Nvidia GeForce 320.18 WHQL Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by stasio, May 23, 2013.

  1. southamptonfc

    southamptonfc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    318
    GPU:
    GB 3080ti Vision OC
    Have they fixed the system lockup issues with the beta?
     
  2. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Yeah, 320 betas gave me bsod's. I don't think any other driver has ever done that to me. I think I'll sit this one out and watch.
     
  3. Xploder

    Xploder Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX1080 A8G
    10 minutes in I got my first freeze/full system lockup, just like with 320.14 which froze up 3 times during Metro, surfing the web and idling on the desktop.

    Back to 314.22 (again)
     
  4. BillieGDJoe

    BillieGDJoe Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 560 TI GTX HAWK
    Same here. Hoping for the best!
     

  5. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    I was getting some strange hang ups with the first two 320 betas I tried, but nothing since.

    What bugcheck code do you guys get with BSOD?
     
  6. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    I forget rewt, one mentioned a driver specifically trying to access a memory space in use or something like that. The other I didn't bother looking up, chalked it up to the same issue since i reverted drivers and no bsods.
     
  7. Xploder

    Xploder Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX1080 A8G
    For me there was never a BSOD, just a complete lockup.
    After a reboot there's usually a nvlddmkm error in the event log (event 14?).

    Windows seems to unsuccessfully try to reset the driver and the fan spins up to 100% when I wait like 30secs.
     
  8. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    Okay thanks. If you're interesting in finding the actual bugcheck code/message, you could probably inspect your Windows minidumps if they exist.

    I just remembered that I converted my USB mouse over to serial trying to avoid that system hang. I wonder if this is why I no longer have a problem.. lol
     
  9. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    So far everything seems to be working fine on W8 Pro 64 bit.

    If anyone is interested:

    (branch: r319_00-151)
     
  10. Sergio

    Sergio Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Asus 760 DirectCU II OC
    i had same problem with 320 drivers, and fixed those BSODs by raising system RAM voltage +0.1v . So seems like this driver sets stressing systems more than previous drivers. For my system i was getting this BSOD always with 320 series ,
    0x00000109 = Not enough or too Much memory voltage
     

  11. Keesberenburg

    Keesberenburg Master Guru

    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 TI sc
    Wow, good sli scaling in metro last light.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. DiceAir

    DiceAir Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF
    anyone that can post some benchmarks. I'm currently at work so can't check.
     
  13. Ancymon

    Ancymon Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
  14. DiceAir

    DiceAir Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF
    I see in the detailed change log they fixed the 999MHz limit overclock on fermi cards. Good to hear cause I have a GTX 550ti that I want to overclock on a oldish system for my friends to play when they come over.
     
  15. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,062
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    well I see the the last windows update the updating drivers process now as shorter delays with the black screens in windows 8.


    edit: what the f**k is this sh*t. I hit clean install and let it install everything. I didnt know it would install the geforce experience app....bleh...

    no thankyou. rather use my experience.

    app go bye bye
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2013

  16. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    According to Microsoft, bug check 0x109 is CRITICAL_STRUCTURE_CORRUPTION

    Your solution sounds reasonable, cause number three states:

    "3. A hardware corruption occurred. For example, the kernel code or data could have been stored in memory that failed."

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff557228(v=vs.85).aspx
     
  17. BenchAndGames

    BenchAndGames Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 TUF OC
    Here is performance of SLI GTX 680 with the new 320.18 + PhysX 9.13.0325 !!

    Everything maxxed out !! ( 1080p + Tesselation Very High + SSAA ON + Physx ON )

    [​IMG]
     
  18. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,339
    Likes Received:
    3,442
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    Release notes are useless, they are for 320 series vs 314.22. Nvidia has a habit of repeating same release notes vs older series drivers. What are the differences vs 320.14?
     
  19. Xploder

    Xploder Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX1080 A8G
    Yeah... I surely won't overvoltage my otherwise stable RAM just because a new driver f*cks up.
    Besides - I don't think that's the true culprit here.
     
  20. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    I saw two new changes mentioned in the release notes. In reality there may be more than that, since NVIDIA doesn't typically list everything they do.

    [Fermi-class GPUs]: The maximum GPU clock is limited to 999MHz when
    overclocked. [1282233]

    [X-Plane 10]: The game hangs while loading. [1279387]

    It might be, if you got the same bug check code. Otherwise you're probably right.
     

Share This Page