1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nvidia GeForce 306.97 WHQL Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Seb1, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    I havent had any
     
  2. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,391
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Yes, these 306.97 are a bit washed out, forced AF looks better, i noticed this with SS3 ingame AF or other games with ingame AF. BF3 has kinda weak ingame AF by default, i force AF there since the day i bought it.


    And I agree with

    Hatters gonna hate xD

    +2

    :banana:


    Maybe with R310, when they finally ditch old crappy dx9 gpus? :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012
  3. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    We could never be that lucky. :nerd:
     
  4. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,949
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Fine: Don't expect ANYONE to believe or take anything you say seriously if you can't back up what you say. Your 10 years of experience means nothing. You have no proof. So you can't prove it. Why should anyone believe you?

    Is it so god damn hard to put your ego and pride aside? And just spend some time DOCUMENTING PROOF of your accusations? No? Why should you do that when you can just be a sarcastic bunhole and spout useless information that has absolutely NOTHING to do with figuring out OBJECTIVELY whether there is IN FACT an IQ Difference OR NOT.


    No, why do that? That's a totally dumb idea. Everyone should just take everything I say at face value when we are trying to document issues with a driver, which last time I checked, usually requires some pretty objective information. Who needs proof for that? I guess when Nvidia guys ask for specific information and things like log reports and steps to reproduce a problem. They are just grasping at thin air. Hm. Who knew.
    [​IMG]:nerd:

    It's as simple as taking a bunch of lossless screenshots(So there is no IQ loss from compression) in the same scenes in the same games that you say there is a difference in, on each respective driver version. And then post those same lossless shots, saying "X is driver Y and Z is Driver V from game A"
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012

  5. Danden

    Danden Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga gtx 680
    Everything you said is right, ive been following this forum for so long and ive noticed so many people talking nonsense about drivers that i wonder if these guys are just talking pure **** or i dont know, ive never had a problem with drivers in like 10 years, only performance gain or same as before. Unless the game itself is pretty messed up, overall i get a good experience. So the IQ changing without any proof is like mentioning God to an atheist without any proof or telling him that you need faith to believe, it will no make sense at all : O.
     
  6. lukas_1987_dion

    lukas_1987_dion Master Guru

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti AMP! OC
    You need proof to believe in God? What's the point of the faith then? :nerd:

    Seriously: For me this drivers have some problems with Aniso filtering (especially in older games) so this can be my IQ ''problem'' I think...

    Back to 306.23 and all is good again :3eyes:
     
  7. Iruwen

    Iruwen Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    DX11 manual LOD control will come sooner or later. They might improve downsampling capabilities.
     
  8. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Yes
    What do you mean. They claim such boost in almost every driver. Look at release highlights:

    Coincidence. The "seconds per frame" issue turned out to be caused by pre-render limit 1 in combination with D3DOverrider triple buffering (and only while vsync enabled).
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2012
  9. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    those performance increases are usually at super high resolutions where 18% actually equates to 2 or 3 frames.

    You could always switch to AMD if you dont like Nvidia. Good luck with that though, you'll be back.
     
  10. allup

    allup Master Guru

    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 X SLi Asus 7870 V2 ROG
    Well hell, l been messing with computers since the 80's I have always just trusted me EYE's to see a difference in Image Quality.. So far, from 80's DOS screens to DX11.1
    ME EYE'S have done a great job in letting me know if the Image Quality on a certain driver is good or not. Only the last "say" 8 drivers, that there has been little difference in IQ Telling you that: Until a time comes by either dropping off the bottom end cards DX 9 and below. Writing better software and windows coding. We will not see a big change either. Until current and later OS'S write code to bring up the visuals made the fly, for up to the minute tech. IE: Hardware... When you have been working on these things long as i have, you tend to get a bit philosophical. Guess i have reached that point. What i will say in short is. If you do not see difference in drivers after ten years??? Go see an EYE Doctor... U have vision Issues! :infinity:
     

  11. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Yes
    DX9 cards have now been moved to legacy support as of R310 drivers. Users of newer cards are still suffering performance loss in some games such as BF3.
     
