Nvidia GeForce 331.93 BETA - Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by RPGgamesplayer, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. kaingr

    kaingr Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    gigabyte waterforce 1080
    tj i feel for u man the 570 had so much potential in ocing it spoiled you i have one custom cooled with accelero 3 and biosmoded to allow more volts and i loved it like a mofo but i experienced way to many driver crashes and its unstable passed 930 mhz depends on the chip though.One thing i learned from it is never go gently with her get rough and bake it maybe it will come back to life .My 570 liked the abuse so expirament with it u got nothing to lose and its kinda fun....
     
  2. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Yes, you can set them manually, but why would you want to do that, when you can just set XMP profile? And OC'ed CPU isn't mandatory, but higher memory frequency will help, if you're overclocking FSB.
     
  3. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    What I meant was that you can't just rise frequency without setting the correct timings. And doing so manually won't change them, resulting into BSoD and crashes.
     
  4. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    Why would you want to do that, well, easy: Because the XMP profile either doesn't work well or there's still headroom left for better timings/frequency.
    Of course you can use it, the point is though that you don't *need* to use it.
    And yes, there are platforms (or were? could've been a while) where you needed to overclock your bus (no matter how it may be called) to gain a certain memory speed, for example if the platform doesn't provide the memory multiplier needed.
     

  5. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Hmm, those platforms are really old and most probably dead for a long time.
    Some mobos have list of certified RAM modules (ASUS mobos are known for this). So if you use different modules and you start experiencing stability issues, you know why.
    XMP profile is set by manufacturer. Which means those values are suppose to work. If they don't (and you know your mobo support those modules), you should return them for warranty.
     
  6. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,046
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    system wont run stable at all with the XMP enabled.

    and it all same hyperxblu memory cards.


    if I change the timings to higher values its runs more stable. but will bsod later in the day.

    I think the problem is the voltage required for the cards(1.65) is past the standard
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  7. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    @terepin: Not necessarily something that's extremely old. Depends what you'd call old! The CPU I'm still running won't let me use more than a 2133 memory multiplier. I'm using faster RAM though. If I wanted to use that speed I'd need to raise the bus speed a little.

    XMP isn't supposed to do anything but make life easier. Profiles often use command rates of 1 while 2 would usually be the better option (for stability).
    XMP settings are great as a guideline, a first step. Nothing more.
     
  8. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    Well that depends if your mobo supports more than 2133.
    Mine has 2. My previous RAM had 2 as well. Just saying.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  9. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    Yes, at least two for me also but they won't always have a "matching" one. My previous Corsair RAM, for example, only hat 1T command rate in its XMP profiles. This G.Skill RAM now has profiles with 1T and 2T.
    As I said, XMP is just there to aid and give a rough guideline. Nothing more.
     
  10. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    I am running on XMP profile just fine.
     

  11. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,041
    Likes Received:
    111
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    So? It still doesn't prove the point you were trying to make. And it's horribly OT also.
     
  12. Terepin

    Terepin Master Guru

    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S GAMING X
    I am not denying what you are saying. :) I just wanted to point out that you can function on XMP profile without any modifications if you want.
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,198
    Likes Received:
    1,938
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    some more offtopic from me

    aye and I tested further and finally made it stable at 2400mhz via XMP, the tirck was in 7-8 adv timings, default sets to high and I get 25gb/s instead of 35gb/s. ;)

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    But I will try lower tRFC, 313 looks a bit high default at 2133mhz is 171.

    edit:
    trfc 214 is perfect :D
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2014
  14. MAD5

    MAD5 Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SLI Titan EVGA / ASUS
    I saw just today techpowerup put this driver online on their site, but I have it running since more than a month, like this thread. It is the same version more than a month later? or they changed something? It is very strange for me because they usually put new drivers download the same day they appear on NVidia site.
     
  15. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    744
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    Been using these almost a month and a half and I would like some more single card optimizations for BF4/AC4 and Nvidia is refusing to deliver. Any word on a new driver?
     

Share This Page