Nvidia GeForce 306.97 WHQL Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Seb1, Oct 10, 2012.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,101
    Likes Received:
    1,899
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    You dont have to, it should be enabled by default for IvyBridge, that's if your mobo supports pcie3.0 in bios.
     
  2. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    i dont have ivi bridege mb
    nvidia cp says gen 2 and gpuz says gen 3:bang:
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,101
    Likes Received:
    1,899
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ... I said if you have a IvyBridge cpu it should work, that's if your mobo has a pcie3.0 option in bios.

    And if gpu-z shows it it must be working. Good luck :nerd:
     
  4. nizzen

    nizzen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    313
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060

  5. Rapyer

    Rapyer Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    1080ti
  6. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    pebkac, they all work fine for us...
     
  7. blackthesoul

    blackthesoul Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1080ti

    looking at his system [providing it is his current system], he is running a 200 series card... not a 600 series like yourself and many others in this thread.
    unless you have tested this driver set using a 200 series card, then your comment is a tad bit condescending and irrelevant my friend.
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2012
  8. dnottis

    dnottis Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA SSC 970 GTX 4GB
    Every time a new driver comes out you get the same few people that bitch about how they can't install it or how they always have the same problem.

    I've been using Nvidia drivers for years and there have only ever been a few issues that I can attribute to the drivers. I think 90% of driver issues is with the hardware setup / PC / or user.

    If he's had problem with every driver kit since 296.10, he's doing something wrong or it's time to wipe it and reformat the machine.
     
  9. scitek

    scitek Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    For some reason, with these and the last driver revision, I can't get triple buffering working with OpenGL games. Namely, the two I play are Doom 3 and Stranger's Wrath. Anyone else have a similar problem?
     
  10. AQUILES

    AQUILES Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Guys, I've noticed that these last WHQL have worse IQ than previous versions, someone else has noticed?
     

  11. aayman_farzand

    aayman_farzand Master Guru

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Screenshots would be nice. I haven't noticed anything, I do set Texture Filter Quality to High Quality everytime I install a driver.
     
  12. scitek

    scitek Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    To follow-up on the problem I was having with getting triple-buffering to work in OpenGL, forcing anti-aliasing fixes it. Either in-game or through drivers.
     
  13. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,063
    Likes Received:
    46
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    Not always true. Hardware configs can flat out deny driver installs for weird reasons. His system being aged could honestly have something to do with it.

    Everybody can format when a "problem" arises, but do people dare to use their heads first? Not very often.
     
  14. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Pics or it didn't happen.
     
  15. AQUILES

    AQUILES Master Guru

    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    Sorry folks, I already uninstalled the 306.97 and now I'm testing the 306.94.
    Regarding the graphic quality, it was an impression I had.
    I do not know, it seems that both games as the Windows desktop looked more opaque.
    But again, it was just a perception I had ... maybe I'm wrong :)
     

  16. PowerK

    PowerK Master Guru

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    Just had a BSOD while playing Borderlands 2. (Windows 7 x64)

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 1042

    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 1000007e
    BCP1: FFFFFFFFC0000005
    BCP2: FFFFF8800F4456CC
    BCP3: FFFFF8800209B4A8
    BCP4: FFFFF8800209AD00
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1

    Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\102112-6224-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Ethan\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-9172-0.sysdata.xml

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt
     
  17. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    The drivers have had a bug regarding triple buffering for some time. It seems related to corrupt or invalid settings within profiles. Resetting the profile to defaults and reapplying triple buffering using NVCP usually fixed it for me in the past.

    However, currently using 306.82 drivers, and having similar issues. Triple buffering combined with standard vsync in OpenGL acts like adaptive vsync. That is, when FPS is at 60, there is no tearing, but if FPS is lower than 60 then tearing occurs (confirmed in both Heaven and Rage). I double and triple checked that I actually applied standard vsync and not adaptive.

    Update - A clean reinstall of the drivers remedied it for the time being, but it also wiped out my custom resolutions and refresh rates (somehow it's probably all related).
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012
  18. lukas_1987_dion

    lukas_1987_dion Master Guru

    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti AMP! OC
    **** Just had a BSOD in Hitman Sniper Challenge on W7 x64 SP1, also IQ is not that good with these drivers especially in some games with AF enabled...
     
  19. MrBonk

    MrBonk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    165
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080
    Screenshot it.
     
  20. Cryio

    Cryio Member Guru

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    AMD R9 280X @1080/6800
    I report Assassin's Creed 1 is no longer working properly on Windows 8.
    For a certainty, this and the last WHQL driver aren't good for it.

    On DirectX9 it starts, but it has 3 seconds lock-ups everytime you kill someone.
    On DirectX10 it doesn't start at all.

    FXAA and any other kind of AA from the nVidia Control Panel don't work also. not even with nVidia Inspector.

    Also, I never understood why the game disables in-game AA if you run the game in 1080p and higher.
     

Share This Page