  12. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Yes
    I just remembered "threaded optimization" can cause problems with vsync as well. Perhaps forcing it OFF will help.
     
  13. 43rd

    43rd New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX570
    For the first time in about a year I bothered to update the drivers for my GTX570's which had been running very well as they were; however mid way through the installation of 306.97 the process flashed to a black screen (normal i know) then died - after waiting twenty minutes i turned off my computer.

    All seemed fine; until the flickering began, an intermittent event it suddenly turned everything black and the signal itself would top according to my amp (which the HDMI is plugged into), these events would last anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two and would occur without a standard frequency and no warning (very stressful when it happens in the middle of a game).

    So i decided to reinstall the drivers, it didnt fix the problem. So I uninstalled them using the windows device manager as well as the add/remove program option and then reinstalled again (this time there was no failure to install) it didnt fix it the problem however. So I used driver fusion to wipe the darn drivers and install it again, this time after disabling my antivirus program Kaspersky... it still hasnt helped.

    Any suggestions?

    And no it wont allow me to roll back my drivers lol
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
  14. The Goose

    The Goose Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,254
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    Evga 1080FTW
    Hi guyz,ive just switched back to nvidia and im running 1 gtx295...anotherr to come next week,while the card performs well im now having a driver issue, my display just shutting off willy nilly...wether playing games or browsing the net,also i have to reboot to return to desktop...my windows power is set to balanced,is this a problem with all Nvidia driver versions or was i better off staying with amd

    Currently running drivers 306.97
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,391
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^
    Sounds like nvidia adaptive power plan issue or even TDR..

    From what driver did you upgrade?


    And maybe reinstall it again, but this time with DVI if possible.

    Also disable AV completely, Kaspersky is known to have some conflicts with its driver protecting feature,. and maybe extract the driver installer and try it like so instead of all in one installer.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2012

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,764
    Likes Received:
    324
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    To NVIDIA - Windows Experience Index reports my graphics scores as 6.7 under Windows 8. I've been told by other users on this forum that this is because the test only uses the primary graphics card and that it is a SLI related issue, similar presumably to how some games run poorer in SLI than on a single card if their isn't a profile for the game.

    I would assume, therefore, that WinSAT (or whatever the program that W.E.I. uses) needs a profile to force Single GPU mode so that it shows the correct score of 8.0+ under Windows 8?
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,391
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    hm my 570gtx scored 7.9 just like in win7
     
  18. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,764
    Likes Received:
    324
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I've just realised that the v306.97 drivers that were automatically installed with Windows 8 Pro on my system have also installed the PhysX 0904 driver and Trine, Metro 2033 and Unreal Tournament now load and play without issues, which they never did on Windows 7 Home Premium unless I used 0613 or earlier versions.
     
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,391
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Windows 8 has some issues with downsampling and alt+tab to desktop.

    For example L4d2 won't go to full screen anymore after i alt+tab to desktop, it just resized my desktop to downsampled resolution and then it stays there while the game continues to run in background, it loses focus but I can still move, etc.

    I tried Dota2 and it experienced the same but it got the focus (full screen) back after 5-7sec, idk should i have waited longer for L4d2? I was waiting for ~30-45sec and then manually quit the game.
     
  20. dark_surge

    dark_surge Master Guru

    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    29
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1080
    I was having the same problem with Sleeping Dogs Tj. Alt+Entering after Alt+Tabbing back to the game worked to bring it back to full screen if you haven't already tried that. I'm sure you already have but I just thought I'd bring it up. :)

    In Skyrim I get a black screen in a maximized window if I Alt+Tab from the desktop but if I hold Alt and Tab back and forth between the desktop and the game a second time without letting go of Alt until I've gotten back to the game's preview icon in the middle of the screen then it works again.

    Weird stuff. :)
     

Share This Page