. DV2FOX

    DV2FOX New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1
    From some users' help i've placed 2 folders in the Windows folder to supposedly enable CUDA again.

    Using latest 344.16 drivers WHQL on a GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming card.

    However,using a GPU Monitor gadget,i see that it won't go beyond the 8%/200MB VRAM usage on Adobe Premiere Pro CC 2014 when exporting a 720p@29,7FPS H.264 MP4 vid

    Same goes with Pinnacle Studio 12,although this last one (PS12) seems to render much more faster,using around 350-450MB of the 970.

    What's going on?...Sure i do game hard but...Editing's also a thing for me

    And sorry if i posted in a wrong thread,but the CUDA thing has been discussed here since Post N.1.
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,162
    Likes Received:
    1,920
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    by different physx you mean the latest 9.14.0702?

    Crashes your benches, more sensitive to oc or at same freq.?

    Where did you experience micro stutter?

    I dont get this "I am smoke in wtno", you mean Wolfenstein nwo, so they're smoother there vs 344.11? :nerd:


    yes I do believe its different size etc, its different sub branch after all :)
     
  20. Shayne

    Shayne Master Guru

    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    ^^^^

    Yes

    Yes

    Gaming: very susceptible to it

    So it is a different branch, sry don't keep up on all that, just test them and if they work for me I keep them, have not watched a lot of video on the big screen yet but for gaming they are the fastest driver I have tried for a while. No 40's I have kept until these.

    Just last minute fixes for my 980 sli setup, I wish :nerd: Maybe a 970 down the road as they appear to be cheap but will need to read more benches to see if it is worth it, I could of bought a 680 for the price of a 670 and 970 and that is what I will base the 970 on, the 680. I would love to see a 8g memory model for my 2560 screen, think that may happen?

    Regards
     

Share This Page