1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nvidia GeForce 301.42 WHQL Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by xavier2k5, May 22, 2012.

  1. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    46
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 TI
    I haven't had any issues with this set so far. Performance has been great, card clocks up and down lively without any stutter or hiccups.
    It always uses the lowest performance profile while I'm idle (even with a 120Hz monitor) so I have no reason to complain.
    Can't comment on stuter/microstutter with vsync as I typically use the framerate limiter (which has been fine for me and never gave me any trouble).
     
  2. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,266
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti+KS800 TV
    framerate limiter? I have asked this question about. Do you mean in the driver or an external program?
     
  3. kilyan

    kilyan Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    evga 1080 sc gaming
    EDIT:my brother reported freeze in bf3,never happened before, most likely a downclock issue back to 301.40
     
  4. Blaire

    Blaire Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Geforce TITAN 4-Way...
    Slower? Only in the SLI or even Single-GPU?
     

  5. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,380
    Likes Received:
    1,475
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Well nvidia stated frame limiter will be available by 3rd-party tools.

    In this case nvinspector
    [​IMG]
     
  6. kcuestag

    kcuestag Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX980Ti G1
    I had to roll back to 301.24 BETA drivers due to 301.42 WHQL giving me Red Screen of Death on my GTX680 SLI every time I played a game (Battlefield 3) and exited Red Orchestra 2.

    Went back to 301.24 BETA all is good now.
     
  7. DeusEXMachina

    DeusEXMachina Active Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 480 OC 8G
    Nice performance....:):):)
     
  8. flamey

    flamey New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Msi GTX570
    Same issue, was wondering why it never clocked down anymore...

    120hz TFT as well
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2012
  9. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 XC
    I've installed these twice, and I have the same issue in Risen 2. The fps goes down to literally 1-2. I install the previous version, and everything is fine. What the hell?
     
  10. Solid004

    Solid004 Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7970 Windforce
    These drivers are working properly with my 560 Ti Twin Frozr II (which is OCed by default).
     

  11. TitusTroy

    TitusTroy Member Guru

    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070
    1) so now that FXAA is included in the Nvidia Control Panel does anyone know what level of FXAA it uses- Low, Medium or High?...it most games that have FXAA in the game settings it lets you set the degree of FXAA but in the Nvidia Control Panel there is only the option to turn it On or Off

    I heard that FXAA High was the equivalent of 8X MSAA so that is why I was wondering what level it uses in the Control Panel...anyone know?

    2) also when enabling FXAA in the Nvidia Control Panel do I need to disable AA in the individual game's graphics settings?
     
  12. p3ps1c0la

    p3ps1c0la Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 480 8gb
    BSOD twice with these in the last 2 days. Zero before these since forever.
     
  13. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    @TitusTroy
    Well, I've seen the excuse used that the driver implementation of FXAA is different from the injectors and ingame options.
    BUT
    All taken from www.Geforce.com. NVidia seems to like comparing and referring to 4xAA all the time, so I would think it's on par to that.

    And you should probably disable other forms of AA, you are supposed to use it that way. But I have seen other people combine it and not have problems.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  14. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Yes
    The help description for FXAA states that it can be used in conjunction with other antialiasing settings. It's just a matter of personal preference.
     
  15. ToyTen

    ToyTen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Guys i don't know why but i cant install these, i asked it on the previous page but no one answered to me.

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4326453&postcount=179

    i tried on a friend's computer and it doesn't work neither.

    I also DL the quadro/tesla set and same thing..

    i downloaded again from here then from nvidia dl page in case of file corruption and it still wont unzip, neither does it install...
     

  16. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,141
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    It comes as an auto-extracting archive. You don't need to unzip it yourself.
     
  17. Ljle

    Ljle New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570 1.2 GB
    Just tried this ones and all was good, watched some movies, played some Sniper Elite V2, all fine. Till I got this weird GPU behavior and I was doing nothing but chatting. Aero went off by the way. Think I'll stick with the 301.40.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. ToyTen

    ToyTen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    yes, but when i install it with unzipping it, it says 7Zip data error then, that's why im stuck
     
  19. aayman_farzand

    aayman_farzand Master Guru

    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Try using a different archiver. If that still doesn't work, try redownloading.
     
  20. ToyTen

    ToyTen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I will redownload it again, it will be the 5th time.

    it will work hopefully :infinity:

    thx
     

Share This Page